We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent”
Review of Hotel Montejaque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Montejaque
Ranked #3 of 5 Montejaque B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Visited in September 2011 - stayed in village and wished we had tried this Hotel earlier on our holiday. Food was exceptional, very reasonably priced, wine was good. Staff and management were excellent. Please visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EnglandJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montejaque
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night on a short driving holiday in Andalucia.
The hotel is located in the main plaza in a picturesque mountain village near the beautiful town of Ronda.
It is run by a couple of English guys and we found them quite welcoming and friendly. The room we had (3) was quite nice although the bathroom lacked decent towels and there was no toiletries, which was a bit inconvenient as I had only brought hand luggage and no shower gel etc. I think you do expect a bit more when paying 89 Euro's a night.
We liked the patio area with the tiny swimming pool which was very warm and sunny in the daytime and nice for relaxing after a long drive.
The biggest disappointment was the food. We ate are evening meal here and it wasn't very good. We both had Tuna and it's the worst we've had. Overcooked and served with what appeared to be frozen mixed veg and boil in the bag rice. My girlfriend is not a fussy eater and couldn't eat it. There was also no desserts available unless we wanted chocolate ice cream!
Montejaque doesn't really have any other decent restaurants, so this is a great shame and the owners are missing an opportunity here.
The best thing about this hotel is the location. Ronda is beautiful and just a 25 minute drive. We headed back to Seville airport the next day and if you are travelling there, i would recommend taking the drive through Grazalema and Zahara. The scenery is absolutely stunning through the hairpin bends of the mountain roads. Both villages are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I really enjoyed my stay! Chris and Mia were really friendly and always there making sure you had everything you needed. The food was delicious and went well with the vibrant and relaxed atmosphere.

The room was beautiful and looked out over the typically Spanish village town square.

If you are looking for a walking holiday or just a "relaxation by the pool holiday" this is where to go!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmoore96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We spent an amazing 5 days walking in the fantastic countryside around Montejaque and Ronda - a brilliant location and the walks were amongst the best I've done in Spain. The nearby town of Ronda is one of those beautiful white towns. Chris is a brilliant host and nothing was too much trouble for him or his team - good food (which our children loved too) and a really friendly, chilled atmosphere. Our son played football out in the street with the locals, both kids swam in the hotel pool. Really good breakfasts too to set you up for a day's walking. We stayed in 3 places during our Easter break in Spain and the Elefante Amarillo was far and away the best (and the cheapest). Would love to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186363Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We can't thank you enough Chris and the Team for a fantastic holiday.
Nothing was too much trouble - the food was excellent and although we meant to try all the restaurants in the village we were tempted by the menu every night. The lovely atmosphere at 6pm when many people are having a pre-dinner drink allowed us to chat informally with Chris and then later move on to eat in the beautiful restaurant at very reasonable prices (the children were well catered for even when requesting something not shown on the menu). The pool was great for a dip and the tapas and drinks on the patio well received. The rooms are very comfortable with a lovely view over the village square where we watched the Spanish men passing the time of day (entertainment in itself!). I think what made our holiday such a success was the willingness of the staff to accommodate all our needs but at the same time having a relaxed attitude that made us feel extremely welcome. FAB

Room Tip: Great for cycling, walking, horse riding, artists
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazza289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Visited El Elephante last year and had a great time but I am afraid this time around was not. The greating from Chris was very subdued and his staff (joke) , if you could find him when you wanted some service was very irrate and scruffy . We had to eat out as the restaurant was closed and filthy, I did hear from the locals that the previous "chef " had a big fight with the owner and the police were called. Maybe the economic climate is taking hold over these little guest houses and standards are going down badly but this should not affect your vacation. Sorry to report this but at the moment this should be given a wide berth untill things dramatically improve.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyboy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here on a walking holiday with Walking Wild Andalucia. All four of us rated the seven hotels we stayed in terms of the welcome, the rooms and the food. The Yellow Elephant came top in all four. We cannot reccomend this hotel enough. It's position right in the square, the hospitality of everyone and the lovely rooms were first class and the food was very special. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarlWilliams19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montejaque
0.1 mi away
Posada del Fresno
Posada del Fresno
#1 of 1 in Montejaque
59 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#36 of 40 in Ronda
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casitas de la Sierra
Casitas de la Sierra
#1 of 3 in Montejaque
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Palacete de Manara
#4 of 5 in Montejaque
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montejaque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montejaque

Address: Plaza Constitucion 2, 29360 Montejaque, Spain (Formerly El Elefante Amarillo. Hotel Palacete de Manara)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Montejaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Montejaque
Price Range: £31 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montejaque 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montejaque, located in a delightful pueblo blanco in the spectacular Serrania Ronda mountains, has all the hallmarks of a traditional Spanish village hotel and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Montejaque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing