We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek and Modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #58 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kleinburg, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Sleek and Modern”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is our return trip to Atlanta in two months and decided to try the W. The hotel is within walking distance to the Mart. It's a more modern contemporary look and feel. We were upgraded to a corner suite with all windows for a magnificent view. Elevators require your room key for access. The shower and bath area is open concept which means no doors therefore ideally suited for couples. There is a bar lounge on the main level and one in the upper level.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! I certainly appreciate your comments regarding the design of the hotel. We are pleased our location and amenities were to your liking. We hope you have the opportunity to return to Atlanta soon and explore more of what Downtown has to offer. Until next time, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    240
    138
    64
    54
See reviews for
103
248
71
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I booked the W for my wife's 30th birthday having never stayed at a W before. I was so impressed by this hotel that I plan to return for another special occasion.

I requested an upgrade ahead of our stay via email and the manager was happy to oblige with a great corner room. Also to our surprise was a generous waiving of the $30 parking fee in honor of the birthday girl. The front desk staff and security were very warm and helpful, but perhaps the shining star of this crew was the valet attendant, Diego. I have NEVER been ok with valeting my car, I'm always afraid of careless parking and care of the car by either the attendant, their colleagues or other drivers. I reluctantly valet my car and always seek a self-parking option if possible. The W downtown does not offer another option (at least one managed by the hotel), so I was forced to valet but didn't say a word about my apprehensions. As we were boarding the elevator to our room, Diego comes running up to me to show me a picture he took of my car, parked in a spot far from other cars. He explained "I know you were worried about your car so I made sure it would be safe". This blew me away. I've never experienced a valet that actually cared about my car and went out of his way to reassure me. Incredible service.

Our room was absolutely splendid and beautifully decorated. Bed was comfortable, surrounding floors were quiet, bathroom was large and elegant. I'm sure most if not all of the W's rooms are of similar quality and we were definitely pleased.

The BLT restaurant offered a nice breakfast and was decently priced. The smoked salmon, omelette and potatoes were all tasty and service was good. I'm curious about the dinner menu and would be interested in coming back.

The W downtown is a great choice with wonderful accommodations, a fantastic staff and convenient location to Centennial Park and the rest of downtown. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phiNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! I appreciate you highlighting the service Diego provided. I will be sure to share your comments with Diego and the entire team. I hope your wife had a memorable birthday. Thank you for choosing W Atlanta Downtown for your special celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Came for a business meeting on Friday and stayed through the weekend.

We were really pleased with our room 1117, and wanted to have a bite to eat and relax after a long day. Unfortunately something happened with our room service and it took 90 minutes to get a cheeseburger and sliders. We tried to call and cancel after 1 hour but they claimed it was on its way up. 30 minutes later it arrived with an apology from the waitress. Food was so-so. But the waitress did call us back to say that she had the charge removed. That is good service. Mistakes happen, and recognizing them is appreciated. The rest of the trip was great in large part due to Pablo the concierge. Great dinner recommendation, he even went to the store for us when we needed a small something. Thanks to Pablo and Kiki for making our first trip to Atlanta a pleasure! Sue and Steve

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloversx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you Sue and Steve for this great review. I was disappointed to hear about the long wait on your In-Room Dining but happy to hear that they adjusted the charges. I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. I’m glad you enjoyed the customer service and Pablo and Kiki made you feel welcome. Thank you for choosing W Atlanta Downtown and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I am a fan of Ws and stayed in many previously, but not in the last year. I usually love the vibe, the music, being inspired by the decor. W downtown Atlanta on the other hand is not looking good. The room is battered and old. The furniture is damaged, ply surfaces exposed on most of the items, a drawer is hanging broken, the wall splattered with something and not been cleaned. The guests think they're incredibly cool, which by definition makes them very uncool, so lends for a highly pretentious atmosphere. Really disappointed and will question whether to try any other Ws in the future. Maybe they were cool a few years ago but haven't kept up in the recession. I wonder whether this is now haunt for teenagers. I also hate that the wifi isn't free. Even the park round the corner has free wifi! Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your recent post and value your observations. Our Wi-Fi prices are based on the internet connection package you choose – we have several options available to serve different needs. We also offer free wireless internet access in the Living Room. We are also the official Wi-Fi provider for the neighboring park and multiple other hot spots around the city as part of the W free Wi-Fi network. Sorry we couldn’t meet all your expectations, but I do appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My stay at the W Hotel Downtown Atlanta started with them telling me my secondary emergency contact had been changed to the primary contact - which prevented me from checking into my own room even though the card they were charging was mine. I had to wait 2 hours for my friend to come by to check me in to my own room. During our second day, no one came by the clean the room or bring fresh towels. I had to steal some from the cart lady. And as the hotel had broken up my stay for the two nights into two reservations, they made me move rooms after the first day. When I got home from our trip, I then saw a $200 charge for smoking - and as I'm severely allergic I knew this was a ridiculous charge. I called the hotel, and after a long time on hold, they finally refunded the money. Combined with a $30/day parking charge, my bill for this place was ridiculous for what I got. Overall, worst stay I have had at a hotel in a long time for somewhere that's suppose to be a great place to stay. Would not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear that there was some miscommunication during your check-in process. I apologize you had to wait but I’m glad to hear it was resolved. While this does not happen often, I apologize that your room was not refreshed. I will share your comments with our team to ensure this does not happen. I’m sorry to hear about the confusion with your room night charge but I’m glad we were able to correct your bill. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back because I am confident we can provide you with a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is a true breath of fresh air in a busy downtown Atlanta. From the moment you are greeted as you step out of your cab to the moment you step back in it you are treated and catered to by an excellent staff. The rooms are very luxurious and if you can ever stay in any of the #18 rooms then your have a gorgeous view. I was in 518. The fitness center is one of the best I've been to in a long time as well as the pool area. Both are located on the 16th floor and have excellent views of the Belle of the South...Atlanta. If you like food, the restaurant downstairs on the main floor, BLT, is exquisite. My 12oz filet was cooked to perfection and could be cut with a fork. And don't forget the sides...jalapeno mashed potatoes. YUM!!! The other thing that made the visit amazing was the location of the hotel. You are within 2 blocks of the GA Aquarium and the World of Coca-Cola. Both are must sees. There are many places to visit just a step or two away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you Matt for the wonderful review. It sounds like a perfect stay and that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel. I’d like to recommend that you experience Drinkshop, our craft cocktail bar and our fabulous Bliss Spa upon your next visit. Thank you again for sharing your observations and please come back to see us again soon! Until next time, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel was beautifully designed, but overall what made my experience the best was the staff. NJ, Pablo, and Loandi were always around when I needed something. They were prompt in helping me. They made my work easier which allowed me to enjoy myself while I was at the hotel and not stress out. I can't get over how much NJ really made my stay at the W hotel memorable. He made sure everything was perfect to the "T". NJ didn't just check me in, but he also showed he cared by asking me about my flight and if I liked the hotel. Just because NJ showed he cared I felt that if I had any problems, I knew somebody that I could ask to help me. NJ, Pablo, and Loadi should definitely be considered the best W hotel staff ever. Somebody should give these guys some extra points!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaDowntownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to spotlight the service you received. I will be sure to share your comments with NJ, Pablo-Andres, Loandi and the entire team. Thank you for choosing W Atlanta Downtown. Until next time. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Twelve Centennial Park
Twelve Centennial Park
#86 of 172 in Atlanta
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Peachtree Plaza
1.6 mi away
W Atlanta Midtown
W Atlanta Midtown
#101 of 172 in Atlanta
1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#38 of 172 in Atlanta
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Downtown

Property: W Atlanta Downtown
Address: 45 Ivan Allen Jr Blvd NW, Atlanta, GA 30308-3052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Atlanta Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Downtown energizes and inspires, a wonderland of sensual style amid major corporations and specialty shopping. Close to Georgia Aquarium, Centennial Olympic Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing