We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked!”

Pileta Caves (Cueva de la Pileta)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$172.27*
and up
White Villages: Guided Day Trip from Seville
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Benaojan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cave containing 25,000-year-old etched symbols.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wicked!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is definitely worth a visit! The caves have the oldest prehistoric cave paintings in Europe that can actually be seen up close, and it feels like a genuine cave, with bats flying over your head and not a sound and light show anywhere around. I would definitely combine this with lunch or dinner at Molino del Santo for a 5* outing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LAW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    100
    16
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Worst Run Place in Spain - Awful staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

People need to be aware that whilst these caves may be worth a visit the people who run it don't deserve your money.

Context - My family were travelling around Andalucia for 4 weeks and found everyone we encountered friendly, the food incredible and the sights superb.

My wife speaks Spanish so phoned the cave up the day before to check there would be spaces for the following day. She was told that there was no need to book and there were plenty of spaces for the 1.00pm tour. We then planned accordingly and arrived at 12.30 to be told there were no places and then the awful man behind the counter actually laughed in our faces as it is a large climb to the entry. We tried to ask him why we were told there would be spaces but he just laughed again and turned his back on us. He was without doubt the rudest most unpleasant man we met on holiday and we would urge people not to go there as we met another couple who had the same experience.

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE - there are too many amazing places in Andalucia to put up with people like this!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelgeek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice and cool”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Good trip to escape the heat. Good explanation, wonderful to see. Paintings 40.000 years old, beautiful stone formations

Helpful?
1 Thank ErikVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The tour allows access to only a tiny proportion of the cave and its paintings, but is well worth a detour. It's quite humbling to see the paintings and get a glimpse of life millenia ago.
Wear shoes with a non-slip sole as it is quite slippery in spots, but you don't have to be super-fit or a mountain goat to cope.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JSP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Extraordinary cave drawings”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I agree with previous reviewers that this under-the-radar site is VERY special. The 32,000-42,000 year old drawings bring new meaning to the word "old." Wow. Wear good shoes, bring a sweater and prepare to be awestruck. Follow the instructions others have written for access and tours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jWBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pileta Caves (Cueva de la Pileta) also viewed

Ronda, Costa del Sol
Ronda, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Pileta Caves (Cueva de la Pileta)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing