We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great history”

Ebenezer Baptist Church of Atlanta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.99*
and up
Atlanta City Tour by Electric Car
Ranked #11 of 286 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This sanctuary became a spiritual haven for civil rights activists when Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. served as senior pastor in the 1960s. On the self-guided audio tour, King's inspirational sermons will take visitors back in time, while the new Horizon Sanctuary across the street is home to the present day congregation, highlighted by its traditional tabernacle choir.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you are going to the MLK museum, then you have to make time to walk through the church. I'd consider them to go hand-in-hand and not two separate attractions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank brettlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    139
    30
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was where Dr Martin Luther KIng and his father before him preached. It was good to see inside this church and imagine all the history that took place here. I really liked it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank freya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Piece of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

It's a nice piece of history that can be toured rather quickly. It is beautiful & well maintained.

There are many items to purchase during your visit. The staff is very informed & accommodating. You can also stay awhile & hear the voice of MLK Jr.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VLCarter155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My first time to Atlanta, the church was closed due to renovations; however, the second visit I was able to take a tour and I was so fulfilled with joy and I learned historically facts that I had not known prior to my trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lavonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It is a nice place of worship, I never disliked any thing here. The members were very homely and friendly. Were always available to assist when needed. I did enjoy my visit and will come back again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nu95edo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ebenezer Baptist Church of Atlanta also viewed

 

Been to Ebenezer Baptist Church of Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing