We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and decent value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #130 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
white plains, United States
1 review
“Good location and decent value.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at the this hotel for a conference. It was a good location to be kinda close to the Georgia World Conference center and close to a train stop and access to the air port. Staff was very friendly. The place is a bit old and it shows, but it was sufficient and a good price. The room was clean, but it could have been a little cleaner. Some glass shelves in the bathroom hadn't been dusted in quite some time. The plumbing in the tub wasn't working great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our great downtown location to enjoy all that the local area has to offer. I do apologize for issues you encountered during your stay. I have sent the housekeeping team to address. I hope you will join us again on your next stay to Atlanta!

Thank you,
April Aleshire-Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    386
    400
    307
    181
See reviews for
331
251
76
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Your hotel needs updating. The tub facet leaked. I had to turn the tub controls to fully hot, just to get a warm shower. It took a full 3 minutes for the water to get warm. The quality of the wall painting looks like the very low bidder got the job, a bit sloppy. The hallways are below average for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to see that your experience was less than desirable but happy to see that our team was able to assist as much as possible. The property is 50+ years old and currently undergoing our last week of renovations in the public spaces. The guest room renovations are planned for later this year. We look forward to showing our newly renovated hotel soon!

April Aleshire-Mosley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The room was overpriced (I had a view of a brick wall), yet clean and comfortable. The best thing about the DoubleTree downtown Atlanta were the staff. Every one was professional, friendly and helpful. Also, it's one of the only hotels downtown that doesn't have a shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay and the kind words about the hotel staff. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our great downtown location to enjoy all that the local area has to offer. We do not offer shuttle service, but do work with several companies in the area that do provide airport transportation. We look forward to your return!!

Thank you,
April Aleshire-Mosley
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Upon entry you can hear the hotel was going through a cosmetic makeover in the lobby and restaurant area. It was quite loud inside. I wasn't greeted upon entry but walked up to the front desk and was greeted and he was polite and professional. Upon entry to the room you could tell that they need to repaint as several areas were peeling. The room appeared to not have been used in a while and was dusty, especially in the bathroom. We were only staying overnight so I wiped things down myself. We were there on business and shortly after my arrival, we had to attend a meeting and left only to return very late in the evening. The bed was very comfortable and we were able go to sleep quickly only to be jolted awake early the next morning by the housekeeping staff person beating on our door. My husband finally got up and answered the door, and the housekeeper stated "I just was seeing if ya'll were still here". Are you kidding me? Isn't checkout time noon? Wow! We went ahead and got up (not that we were awake!) and got ready for checkout. An hour or so later, we called for a bellhop to bring up a cart for luggage and waited more than 30 minutes and no one came. I called again and this time they came up in about 5 minutes or so. It's in a great location but I'm with some of the other reviewers and will consider staying at the Westin or Omni.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALtraveler334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. I do apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. I have passed the information along to our housekeeping team for review. I hope you will let me know next time you are in the Atlanta area.
Thank you,
April Aleshire-Mosley
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed for four nights to attend a conference. Well-priced for its location, but hotel really needs to be freshened. Bathroom could use a total do-over: no drain cover in sink, discolored tub, poor lighting, just sorta shabby. Bed was comfortable with comfortable pillows and covers. Buffet that came with HHonors status was quite good. Omelets made to order and good variety of other choices. Two breakfast rooms, but only one with natural light, so the other one is fairly dreary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. As an HHonors Member, we value your loyalty. We are finaling our public space renovations now and plans are to update the rooms later this year. We look forward to your return visit to Atlanta.

Thank you,
April Aleshire-Mosley
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

During my stay, the hotel was going through a cosmetic makeover in the lobby and resturant/bar. Front desk star was polite and professional. The end result is crisp and modern feel to revitalize an older property. The suites are spacious and comfortable. The resturant serves typical bar food at a resaonable price.

The cleaning staff is aggressive in their goal complete daily work, however I bothered by their knocking on the door at 8:15 each morning. The front desk also ran out of cookies each day by 6 PM.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliofva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. I do apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. I have passed the information along to our housekeeping team for review. I hope you will let me know next time you are in the Atlanta area.
Thank you,
April Aleshire-Mosley
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I frequent the Atlanta area with my wife and have stayed at many downtown and other nice hotels in Atlanta. I chose this one based off its location and supposedly niceness of it. Upon arriving i was met by a valet driver whom was average in his greeting and taking of my vehicle. I then stepped inside to the Hilton and was not greeted or welcomed. I walked over to the night clerk who lets just say seemed more like a security guard then a front desk person. He checked us in and grabbed some cookies from a shady corner behind the desk area. He gave us some lame directions to the elevator that we found no thanks to him. Upon getting into our room I immediately could tell this was not a very nice room. It felt like a renovated old building with some "fancy" furniture. The bathroom was dirty there was "pubic hair" on the toilet, I found that kinda nasty so did my wife. The sink drain did not drain properly. I had to take the broken stopper out of it so it would drain. The shower drain stopper was also broken. The paint job inside the bathroom was very crappie done. Paint splatter was found all over the side wood shelving. The glasses in the bathroom had defiantly been wiped down instead of actually cleaned in a sanitary conditions. You can easily tell this by the rubbed smudges left in the glass. We soon went to bed to find that the tv signal strength for many channels was weak but who cares we weren't staying there for the tv. I was awoken iin the morning by the construction on the street, the front lobbey, noisy guest in the hallway, and the absolute worst maids i have ever come across. They were loud and came into our room almost. The only thing that stopped them was the chain on the door. To say i was pissed off would be an understatement. We checked out soon after all this. I would never stay here again! The valet parking and the rooms are overpriced. If you want your best value and better service and nicer everything, do yourself a favor stay at the Westin across the street. I stayed there back in December and regret not going back. I am not paid or endorsed by the Westin. You truly would be better staying anywhere but here!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgmt_Team, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to see your experience was not a positive one. If you would like to further discuss the details of your stay please feel free to contact me.

Thanks Again,
April Aleshire-Mosley
Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#43 of 174 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Address: 160 Spring St, Atlanta, GA 30303-2030 (Formerly Atlanta Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exciting downtown Atlanta at the stylish DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown. Walk to many downtown attractions such as Georgia Aquarium, Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Dome and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Wyndham Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing