We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Ronda visits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casas de Montejaque
Ranked #1 of 5 Montejaque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Puurs, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Ronda visits”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after a tour through Andalusia. Although we booked a simple room, the owner gave us a 6-person cottage to use for the 2 days, just outside the actual village, with a full view of the village itself and its surrounding mountains. Serene calm, peace and quiet, and a pool all to ourselves, the perfect place to stay, especially with kids.
Do make sure that you do your (self-catering) shopping in a bigger supermercado in another town before going there, because the 3 tiny shops only offer the very simple basics.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    34
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Just back from 5 days (Mon -Fri) staying at La Posada with my wife Janet. We wanted to stay somewhere with true Spanish culture and found it in spades at Montejaque, (pronounced 'monte-hacka'). A gorgeous little village nestled into the mountain side with spectacular views out over the valley below.

Run by Cristobal and his daughter Isobel La Posada is a beautiful cluster of 9 holiday properties individually designed and landscaped to maximum effect. It is perfectly situated towards the top of the village. Just a few minutes walk from the main town square and many local bars, restaurants and mini-markets. The mountain views from this gem of a developement are absolutely superb. Our property had a terrace on the roof which supplied us with aditional breathtaking mountain vistas from dawn to dusk. Immaculately maintained in every aspect the rustic Andalucian charm and quiet of La Posada will slow time allowing you to step off the treadmill of daily grind and truly relax.

Montejaque is a beautiful little village but very old with some very narrow streets. TIP: hire a small car! Parking near La Posada was generally found as there is no carparking on site, but in May it wasn't a problem, though it could be difficult enough in peak season. We hired a Fait Panda which was ideal for squeezing through the narrow streets and parking.

The local restaurants and bars provide great local food at quite reasonable prices, certainly substancially cheaper that at the touresty coast. A great place to get away from it all.....simply beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PaulTaylor98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Brighter electric lights in the sitting room would enhance reading, writing and looking at maps in the evenings.

Isabel was very helpful with our various enquiries.

If you want to book day permits for certain walks in Grazalema natural Park, do so well in advance and directly from one of the park offices.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newpound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

After visiting Montejaque for over 10 years it seems now as though the word is now out....this sleeping Andalusian village has woken up & the owners of Casas de Montejaque haven't been left behind. I first discovered this beautiful collection of houses thru Brittany Ferries although I'm not sure that they still carry them in the brochure..it may have proved a little too far to drive for the less intrepid. Situated in a small backstreet just off the main village square (please don't attempt parking in the street unless you have a very compact vehicle!!), the first glimpse you catch is of a very inviting pool area with lovingly tended gardens with lush grass....already a shocker in this mountainous region. Four two storey & 3 1 storey cottage huddle around this oasis, their patios & terraces opening to give easy access to the pool & more importantly providing stunning views of the surrounding peaks & the village spilling down to meet the road from Benaojan. The cottages are traditional andalusian village houses, simple but charming furnishings complete the look. For self catering accomodation the kitchens are more than adequately stocked with a plethora of utensils & pots & a huge cooker - you won't be balancing pans etc on a ridiculous 2 ring hob here! If you're a seasoned (pardon the pun) self caterer you'll also usually be pleased to see a small supply of olive oil, salt, pepper & the odd few herbs left behind by fellow travellers & I'm pleased to see Cristobel supplying washing up cloths/scourers. I have only stayed here in the warmer months of the year so my review is limited to give a view of life here without having to keep the properties warm or to find things to do on a rainy day. Generally lazy days of laying by the pool reading a decent book & chatting to fellow travellers (& kindred spririts) who have also sought this place out is how I spend my time. However you can't come to this region without exploring the Natural Parks on your doorstep, depending on the time of year local fiestas are always worth dropping in to; but if its nature, scenery & wildlife you've come for you will not be disappointed...bring your binocs & a birds of europe book & you'll be amazed what you can spot - often without having to leave your sunbed! Seville, Cordoba & Granada are all within easy driving distance & if you fancy a day on the beach DO NOT HEAD TOWARDS MARBELLA!! Instead head west to the beaches of the Costa da Luz - family friendly beaches can be found in abundance eg La Barrosa, Conil, Canos De Mecca. Back to the village, when I first came here there was 1 restaurant & 3 bars - the choice now has grown to 2 regularly open restaurants & a handful of bars, there is also a lovely delicatessen selling regional specialities & where you can uncork a bottle & consume your purchases (open Fri - Sun when I was there). Arguably the best place to eat out these days is the Palacete de Manara on the corner opposite the church (ask for the English bar if you can't find it!!) where a very warm welcome from Max & Bill & varied & well priced menu awaits.
Congratulations to Cristobel & his hardworking family for the improvements he has made over the years without losing the charm & appeal of this holiday hideaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cris_laposada, Dueño. at Casas de Montejaque, responded to this review, 5 October 2009
¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡THANKS YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!

We hope you have had a lovely trip.
We are so happy, getting this opinion about lovely family like you.

We have had a lovely days helping you in your holidays. We hope see you again.

Greetings.

Cristobal and Isabel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I stayed a week at Casas de Montejaque between August 4-11th, with
My partner Ann and 3 of our children (Aged between 8-11). We had the 2 Bedroom La Posada property and it was very comfortable and suited us perfectly. We had our own small terrace area which was nice and were just a few steps from the pool.
I would agree with the previous comments about the lack of fans in the bedrooms.
My only other grumble would be the pool opening hours. You couldn’t swim before 10.30am which I thought was a bit late.
We were very impressed with Cristobel and Isobel, they run the complex very smoothly and we found them very helpful.
Montejaque is a lovely ‘real’ Spanish village and perfect for a quiet relaxing break, away from the crowded costa’s.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Just got back from a week staying in the main house around the pool with my family, including a 6 year old and a 10 year old. Brilliant location for avoiding the English hordes on the coast and seeing some "real" rural Andalucia. Chris & Isabel were superbly helpful all the time but especially with things like posting postcards and getting train info. The village is excellent too, with the hosts at the Hotel / Restaurant in the Village Square being very welcoming after hours and live "Peace Cup" football at 11pm on TV in one of the local bars! Ancient Ronda is 15 minutes away by car and Seville is an easy drive for a day trip but the kids were just happy to play (under our supervision) in the pool all day (if we had let them). Highlight for us was the drive between the two Pueblos Blanc of Grazelma & Zahara de la Sierra over a 1500m mountain pass on a very thin and windy road. The only improvements that could have made our time more comfortable would have been fans in the bedrooms as the night time temperatures were at least mid 30s and mid 40s during the day - I understand this was very hot for this area at this time of year but not amazingly unusual.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perky_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Down
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed in these lovely apartment s for a week July 18 - 25th. The pool was super. The help and service I got from Cris the manager and his daughter Isabel was first class. The apartments are close to all the shops and bars/restaurants and the meal prices make your euros go far. If you want a lovely mountain retreat this is for you.
Tony&Frances Co.Down N.Ireland

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cris_laposada, Owner at Casas de Montejaque, responded to this review, 3 August 2009
Good Afternoon Mr.Tony:

I hope you have had a good trip.

Thanks you so much to choose
Casas de Montejaque SL, to spend a wonderful holidays.

Greetings.

Isabel Mª Calle.
Casas de Montejaque Sl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montejaque
4.8 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#31 of 40 in Ronda
96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,167 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada del Fresno
Posada del Fresno
#1 of 1 in Montejaque
57 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Molino del Puente Ronda
6.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas de Montejaque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas de Montejaque

Property: Casas de Montejaque
Address: Calle Manuel Ortega 16, 29360 Montejaque, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Montejaque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montejaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casas de Montejaque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admidts stunning mountainous scenery. Montejaque is enchanting, a special place where you can relax and enjoy the peace and wonder of the countryside and nature all around. Our apartments are situated within the most beautiful areas village. Just 1.30 hours, you could be Costa Sol with wonderful beachs or Sevilla.Your holidays in Montejaque will be one you will remember for sometime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casas de Montejaque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing