We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The wonder that is The Woodstocker”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodstocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodstocker Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“The wonder that is The Woodstocker”
Reviewed 30 April 2006

I visited The Woodstocker just before Thanksgiving last year roughly two months after Dora Foschi and David Livesley had taken over ownership. On arrival, and after a warm welcome, guests are invited to choose a pair of slippers from a large wooden box to use during their stay. A very homely, and rather sensible, amenity especially as access to all bedrooms (bar the first three on the ground floor) require guests to walk over carpet - and Vermont winter mud and snow spread across the carpets is less homely.

All the rooms are decorated in different shades and styles, some have wooden beds others have brass beds but whichever you choose, they are all comfortable. All rooms have flat-screen TVs and there is WiFi access throughout. The bathrooms (scrupulously clean - you should see Dora in action cleaning them!) have a range of organic toiletries, shower gel included. Bathroom amenity upgrades include new guest towels and, for the first time at The Woodstocker, guest bathrobes. I can report that there was a great deal of debate over the type of bathrobe to be employed and this reviewer advised on which were the best - based on years of travel and experience of a variety of such garments! The bed-linen was in the throes of a revamp in the shape of fluffy European feather duvets. If you haven't yet snuggled under a duvet on a cold winter's eve then you'll be in for a treat. You may not even want to get out for breakfast - but you should as there are treats in store in the dining room.

Unlike other B&B's breakfast at The Woodstocker is served between 08.30 and 10am allowing guests to choose how long they wish to stay snuggled under the duvet. All the food at the inn is carefully sourced and local produce used wherever possible. Emphasis in the kitchen, as in the bathrooms, is on organic produce. There is a range of cereals (the granola is home made) and breads which are fantastic - and I'm not a fan of bread! In addition to the breakfast breads, cereals and fruit there is always one hot dish of the morning. This is cooked to order by David - so there is nothing left congealing on the sideboard! Each day sees a different hot dish so breakfast boredom does not exist at The Woodstocker. If you are a fan of British sausages then David is you man - he's so keen on them he's a member of the Sausage Appreciation Society.

One thing in the planning during my visit and now in operation is the guests' library on the ground floor. Exactly that, a nice hideaway where you can catch up on your reading or browse the collection of illustrated books. Just off the library is a small kitchen where guests can help themselves to coffee - a treat for those who like an early morning cup - or for that matter, a midnight cup..

And on top of all this you will receive a very warm welcome from Dora and David, a great deal of fun, and the feeling that you are 'at home' in a lovely house in Woodstock. Go on, check it out for yourselves.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    67
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
399
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 April 2006

The Woodstocker Bed and Breakfast is a home away from home. David and Dora are a charming young couple who have created an environment not to be missed. Whether you are staying for a night, or a week, these two will keep you entertained with their humor and wit. Each room has a character of its own, and all are warm, inviting, and quite comfortable. Dave and Dora’s excellent taste in music and décor create an ambiance of leisure and relaxation.
I awakened each morning to a selection of beverages including fresh orange and other juices, teas, and coffee. Next on the menu is their homemade fruit compote that is to “die for,” accompanied by homemade granola, a basket of fresh breads and a variety of spreads. Just around 8:30, after I’ve have had my “appetizer,” David and Dora pop their heads in offering a hot, delicious breakfast. Their options were constantly changing, ranging from baked cheesy eggs (my favorite), eggs any style, to the traditional English breakfast of bangers and beans. Eggs were often served with perfectly sautéed tomatoes or mushrooms. I was in heaven.
An overall perfect stay in a comfortable home, with outstanding food, and great company. Props to David and Dora!! If staying in Woodstock, the Woodstocker Bed and Breakfast is the place to be!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 February 2006

A real home from home. The moment you arrive, you're forced into slippers (well, it was snowing & wet outside)and made to feel like guests in a friend's home rather than paying guests.
We took two nearly adult kids along and, like us, they loved the atmosphere, scoffed all the free chocolate bars lying around and, after hitting the ski-slopes each day, vegged out in front of the cool flat-screen TV in their room.
The breakfasts were a big hit with, the interesting company, the home-made granola and the obsession with gourmet sausages (local or european - the hosts are from London). My favourite room though, was their newly completed guest library, where I chilled out with beer from the fridge and books from the shelves. The hosts have spent a lifetime in UK Book Publishing so, know a thing or two about literature. That's especially true of children's books and original cover artwork has been framed and adorns every room.

To sum this place up, we spent a couple of days in Boston straight after and booked a very plush, very fancy hotel called nine zero. It was twice as expensive, but, the experience was flat, impersonal and dull after the informality and fun of the Woodstocker.

Something tells me, that, Boutique B&B's have now arrived and I can't see me booking anything else from now on that doesn't offer this type of friendly individualistic approach.

congratulations to David & Dora, after only 6 months in Vermont, they have created a winner.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2006

Stayed for 4 nights over half-term. David and Dora (ex Londoners)are very welcoming inn-keepers. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are a speciality - I can recommend the porridge!! D & D have plans to renovate some of the rooms over the next couple of years. Woodstock very handy for Killington ski resort (25 mins). Well-stocked library and some nice touches throughout. I won't spoil the surprises! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruntfuttock99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 February 2006

David and Dora make the perfect hosts with every attention to detail taken care of .
The ideal place to stay and explore the surrounding areas or stroll into the village for a coffee.
Great breakfastes, comfortable rooms and a very warm welcome too !!
We urge you to stay there !

Carolyn & Doug ( London, UK )

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2006

And that is what D&D offer....a very warm welcome to stay in their home! David and Dora have travelled the world and have brought together elements of what they experienced and added their own quite unique style. When we visited over Christmas, Woodstock village was looking it's very best and Woodstocker Inn was perfectly sited just off the village green. With a cup of tea in hand we were shown to our room, warm, spacious and comfortably laid out. (We were given a tour later during our stay and David indicated the changes that are currently taking place with no inconvenience to their guests, a library where you can relax with a book or a game to while away those late evenings. Some rooms offer/will offer a luxurious bath (aka a tub) to ease your bones after a day on the slopes and afterwards wrap yourself in the bathrobe provided. Sleep the sleep of the innocent and wake up and look forward to breakfast! Dora and David delight in offering their guests a breakfast which will tickle the tastebuds of even the fussiest diner! Incidently, I don't know how they manage to have the most perfect background music for each morning. Most importantly, stay with them for more than one day, you will not regret it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Weefatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 January 2006

We just returned from a weekend at the Woodstocker and had a great stay. David and Dora were fantastic hosts at this very casual B&B. The room was very comfortable with a king size bed and new flat screen TV. Breakfast was great, very British as the owners recently moved from London. Overall experience was terrific and very relaxing. I would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
1.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
391 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
278 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.4 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.7 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstocker Inn

Property: Woodstocker Inn
Address: 61 River Street, Woodstock, VT 05091
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original village 'green eco' Inn - 15 AWARDS more than all the other Woodstock B & B/inns combined! Including - Telegraph UK - Worlds Best British owned inn. Innkeepers of the Year, Top 12 in World, Top 10 in USA all on Bed & Breakfast com, D3 - European owners provide adult indulgence, eclectic mix of relaxation, cakes & chocolate using organic sources. We operate a 'warts & all' policy. Motto 'only as good as our guests say we are!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Woodstocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstocker Hotel Woodstock
Woodstocker Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing