We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel- but better!”
Review of Molino del Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Molino del Santo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Certificate of Excellence
Estepona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel- but better!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of days at this amazing hotel. It does not have features of 5 star hotels- TVs, pool bars but it has far better features- peace and quiet, beautiful views and background music- from the river, superb food in a beautiful garden but THE secret is the service and this comes down to the husband and wife who see everything. I tried to find some positive suggestions to put on the feedback form but everything had been thought of. My only suggestion was to arrange seating so that couples could sit next to each other and hold hands- or even knees!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fogg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It is very gratifying when guests make the effort to write such complimentary things about us. It is even more appreciated when people support us by suggesting more actions that we can take to help us to keep our hotel busy - which was the case with this guest. He suggested an office on the coast which lots of people visit which he thought might be ideal for us to advertise. We have since been in touch with his suggestion and are working towards new methods of promotion.

Thank you so much, Mr Fogg, for your support.

Andy Chapell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    69
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
264
620
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ronda, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My friend and I went to the Molino del Santo this evening for a meal. It was a warm night and the atmosphere was welcoming. Our supper was excellent. We had 3 courses and the food was fantastic. We sat by the river and enjoyed the ambience. The service was very good and the staff courteous, friendly and attentive. I can highly recommend this Hotel and hope to dine there again soon.

Room Tip: .All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedskater7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It is so kind of you to take the time to write this review for us.

I am glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit and especially the stars on the "ceiling" - if I can make a suggestion, come back when t is full moon - the moon rising over the mountains and silhouetting the trees on the skyline is magical. This was the case last night and it is stunning.

We hope to see you again soon.

Andy Chapell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here with friends for a couple of nights to celebrate my wife's birthday, I wish that we'd booked to stay longer!
The hotel is set in a very quiet area just a short walk outside the small town of Benaojan which itself is a short drive from Ronda. It is surrounded by beautiful countryside with numerous recommended walks for the more energetic, we did the short one to the Cueva Del Gato which was beautiful.
The hotel itself is relatively small but the bedrooms were very tastefully decorated/furnished and extremely comfortable. We had room 16 which was fabulous.
The public rooms, gardens & pool were all extremely nice and very well maintained. The staff were very friendly & attentive, without being pushy, doing everything that they could to make your stay a good one.
Dining out on the terrace was so nice and relaxing, both for lunch and the evening. I admit to being quite a fussy eater but there was plenty on the menus for me to chose from and everything that we had was perfectly cooked & presented. During our visit we tried quite a few of the local wines and they were so good that I'll bring looking out for some to take home.
We had such a marvellous time that ourselves and our friends are already planning & looking forward to our next trips. If you're in the area I'd recommend staying or at least visiting for lunch/diner.

Room Tip: The rooms are all described on the hotel website. The upper rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. It is always great to know that people wish they had stayed longer.

It is also very good to know that so many aspects of our service ticked the right boxes for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Andy Chapell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently revisited Molino del Santo to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. We couldn't think of another place nearby to spend our money! Molino del Santo stands alone and once visited is a place you will never forget and always return, we are lucky we live a couple of hours away on the train. Staff welcoming as always and surprised us with a bottle of Cava for our celebrations. Food and service exceptional as always. Our room was beautiful with a little balcony to look up at the stars and very comfortable, we try to stay in a different room each time we visit. We always leave Molino feeling rejuvenated and relaxed and each time we arrive we are always taken in by the beauty of the grounds. Very well kept. But mixes well with the wild flowers and trees growing along the river, if you are thinking of visiting this place you wont regret it, young old, couples families will all enjoy this place equally.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverYoungEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
It is difficult to get to know all of our guests well but if you arrange a wedding with us then we will obviously be spending a lot of time together in planning the details.

I am very grateful to Emma for writing this review for us and would just like to put on record what a pleasure it has been to get to know her and her now-Husband Brian over the last 18months or so. They are both people who bring a lot of positive energy with them and we are really pleased that people like them appreciate Molino del Santo. They are great people to have around. Thanks Emma and Brian - and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having heard about this hotel I decided to take my wife as a surprise for our wedding anniversary.
It was a choice between the new Sunborn in Gibralter and Molino. We were not disappointed.
The hotel does exactly "what it says on the tin".
Owners and staff are friendly and helpful. the location excellent accommodation and food very good.
Will probably return in the future either just for a meal or a stay.
Regards to Eddie

Room Tip: Tell them your personal tastes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Molino. I am delighted that we ticked the boxes for you - it is always our intention to give all of our guests a great experience.

Eddie is very pleased to receive your regards and looks forward to seeing you again soon. (For those not in the know, Eddie is our dog who writes columns in our newsletters and in The Olive Press newspaper. In case you're concerned he does not regularly frequent the hotel or grounds although you can meet him by arrangement.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire Uk
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We travel a lot & we like to travel to small independent boutique hotels.
We were told from a couple of friends how fantastic the food a small friendly hotel.
As we drove into the entrance it didn't look very pretty we drove past a derelict building & a couple of scruffy building.
But don't let that put you off as they have large double doors at the entrance. We stepped into another world it's was so pretty nestled at the bottom of a valley.
We heard running water to find there's a natural water feature running along side the hotel.
We had a small suite with our own roof terrace. Very quirky lovely.The owner showed us to our room. Very very friendly & welcoming. The two main restaurant staff were very attentive & helpful if there's nothing you like on the menu no problem they will make you what you want.
Too me this place is 5 star without the stuffiness & fuss.
There's a lovely atmosphere.
If your looking for a personnel service excellent food you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonobrien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind and positive review Alison.

This must have been your first visit and I do hope your obvious enthusiasm will mean we shall see you for subsequent visits.

We are a little off the beaten track but we do hope the effort to find us is worthwhile.

You are certain of a very warm welcome when you can return to visit us and thank you again for taking the time to write to say such pleasant things.

Andy Chapell for Molino del Santo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Molino is delightful in every way - very friendly owners and staff, comfortable stylish rooms, excellent restaurant, beautiful gardens and pool and wonderful mountains all round you. I was horrified to see an unfavourable report, not at all true. In June we made our 20th visit (in 24 years!), which I think shows what a lovely place it is to spend your holiday.. In the surrounding area you have superb walks and bird watching, plus ancient monuments, caves and interesting towns - something for everyone. We shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask if you want to be near the pool or if you want a view of the mountains, some rooms have outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsanchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMolinoSpain, Owner at Molino del Santo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I guess every small hotel could list a few people who are more than special in the positive energy they bring with them and for us Helen and Simon are right up there amongst the very loveliest guests that anyone could wish to have.

20 visits in 24 years is an awful lot but everyone at Molino knows that these are very special people - thank you both for being such a big part of our success story - for your own visits and for the many people you have recommended over the years. Your ongoing support is so appreciated.

Andy Chapell for Molino del Santo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benaojan
7.1 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
376 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
5.3 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
24.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino del Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino del Santo

Property: Molino del Santo
Address: Avenida Estacion, 29370 Benaojan, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Benaojan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benaojan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Molino del Santo 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Molino del Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molino Del Santo Benaojan
Molino Del Santo Hotel Benaojan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing