We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make Yourselves at Home”
Review of Woodstocker Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodstocker Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make Yourselves at Home”
Reviewed 22 September 2006

We had a couple of lovely nights here in early Sept. David and Dora were the perfect hosts. Very nice and comfortable room (once they have finished redecorating all of the rooms in their style, it will be stunning). The nicest thing about it was feeling so at home, taking advantage of their library of books, board games and free drinks/chocolates. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank apassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    67
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
52
399
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We spent a week roaming around in New England Sep 9-16, 06, and booked a night in Woodstock, Vermont, in the Woodstocker Inn, a B&B. David and Dora, the hosts were magnificent. David was very much just himself, a most interesting Brit having escaped the corporate world, painting and fixing up additional rooms as we arrived and even as we left. And, Dora was most gracious and skilled at preparing a magnificent breakfast, most unique with all the homemade extras. The old house in which the B&B operates is warm and relaxing. Plenty of parking. A well-stocked library, snacks and chocolates every where you turn, and a very comfortable dining area. We stayed in the Lincoln room. It was most inviting and the king size bed and pillows were the most captivating we recall experiencing. The room was super clean. Hardwood floor. Plenty of room, with a love seat, for two to not feel on top of one another. Only drawback is the traffic noise. The property is located on Route 4, the main drag through town and one of the main highways across Vermont. Best to try to stay toward the back of the house vs. front to minimize it. Location is convenient to lots of points of interest in Vermont as well as New Hampshire. For instance, we drove a few minutes to Dartmouth, in Hanover, NH for dinner. Thanks David and Dora for resting us up for the continuation of our wonderful week in NE, G&S in Tennessee

  • Liked — Room comfort, location
  • Disliked — Traffic noice
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay toward back of house to minimize traffic noise
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gpcIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

We stayed at the Woodstocker Inn and we were very happy with everything. The location is perfect with a short, beautiful walk to the center of town. The room was large and spacious and the the king bed was very comfortable. The attention to detail was terrific from large private bathrooms to flat screen TV and bedside reading lights.

If you happen to be up late, you can go to the kitchen where you sill find fresh cakes, cookies, candies, cold beverages, and some fine English tea. Next to the kitchen is the library where we enjoyed our tea and lemon drizzle cake while talking well into the night.

The breakfasts are great with organic coffee, yogurt, homemade compote, and cereals. David and Dora also offer a full complement of hot breakfasts with eggs, omelets, sausages, bacon and fried tomatoes.

David and Dora are wonderful hosts. Their warmth and sense of humor are key ingredients to the warmth and friendliness of their home.

  • Liked — Warmth of the home and owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Come hungry
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mccormid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2006

I stayed at the Woodstocker Inn for four nights while in Vermont preparing for the legendary Vermont 100 foot race. Traveling for such events can be stressful at times however Dora and David went above and beyond to make me feel right at home.

As new owners of the Woodstocker it is very apparent that David and Dora are putting major efforts into improving, updating and making the Woodstocker Inn "theirs". Although a "work in progress", the common areas and guest rooms are very clean, comfortable and unique.

The breakfast was made to order and was fabulous!

As I mentioned before their hospitality is amazing and, most importantly, genuine. After finishing the race and returning to the Inn at 11pm totally exhausted I found a congratulations banner over my bed, fresh cut flowers and a bottle of champagne on the end table with a handwritten card. Priceless!

Enjoy!
-Darcy Africa

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2006

If B&B's are your preferred accomodations when traveling The Woodstocker is an excellent choice. The location is in walking distance to local restaurants, a charming and eclectic business district or a stroll around town.
Your host and hostess aim to please and their efforts are apparent in the many small amenities they provide for the comfort or amusement of their guests. You can feel right at home getting a snack or soda in the little kitchen, browsing through their wide variety of books or playing a game of cards or Scrabble.
The innkeepers, David and Dora, offer just the right amount of home away from home and you are sure to enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room decor
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 8thof11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

There we were, two dutch guys heading for the wrong Woodstock. We ended up at Woodstock Vermont.

We've found the Woodstocker Inn by some site i don't remember. Some how -and i'm very picky- the photos on their site showed a lot of love and care. So I called and talked to Dora - she's got a lovely English voice - they had only room for one night. But as soon as we arrived they said it would be a pity for us if we couldn't stay longer - so they re-arranged and swapped some rooms. We could stay two nights after all.

We've one feeling that's staying with us - In all our travels around the world we've never had a warmer welcome than at this place ever!

Ofcourse i could go on about the gorgious room, the organic butter, marmelade, bread and home made serial but that's to find out yourself. Life should surprise some times. I just want to thank Dora and David for this special feeling :-)

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — in woodstock vt is not much to do
  • Tips/Secrets — eat at bentley and pane - trust the hostess for her advise
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Artmiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We found the Hotel in a directory of accomodations for Woodstock.
We received a very warm welcome from the owners, which made us decide to choose this place instead of others we had already visited.
The room was lovely and nicely decorated although a bit noisy at night (we had choosen the room facing the main road)
The best experience was the wonderful breakfast with all we could dream of, from fresh juice up to organic coffee and teas and plenty of other home made or organic food.
A enjoyable experience that we highly recommend to everybody.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Djoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
1.4 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.4 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.7 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstocker Inn

Property: Woodstocker Inn
Address: 61 River St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1227
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original village 'green eco' Inn - 15 AWARDS more than all the other Woodstock B & B/inns combined! Including - Telegraph UK - Worlds Best British owned inn. Innkeepers of the Year, Top 12 in World, Top 10 in USA all on Bed & Breakfast com, D3 - European owners provide adult indulgence, eclectic mix of relaxation, cakes & chocolate using organic sources. We operate a 'warts & all' policy. Motto 'only as good as our guests say we are!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woodstocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstocker Hotel Woodstock
Woodstocker Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing