We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Ranked #3 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 November 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this location in/on November 25th - 26th. My wife and I needed a quick get-a-way before spending time with family on Thanksgiving. I give this location an "average" review because of the problems I encountered. First, I arrive at The Madison in my SUV with my wife. The valet person was not as friendly as the person who arrived in a luxury automobile. He was hard to understand and held his hand out for a tip after assisting me (something I never experienced before). Check-in went smooth with Whitney. She is very friendly and had my reservation and everything down correctly. My wife and I were celebrating a anniversary, but this was never brought up with any staff member to make us feel special. We get to our room - Superior King on the 7th floor - #710. As we entered the room, there were stains on the carpet and the A/C made a sqeek whenever it kicked on. We called Maintenance (twice) and he finally showed. He attempted to fix it and say it was fixed when it wasn't. Keith offered to change our room. I called the front desk to change rooms and Megan gave us a complimentary upgrade to a Premier Room - #712. It was a nice upgrade and had nice features, but it wasn't enough (in my opinion). The rest of the time was pleasant. We took the house car (Lexus 600H Hybrid) - complimentary in a 2-mile radius. The driver, Patrick, was really friendly. Breakfast was bland, excpet for the breakfast potatoes. Do not order the scrambled eggs - they have no taste. I really wouldn't stay here again until there were some vast improvements done. The hotel is in a great location in Buckhead and the pool was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2009

Having arrived from the knightmare of Atlanta International airport, this Hotel was excellent. Requests on room had been done, people were friendly. Its rare one can actually relax and trust in service. Well done!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellersblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duddydarb, Managing Director at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Dear Travellersblues,

Glad you were able to enjoy and relax at The Mansion! Come back often and don't forget about the fabulous spa for relaxation. Thank you for reviewing us.

Sincerely,
Luigi Romaniello, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We stayed for three nights at the Mansion. The rooms are beautiful and the hotel is similarly beautiful. Perhaps because room rates in Atlanta are reasonable, I found the cost of the room to be very good value. Buckhead does not have much to do except for shopping. That worked for my wife as the shopping options were excellent. I would be very pleased to have the opportunity to stay again at the Mansion and would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian-Beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duddydarb, Managing Director at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Dear Canadian-Beagle,

So glad to hear from our Canadian neighbors that you enjoyed your stay at The Mansion. We will definitely look forward to having you and your wife return and thank you very much for your compliments of our hotel. It is a pleasure to have you with us.

Sincerely,
Luigi Romaniello, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This hotel is amazing! The location can not be beat; the restaurants can't be beat - CRAFT is across the driveway and the service is impressive. We were amazed by the size of our room; the hidden television in the picture screen and the staff's willingness to make our trip memorable. Although I'm not a big Atlanta fan; I may have to change my tune if I want to stay at the Mansion!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duddydarb, Managing Director at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Dear Chicago-Spy,

Read your great review of The Mansion and we're counting on you to come back again soon! Thank you for all the compliments and positive feedback. I enjoy reading each and ever review and particularly appreciate the ones that are as kind as your's .

Best wishes for a wonderful 2010.

Sincerely,
Luigi Romaniello, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Wow this is the place to stay in Buckhead! My sister and i have stayed at all the fabulous hotels in town thru the years and this is hands down our favorite! We will be staying at this wonderful boutique hotel again next week and i will let you know if the second time was even better!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssb2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duddydarb, Managing Director at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Dear Guest from Knoxville,

Really enjoyed your feedback and especially knowing that you would be returning again soon. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company many times in 2010. Please let me know if there is anything we can do to enhance your future stays and thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Luigi Romaniello, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

We booked this hotel for our anniversary. Simply put, the hotel delivers what it promises. It met our expectations, for this special weekend. The room was extremely comfortable, high-tech and clean. The staff was efficient and greeted us by name each time. They also surprised us with an anniversary desert in our room, upon returning from shopping. Breakfast at Neo was delicious, and Craft Bar was top notch.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gincog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duddydarb, Managing Director at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Dear gincog,

Just finished reading your review of The Mansion and wanted to take time to thank you for your input and compliments. I read every review and share them with the staff each week at our staff meeting. We appreciate your support and will look forward to having you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Luigi Romaniello, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Stayed at the Mansion for two nights the weekend of Oct 16-18. We travel frequently and stay in only luxury hotels and found that our experience exceeded our expectations. We had stayed at the new St Regis just a month prior, also a beautiful hotel with gorgeous rooms. But, found the Mansion to have a warmer, less formal feel. The staff at the Mansion was professional yet very warm and friendly. The rooms were beautiful, well appointed, muted tones with splashes of color, very comfortable beds, high quality linens and featherbed. The flat screen tv posed as a painting , the Bose radio, the wood finishes were beautiful. The bathrooms were large, had a mixture of limestone and dark marble, a separate shower, quality fixtures, sconces, all very luxurious. Even the hotel hallways were gracious done in tones of gray and cream. We had breakfast at Neo both mornings. The restaurant is beautiful, the staff inviting and wait staff helpful and friendly. However, the food was not good; even the fruit on the fruit plate was not fresh. The presentation of the food bespoke a prep chef in the kitchen was trained at the local diner. That would be the weak link in this review although there are many great restaurants in the Buckhead area. (We had lunch at Craftbar on another visit, that was excellent.) All in all, we would definitely return to this hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianorlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duddydarb, Managing Director at Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

Dear Pianorlh,

Your indepth review of The Mansion was a genuine pleasure to read. I do, however, want to sincerely apologize for the issues you had with the breakfast in NEO and assure you that this was an isolated situation. Please try NEO again when you return and let us know if you do not find an improvement.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we will look forward to your return very soon.

Sincerely,

Luigi Romaniello, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 172 in Atlanta
2,220 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
The St. Regis Atlanta
The St. Regis Atlanta
#5 of 172 in Atlanta
903 reviews
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta

Address: 3376 Peachtree Rd, Atlanta, GA 30326-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £296 - £540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an iconic building designed by celebrated American architect Robert A.M. Stern, Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta soars 42 stories above the Atlanta skyline and offers sophisticated, residential elegance in its 127 spacious rooms and suites. The intimate hotel features a blissful 15,000-square foot spa, indoor lap pool, fitness center, extensive meeting and event space, The Cafe & Bar for exquisite dining and Taipan, serving specialty cocktails. The sought-after Buckhead location is steps away from the region's top dining, chic designer boutiques and cultural attractions. The hotel is 35 minutes from Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and 10 minutes from the DeKalb-Peachtree Airport, which accommodates private aircraft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing