We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tease...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Ranked #26 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Winder, Georgia
1 review
“A tease...”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I booked this hotel as an Anniversary/Christmas gift for my boyfriend because of the band playing at the Fox Theatre. The location of this hotel is perfect and when you walk in the doors it looks beautiful and elegant. This is where most of the positive ended.

We waited in line for an hour just to check in. The front desk staff's customer service is okay, not rude but not helpful. When we got to the room, we were shocked, the lobby is georgous but the rooms look like you're staying in a different hotel. The room smelled of smoke, even worse when the shower was turned on. Upon calling the front desk about the smoke smell, the only option was to have someone come spray the room, suggesting moving rooms was never offered. I had requested a city view since this was a special night and the view was a stone wall. Huge disappointment. Room Service also ends at 11pm. And lastly, when checking out the valet would not allow guests to wait for their cars to warm up for a minute before getting in (it was below 30 degrees).

Some positive things was there there was a very friendly housekeeping staff and the head bellman was very friendly and funny. Overall, I will not book this hotel again despite the location.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifekristenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Diector of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2010
Thank you for your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during check in. The delay for check in on that day was a result of the late check out by the guests who had stayed over to celebrate New Years. Be assured that under normal circumstances, an average check in is about 3 minutes. Also due to our capacity at that time we were unable to relocate you to a diffrent room and honour your request for a city view. Should you grant our request for a second stay with us, I am confident that you will not be disappointed as we will meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    452
    214
    137
    126
See reviews for
370
461
87
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

You can't beat this hotel for price and location. It was great walking out of the restaurant straight across the street into the Fox Theatre. The restaurant was fabulous, besides typical food, they also had game on the menu. We had rabbit and pheasant and both were delicious. The rooms are huge. A one bedroom has a kitchen (although no utensils are provided), living room, office, and laundry . The property is dated. The furniture was stained, the appliances old. However, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdtravels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Thank you. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

The experience from our stay at the Georgian Terrace can be summed up in one word. "Perfect". From the second we pulled up to the hotel, the valet opened our doors and the bellhop began unloading our luggage once we made it clear we were checking in. The hotel was beautiful, the staff overly willing to help and lend a hand or answer any questions. We were in the standard room, which is the smallest room they offer. I believe it is around 200 sq ft. I was a little concerned until we walked in the room. It was quaint and cozy. The bed was amazing even for being a double bed. The view fantastic. The open Terrace to the outside made it awesome. The room was spotless. I could not have spent a better $60 (thank you priceline)! While we were walking out of the hotel, we did make small talk with one of the housekeepers who allowed us to walk in one of the two bedroom suites she was cleaning...another wow! The suites are huge! Literally, I would live at this hotel if I ever moved back to Atlanta. The pool on the roof offers outstanding views of midtown and downtown, even though the weather was too cold for a swim. All in all I must say....well done Georgian Terrace.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidludwig2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Thank you. We highly appreciate your feedback.As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed here one night (11-28-09), chose a two bedroom deluxe via Expedia and paid ~$138 inclusive. There were four of us two adults, and two kids (8, 10). We stayed the night of a GT football game so it was busy. They upgraded us to a two bedroom suite (didn't ask why, just said Ok!) and it was in the back corner on the 11th floor (#1106)...nice room...had a kitchen, small dining table, living room, large bathroom with bath/shower and two separate bedrooms. We loved it. The staff was nice and the hotel is a class act in a great location. We decided to park on the street behind the hotel because valet is ~ $23...it worked out well for us but take your own risks in the city...
We will be back here, we liked it alot.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director Of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2009
Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Very beautiful hotel and the hotel restaurant was superb!

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rhythmofself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director Of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2009
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Had a terrible experience here!!! NIce architecture, beautiful building. ... NO HOT WATER!!! Got 10 minutes of hot water and that was it. Even the Motel 6 has hot water. Called the front desk and was told that they have small water heaters and we would have to wait for it to reheat or transfer to another room. THEY DOWNGRADED US to a smaller room which had hot water for the same price. Later was told by a racist staff member "Curtis" to get my white [--] in my room!!! Was just outside my room looking out over the balcony after getting home from the bar. The staff member seemed to be trying to round up some high schoolers that were having a graduation party, but his comments and attitude were COMPLETELY UNCALLED FOR!! While these are my only two complaints in the 3 nights I stayed here, they are more than enough reason for me to NEVER COME BACK!! And discourage anyone from coming here in the future. Hot water is to be expected at any hotel, and racism has no place anywhere!!!!!!!! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliverandcomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgianTerraceRep, Director Of Guest Services at The Georgian Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2009
The hotel aims to consistently deliver professional service to our customers and I would like to state that on this occasion the level you received was unacceptable and your feedback will be invaluable towards improving our level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zebulon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2009

My Granddaughter & I stayed for a weekend. Took 40 minutes for our luggage to arrive in room & we finally had to ask where it was. Room service tray from Fri nite still outside door when we left Sun noon. On Sun., we called for help with our luggage; after 42 minutesof waiting, we called back. Asked if they were very busy, was told no and someone would be right up. 20 min. later, we left carrying our own luggage down stairs as elevator was not working. Took 2 phone calls AFTER 2 in-person requests to get my Sr. discount . Next year we're staying at the Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,663 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#2 of 173 in Atlanta
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Terrace Hotel

Property: The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Address: 659 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30308-1928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgian Terrace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Midtown icon, The Georgian Terrace Hotel is located in the heart of Atlanta's business and cultural district, across from the Fox Theatre. The hotel delivers a brand of service rarely found - southern hospitality at its finest. When you stay with us - you are home. We're set to please with everything from big modern suites to versatile event and meeting spaces. Our business facilities are state of the art. We offer a world-class conference center, an impressive boardroom, classic ballrooms and secure, onsite parking. Just off our lobby, Livingston Restaurant + Bar serves award-winning American cuisine. Reserve one of our 326 rooms or suites today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Georgian Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Georgian Terrace
Georgian Terrace Atlanta Ga
Georgian Terrace Hotel
Georgia Terrace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing