We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for this class of hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Ranked #1 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average for this class of hotel.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have given the MO Atlanta a very good rather than excellent review because compared to others in this class it was not exceptional. As expected the hotel was spotlessly clean and well kept. Rooms were large, bathrooms nice, amenities first class. Public areas, although small and architecturally uninspiring, are pleasant enough. The hotel car and driver are available and a nice, but again, expected perk. All these things are expected at this price level. Where the hotel was lacking was in some of the little things. For example: despite having our flight # and arrival time, when our cab pulled in, there was no doorman or valet to greet us. We wheeled our own luggage into check in and after check in wheeled it up to our room. No one to show us to our room and familiarize us with its amenities. Not a big deal for us but something you expect at this level. I also thought the bar area was unimpressive and not well staffed. Employees were acceptably friendly although only one (the bar or restaurant manager?) made any effort to really learn our names. To me alot of this may be due to the mainly business nature of this location. More antiseptic, efficient and serious.

So, in conclusion, this is a very nice hotel, but when compared to others in its class (Peninsula, Four Seasons, other MO's) I think it comes up a little short. All problems are totally addressable by management, and knowing the MO brand, they probably will be!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderfully insightful review. We are committed to continually getting better so that we may be the best at providing our guest with the ultimate luxurious stay. Your thoughts are valuable in helping us identify opportunites for growth. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and want to assure you your comments have been taken seriously and our team is taking action. We look forward to having the opportunity soon to truly show you what Mandarin Oriental Atlanta has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    133
    34
    18
    11
See reviews for
134
402
55
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is definitely in the top three I've ever stayed in. Absolutely impeccable service in every aspect. Gorgeous hotel, luxurious relaxation spa and pool area, beautifully decorated rooms with very comfortable beds and spacious spa like bathrooms.

Green Features: Very environmentally conscientious hotel (recycled paper, towels etc)
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I truly enjoyed reading your delightful review! Many thanks for choosing Mandarin Oriental Atlanta for your stay and also for taking the time to express your enthusiasm regarding your visit. Our team is commited to striving to exceed your expectations and we are happy to hear our efforts have been well received. If business or leisure brings you to Atlanta, we look forward to warmly welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I had the pleasure of a two night stay this past weekend to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. I mentioned the occasion when I made the reservation and the front desk clerk wished my daughter a happy birthday when we checked in. Concierges Janice Dempsey made us a dinner reservation and when we returned to our room we were greeted with a personalized mini-chocolate cake and a note from the General Manager. Later during our stay, front desk manager Aziz Yasin made sure to take good care of us as well. From the valet to the housekeeping staff and even management, we were given the VIP treatment and celebrated my daughter's special birthday in style!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cashceecee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We are delighted to hear she enjoyed her birthday! Many thanks for your warm compliments and especially for recognizing members of our team for their hard work. We are honored you chose to celebrate here with us at Mandarin Oriental Atlanta and hope to be able to share in your next special occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have travelled to Atlanta many times and I have always stayed at the St. Regis.I thought I would try The Mandarin for a change after reading the high marks. Having now stayed at both, I feel it is an apples to apples comparison. They are both really top notch high-end hotels. It just depends on the style you are looking for.
The Mandarin is sleek. The design is clean lines, black and white décor with a slight Asian flair and modern art . It would fit beautifully in NYC, Tokyo or Beijing. The room was spacious. The toiletries were generous and high end. The restaurant had a lovely breakfast.
The St. Regis is oozing Southern charm. You will envision Scarlett O'Hara walking down the grand staircase in the lobby. The décor is luxe and very feminine with lots of extra touches on every pillow and drape. The toiletries are also high end and the restaurant is very good.
While I prefer the décor of the St. Regis if you are new to the American South, I will say that the Mandarin has a slight edge due to its walking distance to the great shopping and restaurants. I have also had some customer service issues at St. Regis which drop it down a few points.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popartpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your gracious compliments. We are driven by our mission to completely delight and satisft our guests. It is a commitment we strive for daily and your kind words are our fuel. With much graditute we hope to be able to provide you a luxurious experience here at Mandarin Oriental Atlanta soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I was glad to have stayed at this newer MO in Atlanta. I felt very secure in the room and the staff were friendly and helpful. However, it lacks the polish and elegance of the other MO properties. Furthermore, this hotel also appears much smaller; it does not have wow factor upon entrance. But give it time and this property will flourish.

Valet quickly took my keys and bags were promptly sent up to my room. The linens were crisp and room fresh. However, the large round table in middle of the room was out of place as was the oddly mounted television in the bathroom.

Toiletry was by Shanghai Tang and the room was very clean. Room service was prompt and service in the restaurant quite good.

Aforementioned, the manager on duty was quite new and was not well informed of the benefits and amenities of my room package. This was minor hiccup and I will definitely return on my next Atlanta business trip. MO Atlanta has very easy access to highway 85 and 285, and business amenities including internet was prompt and easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panam747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for choosing Mandarin Oriental Atlanta on your recent business trip. I enjoyed reading your review, thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope that whether it is business or leisure, we will have the pleasure of having you at Mandarin Oriental Atlanta. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great hotel. The front desk staff was really nice. The bed was fantastic and the room was wonderful, best sleep in a hotel that I can remember.
One huge complaint, I came down for breakfast at 805 asked for a table for 3, I did not get seated till 820, by 830 I still had not seen a waiter, The hostess, did tell me twice that your server will be with you in a minute. No service. I left after waiting for a total of 30 minutes no food/coffee or water. My travel companions stayed. For me, as a business traveler, breakfast, is important, but I cannot wait 30 minutes for a bowl of cereal, I do not have the time.
Silly but that was huge for me.
Otherwise, fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I truly appreciate your comments; thank you for providing details of your experience. It was to much disapointment to read of your circumstances at breakfast. As always, the team and I are thankful for your thoughts and are working hard to assure this will not occur again. We sincerely apoligize for falling short on our commitment to completely delight and satisfy you as well as any inconvenience you experienced. We hope to have the opportunity to warmly welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

it is hard to review this fabulous hotel because from the doorman up it is 6 star all the way. We had just come from staying in down town Atlanta and what a breath of fresh air this hotel was. The room we were given was spacious and well appointed, great sized bathroom and very comfy beds as well as great amenities.

Nothing was a problem they were all so friendly could not do enough for us. The manager of the Bar Lauren made the best peach martini's I have ever had and what a great person. We loved being at the bar and chatting to her as she handled her very busy position with aplomb!

I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for 5 star hotel that really delivers the goods. Another great asset it is across the road from Lennox Mall and another one just up the road. Bruce our driver was there to transport usto dinner and a quick phone call saw him pick up again friendly, professional and happy to look after us and always like the rest of the staff and management always with a smile on their face. It made our last days in Atlanta the reason that we would definitely go back to this hotel and Atlanta without question.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or a room on a high floor this goes for all hotels .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharynHobartTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
You can't imagine how delighted I am to read your review. Thank you kindly for your compliments and especially for acknowledging some of our great staff members. It is delightful to hear their hard work appreciated. Many thanks for the time you took to write the review and the thoughtfulness behind your words. We are excited to have you back at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
The St. Regis Atlanta
The St. Regis Atlanta
#5 of 173 in Atlanta
872 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#2 of 173 in Atlanta
2,109 reviews
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Address: 3376 Peachtree Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an iconic building designed by celebrated American architect Robert A.M. Stern, Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta soars 42 stories above the Atlanta skyline and offers sophisticated, residential elegance in its 127 spacious rooms and suites. The intimate hotel features a blissful 15,000-square foot spa, indoor lap pool, fitness center, extensive meeting and event space, The Cafe & Bar for exquisite dining and Taipan, serving specialty cocktails. The sought-after Buckhead location is steps away from the region's top dining, chic designer boutiques and cultural attractions. The hotel is 35 minutes from Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and 10 minutes from the DeKalb-Peachtree Airport, which accommodates private aircraft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing