We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, very friendly welcome”
Review of La Mejorana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grazalema
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Mejorana
Ranked #1 of 2 Grazalema B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 May 2009

I can't really add much to WrinkliesHull's review, and we stayed in the same room. The only slight niggle was that they didn't provide more shower gel when it ran out, but if that's the only negative thing I can find to say, it just goes to show how wonderful the place is.

The house is WiFi enabled, but if you don't take your own laptop, you will have problems. There is an internet cafe near the main square, but it was closed during our visit.

If you fancy a good restaurant meal, try the Torreon. At the end you will get complimentary home made liqueur. And we thought that the best bar was Kiboka. Be warned that many bars show bull fighting much of the time. Not everybody's cup of tea!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nedsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2008

Booked for 7 nights, actually stayed for 12 nights. Our room was named Mejorana. Would recommend booking it as it has the best views. However, views from the outside seating area, other balcony are just as good. We "peeped" into other rooms and they looked good. Lovely pool area. Nice areas just to sit and chill, watching birds, especially the vultures soaring. Lovely lounge area for relaxing should weather be inclement. Andres could not do enough for us. What a nice man. Did not see much of Anya as she was busy with baby Nicolas. If arriving by car, would recommend contacting Andres first to ask for directions in village. We used the bars and restaurant he recommended - all very good. The area is superb for walking.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WrinkleyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Such a warm welcome from Andreas and Anna - they were only too pleased to help with any problem/questions. La Mejorana is in a quiet area of the village but only a 2/3 minute walk to the restaurants/tapas bars, albeit, lots of hills. But the views from the terrace were exceptional. A trip to Zahara over the mountains was breathtaking. This is a walkers paradise with (I think) eight walks ranging from 3km to 10 km directly from the accommodation, with an opportunity to see deer, lizards, eagles etc. This was certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joyceyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We booked our 2 day stay in 'La Mejorana' after reading the reviews on this site and would certainly endorse all the previous recommendations. Excellent value double bedrooms with the use of several communal areas, including a swimming pool and attractive outside terrace.
'La Mejorana' is situated in a quiet part of Grazalema with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside. The vilage itself is a very good base for exploring this beautiful part of Spain , and we enjoyed eating in the local restaurants - we would recommend El Pinsapar (just down the hill) which had an excellent 'menu del dia' for 10 euros, served by friendly staff. We also enjoyed the tapas at Bar Zulema in the square.
We really appreciated the warm welcome we received at 'La Mejorana' and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Seashore126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

After enjoying an all too brief one night stay at La Mejorana en route from Cordoba to Malaga, we can only agree with the previous comments. Very welcoming indeed. Excellent choice made after reading these reviews - many thanks. As an added bonus, there was a mini festival taking place in Grazalema on the evening. Amazing. We will include a longer stay here when visiting this area of Spain. Thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LsaKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2008

This is one of the most beautiful spots in Spain. High up in the mountains this little village has not been ruined by time and tourism. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Ana and Andre are wonderful hosts and very proud of their village. The house is lovely, felt like a home. The drive to the village from Seville, over a mountain pass, is absolutely stunning! Don't miss out on visiting Fernando Garcia's leather shop. Beautiful handbags - he only makes one of each!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank wasupsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

This was a wonderful find for the four people in our party. The house is beautiful, cared for lovingly, and the rooms are very cozy. The couple who run it, Ana and Andre, are very hospitable and anxious to please. A garden, tended by Ana, added to the ambience of the location. It felt very comfortable to be there. We were only able to spend one night at La Mejorana, but would be glad to visit again for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Stardoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazalema
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
73 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
398 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mejorana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mejorana

Address: Calle Santa Clara 6, 11610 Grazalema, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Grazalema
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grazalema
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of "Parque Natural de la Sierra de Grazalema" (nature reserve), a really well known enclave because of its exceptional landscape beauty, "La Mejorana" rural house is located. This house stands out thanks to its majestic air and preserved traditional architecture. It has six double rooms that have been decorated with exquisite style and taste. Every room has a private bathroom with bathtub and some wonderful views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Mejorana Hotel Grazalema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing