We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Ranked #27 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place needs a makeover. It has a lot going for it, like location, history, a great gym, easy and quick self parking, and really pleasant staff. Tips: ask for a renovated room. They are smaller but nicer. I was there for a long term stay; my room was a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen. Everything needed updating: the musty furniture, the bathtub wan't usable, the bathroom fan squealed like a witch when in use, all of the windows are sealed shut, so cooking and fresh air are out of the question. The curtains didn't close all of the way. Some of the blinds were missing, making sleep difficult. The carpet was crispy. There are no movies on demand, let alone HD TV. Nice bartenders downstairs at the Livingston, the restaurant, but ho-hum food. Stood in line a few times at Mims for a Starbucks, but I didn't want to wait 15 minutes for a latte so I left both times without getting a coffee. I will not be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeleeleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Mark W, General Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear eeleeleel,

First of all, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We know you have many choices when traveling, and we genuinely appreciate your patronage. After reading your comments, I am sorry that our hotel did not live up to your expectations - but I did want to address your comments and observations. In reference to your comments about a make-over, we are about to begin a renovation of the remaining rooms to bring our facilites up to the standards you would expect from a hotel such as ours. We have also launched a new lunch and dinner menu in our restaurant which I am sure will please everyone.

Again, I am sorry that our facilites did not meet your expectations, but I am sure if you give us another try, we can exceed them!!


Warmest regards,

J. Mark Williams
General Manager
mwilliams@thegeorgianterrace.com
404-898-8326
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    436
    208
    136
    125
See reviews for
357
450
85
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have mixed feelings about this place. It's old and in need of some TLC, that's for sure. This was a work trip and I booked whatever room the corporate travel site had available. I ended up in a 2-bedroom unit with a full kitchen, one bathroom with a combo tub/shower, a small bedroom with no closet and a 'master' bedroom with a giant walk-in closet that also contained a washer and dryer.

Beds are raised to the point where my 5'3" frame couldn't sit on the edge of the bed. I literally had to hop into bed each night. Not a fan. There were several light switches I was never able to figure out what they controlled, and I had to move the clock to the window so I could see it.

The refrigerator wouldn't stop running, so everything I put into it froze. The kitchen has no supplies (no pots/pans/cups/dishes/flatware). The thermostat had broken levers, so you couldn't really tell what the settings were. Also unfortunate is the choice of mini-blinds on all the windows with no drapes .. not even sheers .. to pull across. It's surprising how annoying the inability to control light can be.

In room literature stated that Cafe Mims (downstairs) was open until 8pm, but when I went down to grab a quick bite I found out they close at 4pm. When I asked a staffer for a recommendation for a sandwich shop, he didn't seem to understand what I was asking and referred me to the on-site restaurant. I ended up using Yelp to find a Quiznos a block away.

I also asked where the closest place was to buy some soda/snacks, and I was given really vague directions to a CVS that was (allegedly) just a few blocks away. I got about 2-blocks away when I spotted a food mart / gas station and just popped in there.

I don't love the location. I'll be honest, I'm not going to go for any evening walks as I have in Buckhead or even around the Marriott Suites on 14th. On the up-side .. self parking is a breeze.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindazilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and suggestions with our team here at the Georgian Terrace. Because we are a historic property, we rely heavily on guests like you to help us determine the improvements we'll be making to the property during renovation periods. We have undergone a few so far, and will continue with improvements in various spaces in the future. That said, we are definitely always working to better the amenities and cultivate a more positive experience for our visitors. The suggested adjustments have been noted and added to our renovations.
We hope that you'll be willing to come back for another visit, and see that your recommendations have been applied! Thank you again; we would love to see you for a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our stay at the Georgian Terrace Hotel was great. The staff is OUTSTANDING! The hotel was overbooked and our room was not available. They gave us an upgraded room, from a single queen, to a suite at no extra charge. The staff is incredibly helpful and always ready to serve. They made my wife's and I vacation great. We even extended our stay an extra day. The rooms are clean and roomy. Their staff are the best! Whenever we are staying in Atlanta it will be at the Georgian Terrace.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words you have for our staff. We are very proud of the men and women who strive to make the Georgian Terrace a great experience for our guests. We can confidently say we have some of the best trained employees in the industry. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOGANVILLE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I love hotels with history, the Georgian Terrace has been a fixture in Atlanta since 1911 and the grand ballroom hosted the world premier reception for Gone With the Wind. It's a stately, classy hotel and the service is great.

Directly across the street from the Fabulous Fox Theater makes it a great place to stay when you want to catch a good show.

Don't miss having dinner or breakfast in the gorgeous Livingston Restaurant. It has a beautiful chandelier, marble columns, and a great terrace for those who like to bask in the sun while they eat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are honored to have you as our guest and glad that you enjoyed the uniqueness and historical richness of our property. It is the goal of our professional and friendly staff to ensure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rico, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Georgian Terrace twice while in Atlanta on either end of a wedding in North Carolina. What strikes you first is how beautiful this historic building is. Second, they make you feel very welcome and apprciated. Both stays, the room was very clean and comfortable. Room service is reasonably priced for a deluxe hotel and the quality of the food was absolutely excellent. They add a 22%tip and then add another line on the bill for an additional tip which the server then tried to guilt me into adding which I was not too happy about, but I already mentioned this to the hotel in their exit survey. Parking is expensive at $25 per night, but very convenient, covered, and with unlimited in/out priveleges and right next to hotel. Location is wonderful as you can walk to many restaurants and Piedmont Park is about a 15 minute walk. There is a rooftop view deck with a large swimming pool we enjoyed that very much. Highly recommend this place if you want to be in midtown Atlanta.

Room Tip: Ask if they have their special for a one bedroom suite. We got one for only $143 per night and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easterbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We really appreciate your nice review of the Georgian Terrace! Your thorough compliments and detailed comments on the condition of the property give other readers a great visual for imagining what a stay would be like here. I apologize that you found our parking rates high but they are comparable to other hotels in the area. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time you travel to Atlanta, and thank you again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My recent stay was for a quick one night business trip-- and I definitely plan on returning to enjoy this property even more!!

The team at the Georgian Terrace are some of the friendliest and most welcoming people I have encountered! From the time I arrived I was blanketed with true southern hospitality - please pass on my thanks to the team who made me feel at home during my stay. Lorne checked us in at the front desk and was so nice--everyone at the bellstand, Nate and Stefan at P&P, the MIMS Baristas, our server in Livingstons.. all were outstanding! I wish I could remember all their names --

The guest rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. There are so many different types of rooms it is easy to select one that will be the best layout for your stay whether you are traveling on business, traveling with family or there for a wedding and utilize the gorgeous bridal suite!

The rooftop pool is a nice touch-- although I was there in the middle of a summer thunderstorm and didn't get to use it, I definitely went up there for a photo-op.

I am still craving the delicious caramelized onion, mushroom and swiss omelet in Livingstons -- highly recommend it!

Stay at the Georgian Terrace-- you will love it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Mark W, General Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear MrsFallis,

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us here at The Georgian Terrace Hotel - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make every guest experience memorable and special, and from your comments, it looks as though we did!! I will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff. Feedback - both positive and constructive - is crucial to our never ending drive for perfection.

Again - thank you for the kind words, and thank you for staying with us. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta.


Warmest regards,

J. Mark Williams
General Manager
404-898-8326
mwilliams@thegeorgianterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzgerald, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Daughters Wedding Event occurred at the Ga Terrace. The event was moved along well. The accomodations for bridesmaid activities were wonderful. Rooms for all the quests were nice and roomy. All family and relatives felt they were treated well . The only complaint is the food for the sit down wedding reception . The food was a little overcooked--My vegetable carrots were burnt and un edible. Overall a Great venue for anyone

Room Tip: Rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Mark W, General Manager at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Judy H,

I wanted to take a moment and thank you for choosing The Georgian Terrace Hotel for your daughter's wedding - we are very happy that the events and activities were enjoyed by all!! We strive to make every guest experience - particularly one of the most important days in anyone's life - special and memorable. I did see that you stated your meal at the event did not meet with your expectations - and I sincerely apologize for that. I am hoping that you can offer some more specifics that I can share with our culinary team to ensure they address those issues to prevent them from happening again - because we strive for perfection.

Again - thank you so much for the opportunity to host your daughter's very special day, and we do hope that you will recommend, as well as visit us the next time you are in Atlanta.


Sincerely,

J. Mark Williams
General Manager
404-898-8326
mwilliams@thegeorgianterrace.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
1,606 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 172 in Atlanta
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Property: The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Address: 659 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30308-1928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing