We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel el Gecko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortes de la Frontera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel el Gecko
brighton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A charming spot”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

a lovely hotel with lovely hosts! This hotel is situated in a wonderful spot surrounded by fantastic countryside a really nice place to walk and also a staion nearby to travel to Ronda , Granada or Gib (train fares v reasonable) if you want to. The Village is small with some Spanish bars and small supermarket and the El Gekko is a shinning light in their midst. Bill And Maxine offer great hospitality and wonderful surroundings , We especially liked eating our meals on the lovely terrace overlooking the river. We were staying at a friends place nearby and discovered the El Gekko and spent many an evening there, the food and drink is great and good value for money ( there was a guitarist / singer on one Sunday lunch time too - a wonderful treat!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here on the second night of our six day walking holiday and were given a very friendly welcome from the British hosts. We ate dinner in the hotel and had a very good value meal followed the next morning by a typical Spanish breakfast. The room was overlooking the street and not large with a very small bathroom and shower only, but we slept well in the comfortable bed. As it was early in the season the pool had not been filled but there was a terrace at the back, overlooking the river, which is probably very pleasant on a warm summers day.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside view room if one is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great service and fantastic food! Bill and Maxine are great hosts and would love to stay when we come again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippyhuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here last year and very much enjoyed it. The service was friendly and not overwhelming. The location is a 3 or 4 minute walk from the local train station where you can get direct connections to Rhonda (a must see).
We ate in the B&B one night and found the food to be the best we'd had during our holiday. We both have very fond memories of sitting on the veranda drinking sangria!
We will both definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
357 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a great rural retreat ideal by bikers, cyclists, walkers and if you want to visit rural Spain. The food was great ... we had breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was simple breakfast with cereals, fruits, yoghurts, juice, etc ... but on request we had cooked breakfast. Dinner was fabulous value 3 course meal ... selection from 3 or 4 starters and mains - even a curry. Definitely we´ll go back! There was even wifi!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berna57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We have just got back from 4 nights in el gecko in Cortes. This tiny boutique hotel (5 bedrooms) once again exceeded our expectations. New (to us) owners Will & Max couldn't have done more for us. We really feel we have gained a couple of friends. The hotel is 3 town houses converted in to a hotel. It backs on to a river and breathtaking views of Andalucian mountains. There is an adequate sized pool. A number of terraces. Cosy TV room. Fab little bar and restaurant. We had breakfast (very simple) laid out to suit us and dinner if required. Food great - especially our special request of a Thai curry! The hotel is near a couple of REAL tapas bars and the area is a mix of arty x-pats & friendly Spanish. The train station is very close and takes u to Ronda (amazing town) in approx 30 mins and other great local towns. Max arranged for 2 horse treks for my family (me hub & 11 year old) - an amazing experience and real value for money. I know on occasion they have a local singer on the terrace who we saw - fantastic. To sum it up this place is a great find - it punches well above it's 2 stars - and the owners couldn't be more accommodating!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahtildebsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here for a wonderful week during a painting holiday. The hosts, room, hotel, food and ambience were great.
Bill and Maxine made me very welcome.
I had the swimming pool to myself every morning.
The landscape and countryside are outstanding.
Easily accessible by road and railway.
I hope to come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gljc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortes de la Frontera
7.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Quercus
Apartamentos Quercus
#3 of 4 in Cortes de la Frontera
6 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cortes de la Frontera Inturjoven Youth Hostel
Cortes de la Frontera Inturjoven...
#4 of 4 in Cortes de la Frontera
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yurts in Spain
Yurts in Spain
#1 of 4 in Cortes de la Frontera
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Gecko

Property: Hotel el Gecko
Address: Calle Real Tesoro 39, 29391 Cortes de la Frontera, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Cortes de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cortes de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel el Gecko 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming rural boutique hotel and bistro standing on the banks of the Guadiaro River in the Grazalema National Park and the Alconocales Cork Forest. Formerly a travelers inn, reformed and renovated to a high standard under new ownership. Riverside bistro open to non residents. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing