We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheery, original and hospitable environment plus a great breakfast.”
Review of Woodstocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstocker Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We loved staying with British innkeepers Dora and David, who've made their inn one-of-a-kind with exuberant decor and many other special touches, including a well stocked library and guest kitchen replete with tea and coffee makings (fresh milk included) and spot-on fruitcake. The breakfast menu appears to vary daily but always includes homemade granola, compote and marmalade. Our eggs were always nicely cooked, and that's saying a lot, given our very high standards in that department. Convenient location, too. We'd be delighted to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aestheticangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Imagine our delight at finding a B&B with no chintz, no ruffles, no teddy bears, no frou-frou -- just lovely rooms, quiet ambiance, delightful hosts, and all within easy walking distance to town! We will stay here again on our next Vermont trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Such an incredibly charming place. So genuine, eclectic, sophisticated, comfortable and fun. We loved how every room was uniquely decorated with colorful, top-of-the-line and playful details. David and Dora are so cool in their down to earth cheeky Anglican way. The library was also wonderful in its depth, scope and warmth. But most outstanding was the food. I don't usually eat much, if anything, for breakfast, but their fresh, locally grown and ethically raised food English fare was beyond incredible. Melt in your mouth flavorful sausage and the creamy delicious yogurt and granola were particular standouts, but everything was amazing, fresh, and flavorful without being at all heavy. Cant recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidbignose!, D3 - Co-owners at Woodstocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

What can we say.....simply this particular client gets what our brand of hospitality is about.!

Diverse food options to choose for your freshly cooked to order breakfast, should be the standard but often it is not. The breakfast should be served at a flexible time to suit a client and made with many organic or local ingredients, which have been supplied to us from vendors we personally know.....This effort should produce great food that leaves clients satisfied.

In addition the inn now has state of the art air conditioning in all but one bedroom, which means that all clients should also be 'bloody cool' or in winter warm when they sleep! Given the recent humid spell we feel this was a timely investment, as window air conditioning units are just so last century.

We enjoy what we do and continue to put thought into our clients lodging environment, creating in the process we hope less impact on the world. However we know it takes a socially informed client to notice these things......and then to bother to post a review...so thank you Beth K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a fantastic visit. Loved the place, will go back at some point. Basically the only place to stay in Woodstock. Rooms are cool, the place is clean. The food was great and organic. . Eco friendly which was huge for us. D2 were great hosts. This is a progressive B&B and worth visiting!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngreene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Woodstocker Inn on our recent first trip to Vermont. We did not have reservations, but the Inn caught our eye as we drove past. The Woodstocker Inn was such a pleasant surprise and departure from the typical B&B experience. Each room was very colorful and eclectic, yet still still with the feel of a country inn. There is an incredible library filled with books and current periodicals from here and abroad. The breakfast was fantastic with a full English breakfast available as well as home made breads and pastries. Organic coffee made all in french presses tops it off. But, the best part of our stay was the welcome and attention given to us by David, Dora, and Daisy Doo. If taken to Vermont again, we would certainly drop in again to the Woodstocker Inn.

Room Tip: Ask about the room with the red soaking tub....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Woodstocker for a much needed night away. We thoroughly enjoyed the stylish rooms and delicious full English breakfast. Very convenient to walk to town, and the innkeepers David and Dora (and Daisy Doo) were kind, but unobtrusive. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Woodstock.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattw404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Woodstocker is a cosmopolitan experience not only because of the decor without the "country do-dads," but because the innkeepers are intelligent, great conversationalists, and excellent cooks. Dora and David are intuitively hospitable. They've created several welcoming spaces from the library to the sitting area with wood stove and exterior view, to the breakfast area with its wood tables and comfortable seating. We rode our motorcycles up from Boston last weekend (April 20) and truly forgot all of our cares as we entered a quieter, gentler place. David and Dora make it appear quite effortless--but we know significant work is involved to welcome and refresh the weary.

Room Tip: We love the red tub room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilatocci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidbignose!, D3 - Co-owners at Woodstocker Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Our aim at the Woodstocker Inn is to deliver consistent hospitality with attitude and personality.

We also really appreciate all feedback, both critical and complimentary. When it is the latter, and folks get what our contemporary style of hospitality is about, the mutual results are satisfying.

Our 'effortless style' comes from having passion and belief in what we do, and genuinely liking most people! However by the end of October and the Fall we need a welcome break from clients, cleaning and cooking...which is why we then seek out other hospitality options that we can enjoy.

Rest assured we do put our money where our mouths are and post on TA when we travel....and often we are also rewarded by others sharing their experiences through TripAdvisor.

Thank you Lilatocci for taking the time to express your opinion here. We encourage more folks to do so....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
1.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.4 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
480 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lincoln Inn & Restaurant at the Covered Bridge
4.1 mi away
Deer Brook Inn
Deer Brook Inn
#2 of 15 in Woodstock
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstocker Inn

Address: 61 River St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1227
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £131 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original village 'green eco' Inn - 15 AWARDS more than all the other Woodstock B & B/inns combined! Including - Telegraph UK - Worlds Best British owned inn. Innkeepers of the Year, Top 12 in World, Top 10 in USA all on Bed & Breakfast com, D3 - European owners provide adult indulgence, eclectic mix of relaxation, cakes & chocolate using organic sources. We operate a 'warts & all' policy. Motto 'only as good as our guests say we are!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodstocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstocker Hotel Woodstock
Woodstocker Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing