We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Historic Hotel--Upgraded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Milledgeville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific Historic Hotel--Upgraded”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Georgian Hotel after seeing Prairie Home Companion at the Fox Theater. We were in a renovated room which was spacious and clean. The room had a king-sized bed and three closets. One closet was a huge walk-in. The bed was comfortable and the room had a good view of the Atlanta lights. We enjoy historic hotels, and this one met our expectations. It is very convenient to the Fabulous Fox Theater (right across the street) and within walking distance of dozens of restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolHopperBader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review of the Georgian Terrace! Your thorough compliments and detailed comments on the condition of the property give other readers a great visual for imagining what a stay would be like here. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time you travel to Atlanta, and thank you again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    452
    214
    137
    126
See reviews for
370
461
87
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
270 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This historic hotel (The cast of Gone with the Wind stayed here) is a delightful place to stay. Very friendly staff and easy valet parking. It is directly across from the fabulous FOX theater so if you come to Atlanta to see a show there, this is the place to stay!
Our room was huge, way bigger than we needed with a very comfortable bed. It had a full kitchen with a dishwasher, full size refrigerator with ice maker, and stove, and lots of cabinets. It even had a washer and dryer, so I assumed that long term stays here might be common for business travelers or people in transition for a move to the Atlanta area. We dined in the Livingston restaurant and we rated the food good, but not great, but the good service made up for it. They have a good bar with good drinks, and a nice outdoor patio right on W. Peachtree street. It's fun to sit with a cocktail and watch the traffic on this busy street. We would stay here again especially for its prime location. Very close to Georgia Tech and city center, Buckhead, etc. Great place for weddings and celebrations too. All the marble finishes were amazing.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the busy street of W. Peachtree. Our room was to the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We really appreciate your nice review of the Georgian Terrace! Your thorough compliments and detailed comments on the condition of the property give other readers a great visual for imagining what a stay would be like here. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time you travel to Atlanta, and thank you again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Georgian Terrace Hotel (5/13-5/19). The staff is great, our room was large and comfortable and the location is perfect. The hotel has an old southern charm about it which only adds to the ambiance. We really enjoyed our week's stay there and would definitely return when we visit Atlanta in the future.

Room Tip: May be quieter in the mid-section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind Trip Advisor review. Our team here at the Georgian Terrace works hard to keep guests like you happy. I'll definitely pass along your compliments and we look forward to your next stay with us when you return to Atlanta. Thank you again very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had a group from the Netherlands stay at this hotel in May 2014. The staff was great to work with and everything was handled as I had instructed.
All the guests in my group really loved the hotel and the personal service.
The group leader had trouble using his cell phone in the states so George Lewis would communicate back and forth between me and him. This was extremely helpful.
I will not hesitate to use this hotel for future groups.
Virginia Bross - Incentive Travel and Meetings - Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words about George and our staff. We are very proud of George and can confidently say that he is one of the best Convention Services Managers the city has to offer. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Georgian Terrace is a charming regal beauty. My granddaughter loves Eloise and considers this hotel her 'Eloise hotel'. It is convenient to everything in the heart of Atlanta. The rooms are generous,the elevators are a good speed considering the 18 floor span they travel,the service is excellent and speedy when needed. The rooms are various sizes from one bedroom to three bedroom suites not to mention multiple penthouse styles.The whole experience is wonderful I see why so many brides have chosen it. We have stayed several times now and am happy to say it feels more like a second home than a hotel. Everyone agrees its a wonderful experience, they do everything they can for you to enjoy and if for some reason you can't seem to,work it out in the gym or take a dip in the rooftop pool. The views are beautiful up there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise and are closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamsmith2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Georgian Terrace. We are so appreciative of feedback from our guests, and most especially when it is so positive! We're glad you found our property memorable. We really are a great value proposition with the additional benefit of having more space. We look forward to welcoming you back again on future visits to Atlanta, and again, many thanks for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I'm staying at the Georgian Terrace right now. This is the smallest room I have ever stayed in and I have traveled the world - way smaller then your average NYC hotel room. The room is so gross - cigarette burn on the bathroom vanity; the blinds on the window are splattered with God only know what; the hair dryer (that would normally be attached to the wall) is sitting under the sink complete with the wall attachment so that when I plug it in I have to navigate around the dryer cradle that dangles from the cord; there is long back hair EVERYWHERE (the bathroom, in-between the sheets), all the furniture is stained....I could go on.

To add insult to injury, the front desk rang my room at 7:15am this morning to tell me that they needed to run my credit card again for the parking. I guess the letter they shoved under my door during the night wasn't enough for this overzealous clerk. When I went down this morning to sort it out, I mentioned the very early morning call - the front desk guy said: "I don't know who did that; we just started our shift." - No apology, nothing.

Normally, I would ask to be moved to another room, but I'm here on work and simply do not have the time to pack and unpack again. This is the third time that I've stayed here and it will certainly be the last.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mefranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We rely heavily on feedback for improvement from our guests like you, in order to aggressively work at cultivating a more positive experience for our visitors. We apologize for any inconvenience you suffered and will use your comments to address all the issues you highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel must be the best in the city, from the staff at check in, the lay out and cleanliness of the room to housekeeping. We arrived Friday and as my husband was dealing with the luggage and car I checked in. Not only was it quick but the woman behind the desk that we were members of a club and that would mean we could have a late check out if we wanted it, I accepted and got a 2 PM Sunday check out!!. The suite was lovely, a large comfy living room, clean and well appointed bath room and bedroom that couldn't be beat (only wish there had been a paddle fan). We spent two wonderful nights there and I can hardly wait to go back

PS: Try the breakfast with room service.......

Room Tip: Higher floor means less street noise and great view of the skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcobb31408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We really appreciate your great feedback. At the Georgian Terrace we strive to make sure that every guest has a pleasant, comfortable amd memorable experience. Your thorough compliments and detailed comments on the condition of the property give other readers a great visual for imagining what a stay would be like here. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time you travel to Atlanta, and thank you again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#15 of 174 in Atlanta
1,664 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 174 in Atlanta
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Property: The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Address: 659 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30308-1928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing