We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel/Inn in the Pueblo Blancos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mejorana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grazalema
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Mejorana
Ranked #1 of 2 Grazalema B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The best hotel/Inn in the Pueblo Blancos!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

There are not enough superlatives for this fantastic hotel. Book early because there are only 6 rooms. Looking out over the small village of Grazelema never was there a more perfect site. Andres and Ana are perfect hosts providing guidance on hikes and excursions with detailed information. Incredibly kind and helpful. The rooms are large and delightful. Three nights was not enough here and we will have to return. And the rates are amazingly reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
112
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

2 nite stay as part of an Andalusian walking tour between white towns- hiked in from zahara el Sierra- hosts terrific and friendly- good suggestions on local food and shops- very attentive to any needs. nice room with sitting area. Cute town. Good wifi.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reovirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Although I had read all the positive reviews about this place I was still pleasantly surprised as it exceeded my expectations. Andres and Anna could not have been more welcoming and the accommodation itself was absolutely lovely. We were on an Inn Travel holiday and based at the Mejorana for a week which was a great base for walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scout6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and were absolutely delighted, we booked 2 days and ended up staying 3! The hotel is really lovely and the owners, Andres and Ana, are so helpful with detailed information on walking routes (in English), places to eat and even helped us choose our next stopping point, El Palmar beach.

Eating breakfast on the balcony overlooking the Grazalema hills was the perfect stay to each day we were there.

Parking has been mentioned on other reviews but we didn't find this a problem, Andres explained how to park just the other side of the hotel and we found a space there every day.

If you go to Grazalema, do try and stay here! Also check out the bar opposite the hotel for excellent food at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Andres apologised that he only had one room left and it was small and looking over the village, we t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLN_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

On a two week trip through Andalucia (in mid-June), our experience at La Mejorana was a high point, literally and figuratively. During our brief visit, we could almost imagine that we lived in this home, with views of the town and the surrounding countryside, church bells, birds circling in the air, a light breeze blowing into the room, a pool and beautiful flowers below,... You will read in other reviews about Andres and Ana. Our take? It felt as if we were a very special guest. They generously gave their time, knowledge, and attention throughout our stay, but were not overbearing. We had all the space we wanted, which is part of why the place felt so much like a home. This appears to be a common experience. Forget distinctions between B & Bs and hotels, if you're not sure about having a "B & B experience." Just stay here. It's hard to imagine that you would be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Staying in Grazalema at La Mejorana was the highlight of a six-week trip through Europe. I started out with two nights booked, and was lucky to be able to add a third, then a fourth. If I'd had more time I would have stayed longer still.

This lovely lodge is set in the beautiful "pueblo blanco" (white town) of Grazalema , in the heart of the Grazalema park (a Unesco "Reserve of the Biosphere"), with stunning views from the guest rooms. It is listed as one of Spain's "Alojamientos rurales" (rural lodgings) and is recognized for having preserved its traditional architecture. And the hosts, Andrés and Ana, are as warm and charming as the inn. They cheerfully responded to any questions or requests and provided directions and helpful tips about the village and about hiking in the park.

The room itself was very clean and comfortable, with a roomy bathroom and marvellous views over the valleys beyond Grazalema. My room (also called La Mejorana) was up a spiral staircase, which I loved. But if you prefer, all of the other rooms have easier access, and most have a view.

I enjoyed the generous continental breakfast on the patio overlooking La Mejorana's pool, surrounded by greenery and nearby hillsides. There is an option for hot breakfast items. There are spacious indoor communal areas, with a fridge and many other facilities for guest use.

The town itself is worth exploring: With its ancient fountains and a communal laundry dating back to Visigoth and Roman times, a Roman road, a rare species of fir tree, neat and tidy white-washed buildings adorned with flowers, and high-quality local goods such as cheese, leather goods, and woolens that have been the mainstay of the village's economy, one could spend a leisurely day without leaving the village. I recommend walking the self-guided village tour to get some appreciation of the village's treasures and its history (see the guide available from the Tourist Info and/or ask Andrés). The food and drink in local bars and restaurants s delicious, with several establishments to choose from.

If you like hiking there are many trails of various lengths to choose from. A few require permits that must be obtained ahead of time (from the visitor centre in El Bosque), so if your heart is set on a particular permitted trail, plan ahead. However many trails do not require permits and there is a lot to see (e.g. wild ibex).

I'll be back, as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ntzb-athome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We used La Mejorana for a family holiday in end july and hired the whole villa. It was perfect for what we wanted. Grazelema has been a revelation and we will definitely be back.
Andres was lovely in showing us through the villa and the guide books and visitor information file was really helpful. The house stats cool even in 40*temps.
The pool and facilities were great. A hair dryer would be very handy :)
This is our first trip to Spain but will not be the last.
I would definitely come back to La Mejorana again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrisesAbroad5769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazalema
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
81 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel San Gabriel
Hotel San Gabriel
#3 of 39 in Ronda
1,258 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#1 of 1 in Villaluenga del Rosario
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mejorana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mejorana

Property: La Mejorana
Address: Calle Santa Clara 6, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grazalema
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of "Parque Natural de la Sierra de Grazalema" (nature reserve), a really well known enclave because of its exceptional landscape beauty, "La Mejorana" rural house is located. This house stands out thanks to its majestic air and preserved traditional architecture. It has six double rooms that have been decorated with exquisite style and taste. Every room has a private bathroom with bathtub and some wonderful views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Mejorana Hotel Grazalema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing