We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A traditional hotel with a marvellous restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Las Piedras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Las Piedras
Ranked #2 of 2 Grazalema B&B and Inns
Varberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A traditional hotel with a marvellous restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

February. The rooms were freezing cold. A popping element could not really provide warmth. Only one electrical outlet in the room. But the warmth of the staff and by the fire in the common areas on the ground floor compensated for it. It is a genuine old house with a lovely atmosphere and fine details like colorful old tile floors. In summer it must be wonderful to sit outside on the cosy patio.
Best of all is the restaurant. They serve amazingly good food. Actually, the best we had in our two weeks in Spain. The whole party of seven people really liked it.
The picturesque village itself is very beautifully situated. It seems to be visited by very few foreign tourists which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    36
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Casa de las piedras is perfectly located for walks or climbing and is right in the middle of Grazalema. Rooms are neat, comfortable and warm with great hot showers. Lovely room with wood fire downstairs and loads of local info on walking routes. Excellent friendly staff.

The restaurant cannot be missed. Service was absolutely superb and the food was excellent value, such as you might pay three times as much in the UK. Recommend the rabbit (conejo) and the trout, the soap de Grazalema and the ensalada de naranja con queso de cabra- orange and goats cheese salad. For example- I'm sure the rest of the menu is excellent too. The waiter will recommend other things they have, all very locally sourced.

All in all excellent value (and I'm
a Yorkshireman!)- €46 a night without breakfast for a double, €37 for a superb 2 course meal with wine and beer.

One extra tip: if you want to walk in the reserve area arrange your permit at least 2 days in advance.

And don't forget to have a nice glass of Pedro Ximenez to ward off the cold evenings!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeSanglierCruzVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The best thing is the location, right in the centre of the town. Rooms are basic but serviceable and the staff very friendly. Oh yes, and the price. At less that 50 euros it is exceptional value. My only negative is the restaurant where we had a very bad meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny_jay_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Wonderful staff - everyone was incredibly friendly, efficient, and competent - from the staffer who let us keep our bike on the patio to the receptionist who helped with directions and change.

The room was spare but very tidy with a nice view. The shower could have been slightly cleaner (some soap scum) but only slightly (I'm really picky).

The restaurant was fantastic. Friendly, competent service - food was fantastic and - with 12 euro menu - an incredible deal

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeandChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

My room was very spacious with full bathroom facing onto a central sunny courtyard. Basic, but very pleasant hotel right in the centre of Grazalema, which is a very small town anyway. Everything a short walk away. Not luxury, but good value with a comfortable lounge area downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

My husband and I stayed in this lovely B&B after reading the suggestion in Rick Steves book. What a find! It is centrally located in the village once you park your car in the car park there is no need for it again until you leave. The village is easy to walk and see how Spainards live in these small villages. It really is well worth the detour to see these small White Hill Towns. It wound up being a highlight of our trip to Spain. The homes are all white washed and beautiful with flowers in pots, window boxes and hanging plants. The views from the town of the Mountain range are spectacular. There are many small resturants/cafes in the village we did have breakfast at the hotel before we left and it was good and service was excellent. The hotel is family owned and operated and is clean and a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMIDMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. gallen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed one night in this hostal. the place was simple but clean. we had a heater in our room. it was good for the price. i really liked grazalema and the great walking trails. if you are on a hiking holiday and small budget this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazalema
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#1 of 1 in Villaluenga del Rosario
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#34 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Las Piedras

Property: Casa de Las Piedras
Address: Calle Piedras 32, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grazalema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa de Las Piedras 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RURAL HOUSE - fully renovated traditional house from the 'age of splendour' of the textile industry in Grazalema (18th Century), situated in the centre of Grazalema. • ROOMS with private bathroom, heating and air conditioning • ROOMS with shared bathroom, and access to a kitchen and washing machine • Traditional Spanish patios; lounge with fireplace, tv, boardgames, and small library, internet access and WIFI open to the public • * Restaurant with a tipycal patio • Painting exhibitions, open to the public APARTMENTS - 1-2 bedrooms, kitchen-living area with fireplace, central heating, washing machine and microwave. SERVICES - cot, baby bath, rucksack suitable for carrying children, iron, dryer and TV for use in rooms available from reception • We organise: Tours sharing a car to the best walking routes, white villages, views of caves, archaeological sites, museums and more • Place to live your bikes or horses. Let us know in advance. • Transfer for you luggage or bikes if you prefer to hike to the next Hotel. • Up-to-date and informative website: accessing our website will keep you up-to-date with the latest news, offers, events and more that take place in our establishment as well as in the village and the area. You can also find information on activity-based visits and the companies that can provide this. The Area: The village of Grazalema is the best preserved village and the most central in 'Sierra de Cadiz' and the National Park of 'Sierra de Grazalema'. It is perfectly positioned for you to visit the other villages in the area and larger towns such as Ronda and Arcos. It is also a great place to stay to go hiking and take part in all sorts of other outdoor activities and there is an archaeological route that passes through the majority of the villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Las Piedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing