We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's to complain about?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead
Ranked #28 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2009

I spent 2 nights at the JW Marriott Buckhead and was very pleased. I received a very reasonable corporate rate. The king room was spacious. The bed was wonderful. The room was very clean and I loved having a separate tub/shower in the bathroom. I would agree with the previous reviewer that the lighting was a little darker that I would have liked in the bathroom, but not enough to complain about. The concierge lounge was well-stocked with juices, soft drinks, and water, and the appetizers available in the evening would certainly have been enough for a light dinner if I had so desired. The breakfast choices in the concierge were great; eggs, sausage, bagels and pastries, lots of fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal... Cookie takes care of the lounge in the afternoon and evening and was very pleasant. The fitness center is large with a lot of choices for both cardio and strength training. My husband enjoyed the pool while I was out working during the day. I ordered room service one evening; nothing to write home about but it was OK. Overall a very nice stay and I will be returning frequently to this hotel for my business trips to Atlanta.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2009

I stayed in this hotel for four days in March, although a business trip I had to stay in Atlanta over the weekend. The Marriott worked out really well. They had a $169 offer which included bed and breakfast for two people which I thought was a really good deal. There is a door from the hotel which leads you into Lenox Square Mall which is really big. Staff were very helpful, particularly when I needed a laptop cable as I had brought the wrong one. The breakfast was very extensive and included hot and cold options in a large buffet. While the hotel was very clean the interior was ever so slightly dated, but still quite acceptable. There was a very convenient cafe on the ground floor which was handy for drink/snacks on the run, especially as I did not have a car.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I’ve stayed at this property twice in 2008. I was disappointed on both occasions and surprised that Bill Marriott allows this hotel to use the JW Marriott moniker. It is an uninspired business hotel. Common areas and hotel rooms are worn and dated and are in need of remodeling. Beds were good, bathroom showed signs of mildew in the shower. Tube TV and coffee maker in rooms.

The best thing this hotel has going for it is the location: within walking distance to restaurants and shopping as well as the near a subway stop.

Things to note: It’s okay to stay here if you get a good room rate, but if they are asking more than $125, look somewhere else.

I’ll stay somewhere else next time. ttz

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommytourz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I recently stayed at the JW Buckhead for a conference/training session and had a great stay. Not sure what's with all the negative reviews as it wasn't my experience at all. Staff was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful throughout our weeklong stay and made sure all our training needs and accomodations were met from check-in thru check-out.

I left my cell phone charger in my room after checking out. The hotel recovered my charger and even fed-exed it back to me.

It's in a decent location with a shopping mall adjoining and plenty of restaurants in walking distance or a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

This hotel does not live up to the JW Marriott standards. It should be classed less than a Courtyard. The rooms were outdated and smelled musty and old. The 'At Your Service' buttons on the phone didn't work. The shower tiles were broken and there was a hole the size of a 1/2 dollar around the shower handle fixture. You could hear every sound from the hallway and surrounding rooms (listened to the maid knock and announce turndown service to every room on the floor), etc.

I am not a hotel snob, but I expect my room to be clean and somewhat aesthetically pleasing for the rate that you pay in this area. We checked out of the JW after the first night and went across the street to the Ritz Carlton (for the SAME price).

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, but the RC was fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank danalynn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

1. Bring your own copy of reseration
For the past two tims when I purchased the reservation through Expedia w/ the package of free breakfast & free parking, JW Marriot always denied the offer first until I showed them otherwise. It's annoying to argue w/ them not only b/c taking time but also made the guest llooked like a fool. So, bring your evidence w/ you to claim your right.

2. Normally I have had good exp. w/ JW; however, the last trip was an awful one. I had the CFP exam scheduled on Fri. & Sat., so naturally I asked for a quiet room. The front desk assigned me a corner room but I can hear almost every conversation & laughter the next door. In addition, people (staffs & guests) slamed their doors even at midnight. On Th. night, the alarm went off first in the hallway then in my room around 2:30 am. You can guess how I slept for the rest of the evening befor my exam the next day.

3. Amenities
The light in the bath room was so dark, and it made me always second-guess my makeup. Did I apply too much, or did I look like a clown? In addition, I had to hold my hands at least 10 sec. to save handful water to wash my face. So, if you have backpain after staying there, you would know why. Not only the water volume small, but it took time and patience to adjust the hot & cold water to lukewarm. I either got burnt or too cold like icy water.

Overall, I was extremely disappointed the last stay. I sincerely hope JW can improve their service to its guests so that I can return again someday.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank foovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Not a better location for Lenox Square shopping since it is connected by a walkway. Rooms were upscale ,clean and on par for a 4-star hotel.

1 minute walk to MARTA with good access to arts center and downtown.

Only downside was water flow restrictors allowed limited water and difficult temperature control of the water.

A good way to save is to take the MARTA from the airport directly to the J.W. Marriott. $ 1.75 each and not much longer than a cab ride ($60) in traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chloe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Buckhead
The Westin Buckhead Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Buckhead
Atlanta Marriott Buckhead Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead

Address: 3300 Lenox Road NE, Atlanta, GA 30326
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#12 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#30 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#33 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £108 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover luxury at JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead. Our hotel in Atlanta, Georgia's vibrant Buckhead area is near some of the best shopping and entertainment in the city. Experience Lenox Square, an upscale retail center close to our hotel, and get to the Lenox MARTA station with ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Atlanta Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Atlanta
Marriott Hotel Buckhead Atlanta
Marriott Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing