We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Mejorana is reason enough to add a stop in Grazalema to your trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mejorana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grazalema
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Mejorana
Ranked #1 of 2 Grazalema B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“La Mejorana is reason enough to add a stop in Grazalema to your trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

On a two week trip through Andalucia (in mid-June), our experience at La Mejorana was a high point, literally and figuratively. During our brief visit, we could almost imagine that we lived in this home, with views of the town and the surrounding countryside, church bells, birds circling in the air, a light breeze blowing into the room, a pool and beautiful flowers below,... You will read in other reviews about Andres and Ana. Our take? It felt as if we were a very special guest. They generously gave their time, knowledge, and attention throughout our stay, but were not overbearing. We had all the space we wanted, which is part of why the place felt so much like a home. This appears to be a common experience. Forget distinctions between B & Bs and hotels, if you're not sure about having a "B & B experience." Just stay here. It's hard to imagine that you would be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
112
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Staying in Grazalema at La Mejorana was the highlight of a six-week trip through Europe. I started out with two nights booked, and was lucky to be able to add a third, then a fourth. If I'd had more time I would have stayed longer still.

This lovely lodge is set in the beautiful "pueblo blanco" (white town) of Grazalema , in the heart of the Grazalema park (a Unesco "Reserve of the Biosphere"), with stunning views from the guest rooms. It is listed as one of Spain's "Alojamientos rurales" (rural lodgings) and is recognized for having preserved its traditional architecture. And the hosts, Andrés and Ana, are as warm and charming as the inn. They cheerfully responded to any questions or requests and provided directions and helpful tips about the village and about hiking in the park.

The room itself was very clean and comfortable, with a roomy bathroom and marvellous views over the valleys beyond Grazalema. My room (also called La Mejorana) was up a spiral staircase, which I loved. But if you prefer, all of the other rooms have easier access, and most have a view.

I enjoyed the generous continental breakfast on the patio overlooking La Mejorana's pool, surrounded by greenery and nearby hillsides. There is an option for hot breakfast items. There are spacious indoor communal areas, with a fridge and many other facilities for guest use.

The town itself is worth exploring: With its ancient fountains and a communal laundry dating back to Visigoth and Roman times, a Roman road, a rare species of fir tree, neat and tidy white-washed buildings adorned with flowers, and high-quality local goods such as cheese, leather goods, and woolens that have been the mainstay of the village's economy, one could spend a leisurely day without leaving the village. I recommend walking the self-guided village tour to get some appreciation of the village's treasures and its history (see the guide available from the Tourist Info and/or ask Andrés). The food and drink in local bars and restaurants s delicious, with several establishments to choose from.

If you like hiking there are many trails of various lengths to choose from. A few require permits that must be obtained ahead of time (from the visitor centre in El Bosque), so if your heart is set on a particular permitted trail, plan ahead. However many trails do not require permits and there is a lot to see (e.g. wild ibex).

I'll be back, as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ntzb-athome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We used La Mejorana for a family holiday in end july and hired the whole villa. It was perfect for what we wanted. Grazelema has been a revelation and we will definitely be back.
Andres was lovely in showing us through the villa and the guide books and visitor information file was really helpful. The house stats cool even in 40*temps.
The pool and facilities were great. A hair dryer would be very handy :)
This is our first trip to Spain but will not be the last.
I would definitely come back to La Mejorana again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrisesAbroad5769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in the La Mejorana B&B for 2 nights in May, 2013. This was a very enjoyable experience with the great view out our balcony window, a very nice breakfast and large, very clean room with comfortable bed and large bathroom. It is located in a very quiet area and very convenient to the hiking trails in Grazalema Natural Park. Andreas, the owner, was very friendly and helpful--we practiced our Spanish-he practiced his English. We traveled by bus from Ronda and it was not far from the one and only bus stop in town. We really enjoyed this area and wish we had spent a couple more days here. I would recommend this lodging choice to anyone spending time in the Grazalema area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanBinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

What a beautiful surprise to step into this deceptively spacious hotel. Andreas was so friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for us. The lounge with its open fire was so warm and welcoming and Andreas was happy for us to dry our wet gloves and socks around it - we had walked 16k in the rain to get there! When we arrived he made us a pot of tea, with cakes, and brought it to our room. Our room with en suite was very cute and up a spiral staircase. Everything was perfect and we slept well. There were some lovely little nooks crannies and old historical items dotted about the house. There was also a tempting outside area to sit in with terraced garden but the weather did not comply. Breakfasts and packed lunches were more than ample. This was one of our favourite hotels on our holiday. Thanks so much Andreas.

Room Tip: Only saw our room which was up spiral staircase and might not suit older or less able people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We spent just one night at La Mejorana with our three year old son while travelling through the beautiful villages in Sierra de Grazalema and we wish we had stayed more time here.
The house is very beautiful, warm and cozy... and spotlessly clean. It was cold outside but we enjoyed a very nice evening siting by the fireplace and talking to other guests.
Andres and Ana are wonderful hosts: very warm, friendly and willing to help. Andres gave us all the necessary information and his suggestions were all great.
Our room was nice and spacious, with a spectacular view to the valley and the mountains. Also having breakfast with those views was really nice.
During this trip we stayed some nights in big 4-star hotels but this is the place that will remain in our hearts, and we would love to return some day!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rodofranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

A delightful and charming place to stay, situated centrally in the Grazalema Park area. A bit difficult to find (we had a very interesting drive through some of Grazalema's narrow winding streets before we did find it), but well worth the effort! Andres and Ana were very gracious hosts, providing us good tips and information (including a detailed booklet guide of the town and area), and built a fire every night - very much appreciated on a rainy evening. An excellent breakast is provided each morning, weather permitting on the terrace to enjoy the beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Charming town with restaurants and shopping a few minutes walk away. We enjoyed a very memorable walk that started right from the hotel and ended up with a bus ride back to Grazalema. We wish we had planned more time in Grazalema at the La Mejorana!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryans05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazalema
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
7.3 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mejorana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mejorana

Property: La Mejorana
Address: Calle Santa Clara 6, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grazalema
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of "Parque Natural de la Sierra de Grazalema" (nature reserve), a really well known enclave because of its exceptional landscape beauty, "La Mejorana" rural house is located. This house stands out thanks to its majestic air and preserved traditional architecture. It has six double rooms that have been decorated with exquisite style and taste. Every room has a private bathroom with bathtub and some wonderful views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Mejorana Hotel Grazalema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing