We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil but uncared for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grazalema
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel and to be honest in the past 4 years it has not improved. Our first visit was back in 2009 and the hotel was fabulous but sadly the hotel now seems to be in need of some TLC, whilst the staff and service are efficient and helpful the grounds need some maintenance and the animals on site look dirty and in poor health. WiFi was not working the night we stayed which was unfortunate and breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular. There is a little bar up the road which is great and serves excellent meals at reasonable prices. Hotel bar very expensive and no atmosphere. Ok for a 1 night stop bit annoyed as hotel took payment prior to arrival when confirmation said pay on depature and when I queried they would not refund my card so I could pay in cash. Annoyign but not the end of the world.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INMACULADAMEDINILLA, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude by selecting us again as your holiday destination, as well as sharing with us your impressions in reference with your recent visit.

We are very sorry that there were some services that did not meet your expectations. I would like to assure you that all your observations have been forwarded to related departments.

Please accept our appologizes for the inconveniences that you have experienced in our hotel

For any other information please do not hesitate to contact me.
Best regards,
Inmaculada Medinilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is located near the beautiful quaint town of Grazalema. Although the rooms and the hotel itself are quite basic, it is the views and the natural scenery that make the experience outstanding.

- Rooms are basic, but very clean.

- Make sure you get the breakfast buffet. It is worth it. However, try having dinner at the many different restaurants in Grazalema. They are inexpensive and the food is very good.

- Do not rely on their wifi. It is very weak.

- Make sure you hike the trails that depart from the hotel. They are beautiful.

- Strongly recommend having your own vehicle to visit Grazalema and other "pueblos blancos" nearby like Zahara de la Sierra (amazing), Ronda, Arcos de la Frontera, etc.

- All staff were very attentive and professional.

Overall a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have better views of the sierras
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoSonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INMACULADAMEDINILLA, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for selecting Fuerte Grazalema as your holiday destination. Many thanks to you for taking your time to give as a feedback of your impressions.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your breakfast in our restaurant, and the view from your room.

We hope to welcome you as guest in our hotel again. If you need any other further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Inmaculada Medinilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Positive: Room was clean and well decorated with a good-sized balcony with a fabulous view. Breakfast was faultless with a wide choice from fruit, cereal, breads to cooked meal, and friendly helpful staff.
Negative: Have to eat bar food in your room - if single means you are isolated, if in a group means a squash to get everyone in one room! Why, never ever come across this ruling before in any hotel or hostal? Reception was lacking. I came away from the unhappy farm animals quite distressed at their meagre conditions.
Overall: Loved the stay and look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: If you are not very mobile you need to be on the 3rd floor (this is ground level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandiHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INMACULADAMEDINILLA, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with other tripadvisor viewers.

Your opinion is very important for the hotel management, this is because your comments will be reported to the departments involved.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your breakfast in our restaurant, and the view from your room.

About the service, I am very sorry to hear that your expectations were not exceeded.
With reference to eat in the room, we commented that until now was not possible to eat at the bar being open buffet, but after this incident we will study how to reconcile both services on request of our clients


Once more, thanks again for your comments, and for any further information you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us.

best regards
Inmaculada Medinilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We loved the Grazalema area of Spain most of all on our motorcycle tour of Andalucia. This hotel has the most magnificent pool and view of the valley- top few that we´ve stayed at in the world. The rooms themselves were fine. The front desk service was excellent and helpful. We walked by path into town and the front desk arranged for a cab to bring us back after dinner. We stayed here only one night (another place 2 nights- which we regret) only wished we could have stayed here longer. It is set up for large groups and possibly bus tours. I´m not sure I´d like it as much in the busy season, but for us it was magnificent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INMACULADAMEDINILLA, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion about your recent stay at the Hotel Fuerte Grazalema with tripadvisor reader´s.
It is glad to know that you have enjoyed in the view and the pool our hotel and also is good to know that our staff service was successful.
Thank you very much for your time and your opinion, and do not hesitate to contac us for any further information you may need.

Your sincersly,
Inmaculada Medinilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here in July for two nights, it is in rural location, with spectacular views of the mountain region and the beautiful village of Grazalema, the rooms were comfortable. We found a lovely bar, restaurant at the top of the lane to the left with very reasonable prices

The bad points..... The main bar was not staffed and had to wait more than 30 mins twice to get served, 2 Gin and Tonics €19.00
The pool, restaurant, and terrace area are overrun with noisy children

It would have been nice to be able to relax in an adult only area in the evening

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigsyswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INMACULADAMEDINILLA, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Family Swann

Thanks a lot for your comments. We are very pleasure, that you like the view and surrounding of Grazalema.
Sorry so much for the inconvenience caused by the services of the pool bar. We haved take notes to improve in the future.
We recommend the best time to visit us, if they not coincide with the school holidays. We hope to see you again, best regards

Inmaculada Medinilla
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Overall, a great time.

As a family of five, we had asked for two adjoining rooms. This was tricky since the hotel apparently has only two pairs of rooms that adjoin (doorway between adjacent rooms) and neither was available for our stay. At the time of check-in, they'd separated us on entirely different floors! Disappointed by this inconvenience, we approached the front desk and, having explained our situation, they immediately accommodated us with adjacent, second-floor, end rooms that opened to a small patio and blended beautifully into the garden, trails, and a wonderful view of Grazalema. Perfect!

The rooms are a bit small, but comfortable and very clean. There is an emphasis on reduced waste (ecological reminders can be found throughout the hotel), so one should remember soap and shampoo since these are provided only as a combined foam that dispenses from outside the shower. The result is a small pool of water on the bathroom floor and, in our case, an insufficient amount of shampoo/soap. That said, I do recall two small, unwrapped, bars of soap next to the sink, which should be sufficient for a short stay.

One more small detail: On one exhausted afternoon, I noticed that their television offers channels in at least four different languages (German, French, Spanish, and English...and perhaps a fifth). Convenient for small ones or killing time in something familiar to the variety of guests you'll certainly bump into.

Accommodations can be made with breakfast only or full board. I would recommend breakfast only, unless you plan to spend the majority of your time at the hotel. And what a breakfast! Eggs or crepes to order and a buffet that absolutely covers just about every taste. With more than a dozen fruits, cold cuts (embutidos), breads, juices, yogurt, and more than I can remember, I absolutely loved breakfast. But if you want a great seat (with a wonderful view) on the patio, I recommend getting their early...and figuring out how to shoot that panoramic shot from your iPhone!

Every other review raves about the pool, and I could not agree more. I have smaller children who loved spending the hottest hours of the day in the large pool. With covered seating and a small bar, it was comfortable for the whole family. Keep in mind though, the prices are a bit steep (e.g., single can of Aquarius for 2.50 euros), so you may prefer to head into town and pick up some basic supplies to keep costs under control. In fact, Grazalema also has a public water fountain. So bring along extra water bottles and you can fill up in town to reduce waste and save money!

Lastly, they do have about a half dozen mountain bikes for rental, which are very reasonably priced (6.50 for half-day and 12 euros for whole day rental). I HIGHLY recommend that one bike trail that departs from just before the entrance to the hotel. Not terribly strenuous, it takes you into the countryside and exposes you to some of the best scenery this area has to offer. I began riding early one morning, around 6:45 am, and shared nearly my entire ride with only the cows, goats, and sheep that graze throughout the countryside. At one point, my ride was briefly interrupted by a small herd of goats crossing the dirt road in front of me, right around the "Casa de Patelagana." So wonderful a scene, I shot a short video that my children still love to watch. Which reminds me, if you're going to hike or do any exploring, I recommend the 12-euro map sold in the tourist office within Grazalema...just so you don't get lost.

In all, a vacation we will definitely repeat and a great hotel from which to launch our next adventures!

Room Tip: If you can, grab ground floor so that you can enjoy the patio and gardens below. It extends your liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dormilon_CMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INMACULADAMEDINILLA, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear customer.

first of all, thank you for your time in let us know yours positive opinion about our hotel. We are very sastiface, that your stay in our hotel have been confortable for you and for your familiy.
We are very grateful,that you told us about your particular story lived in Grazalema. As you and your family have enjoyed all the nature that surrounds us and have been able to live your little adventure.
Customer liked you motivates us to give the best of us and thanks for your recommendations, this a very important to can improve every day for satisfy our customers. Thank again and we hope forward to see you again,
best regards

Inmaculada Medinilla
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Greater than expected facility that had pretty much everything one could ask for. Good room, excellent breakfast, lovely pool area and beautiful surroundings! Only slight issue was perhaps poor indications on how to get there (few road signs pointing to the hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeBen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INMACULADAMEDINILLA, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Grazalema, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you very much for your stay and your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities and service, specially our swimming pool and the beautiful landscapes we have
We take good note of your comments about the poor indications on how to get here. we are waiting to get authorization to improve signage,

The team and I look forward to welcoming you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazalema
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#33 of 40 in Ronda
103 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel del Carmen
Hotel del Carmen
#1 of 1 in Prado del Rey
87 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Grazalema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Grazalema

Address: Baldio de los Alamillos Ctra. A-372, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grazalema
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Grazalema 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
cological 4 star hotel situated in a cork tree forest in the heart of the Natural Park of Grazalema and only 20 Km from Ronda.77 rooms equipped with central climatization (cold in summer and hot in winter), telephone, minibar, safety box (extra), music channel, hair dryer, satellite TV, Internet connection (extra), cot (free of charge on request), WIFI in Bar Noble area (free).The hotel has a restaurant specialised in local cuisine, terrace bar, pool bar (seasonal), lounges with chimney, Tv room, game room, outdoor pool with sun beds and solarium, outdoor jacuzzi, limited parking space (free of charge), mini animal farm with children's playground. Baby carriage, cot and baby bath free (depending on availability), internet room Complementary activities: bike rental, trekking, horse riding etc.Half board consists on breakfast and dinner, except August when guests can choose between lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Grazalema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing