We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, great value, in a beautiful location”
Review of Hotel La Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Posada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Offering amazing value in this charming village in the centre of the region's goats' cheese producing area, you'd wish for a little hotel of this standard in every corner of the world. Our small room was functional, super-clean and neat with a good bathroom, a/c and lovely views over the rooftops to the beautiful countryside beyond. Breakfast featured excellent coffee, fruit, bread and a sizeable sample of the local cheese.

Don't miss the Payoyo cheese shop at the bottom of the village where some of the 16 variants can be tasted before purchase.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for one night on a recent walking holiday in Andalucia.
Our room was very cosy (once we'd managed to work out how to switch the heater on). Free wifi, good traditional spanish food in the restaurant attached to the hotel and they even managed to do me a vegetarian picnic for the walk the following day.

Room Tip: Get as far from the stairs as you can. The toilets for the bar are on the same floor as the bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Godreamanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My wife and I were probably on the same walking holiday as the previous reviewer, and visited Villaluenga and La Posada for just the one night as well. It took a little finding as, although road signs point you in the right direction along the tiny streets of this small white town, once into the little square there is a little detective work to do because the hotel name does not exist on the outside of the building - the sign outside heralds the "Restaurante Los Llanos". Whatever, our room was large and comfortable with chest-high windows looking over the square. Dinner was above average, but we did have to eat alone (it was Champions League Cup Final night)..... my only disappointment was when I ordered "fruits of the season" as a dessert and received an apple and a knife.......

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithWhiteparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

As the only place to stay in Villaluenga, it was our only choice (other than to stay in Grazalema or another White Village), and a group of us were there on a walking holiday so it suited our schedule. The modernised hotel with say 7 or 8 rooms is centrally placed amid very narrow lanes which needed nerves of steel and good car insurance to negotiate. No complaint with the accommodation which was surprisingly good (although not all had views), nor with the little town which seemed charming with family gatherings for meals in the small squares, a little bullring, etc. But, knowing it to be untested on TripAdviser and uncertain about the availability of restaurants, we made the mistake of booking a set meal. It was poor quality, insubstantial and unexciting, and served by a domomatrix waitress who was not out to charm, intent only on spending her quality time looking after the table of a Belgian party who were not on the set menu. It was our only poor meal of the trip, and on those grounds I find it hard recommend this place. Together with the difficulty of booking the place originally (the various agency websites reporting that there was only one room left !! Oh yeh ? I had to resort to asking a friend in Madrid to call the hotel up to establish our interest. He told me the manager seemed very nice when he called), the management just did not seem that interested in our business. Maybe it was the language barrier. A shame as a lot of money has been spent doing the place up. OK, maybe stay here, but take a hard look at the menu and eat out.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StridingJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Juanjo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ventura19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Encarni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villaluenga del Rosario
4.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
646 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
154 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel del Carmen
Hotel del Carmen
#1 of 1 in Prado del Rey
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
73 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
97 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Las Truchas
Hotel Las Truchas
#3 of 3 in El Bosque
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada

Address: Calle Torre 1, 11611 Villaluenga del Rosario, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Villaluenga del Rosario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villaluenga del Rosario
Price Range: £40 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Posada 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing