We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great area.”
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #105 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Manning, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great area.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The rooms could use a little updating but all of the public areas are very nice and modern. On the weekend nights the hotel is very busy but not in a bad way. I like a little action going on and also great people watching area in the lobby. The club on the second floor was a hit on Friday night. It’s a little small but they played great music and it was a very upscale crowd. The pool area is very small but what can you expect for a hotel in the middle of the city. Also if you staying at the hotel you can access the club by elevator to the second floor and bypass the long lines to get in. If you are going to Atlanta to party then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKing456803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear "MKing456803,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time at Whiskey Park. The next time you plan a trip to Atlanta (or anywhere there's a W), download our W app for great insider information on local happenings.

We'd love for you to come stay and play with us again.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    444
    292
    201
    120
See reviews for
121
272
113
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

From when you walk in and they say "welcome home" to the super comfortable beds, the W makes you feel like you really want to stay for a while. I spent 2 nights here and 3 nights in another hotel (W for personal fun and the other for a conference). I have nothing negative to say about the service, rooms, restaurant or bar. It's within walking distance of fun nightlife and if you don't want to leave the nightlife is happening right downstairs in the lobby bar or in Whiskey Park. I don't have kids but the only negative thought I had was that the hotel was not very "family" friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear "lizhunter,"

Thank you for your review and lovely compliments -- we will pass them along to the team. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and had a little fun while you were in Midtown Atlanta.

Please come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The W Midtown is a sleek modern hotel with lots to offer. There are multiple restaurants, bars, a pool, a nightclub that I didn't visit, and all in the middle of the city. I loved how modern the design was. No basics here.

The room originally seemed a little small, however it was large enough to include a king size bed, sectional sofa, and a large desk. Of course don't forget the minibar. Continuing with the clean lines and modern feel was the bathroom. As with several hotels I've stayed in lately, the W has done away with the bathtub and replaced it with a large walk-in shower enclosed in glass. No more fighting with a disgusting shower curtain.

There were very few things I didn't like. As with most higher end hotels, the W overcharges for everything, but you know that going in. Four dollars for an 8 oz coke and five dollars for a bottle of water is ridiculous, as is the cost of parking and anything you order at one of the bars.

All things considered, I really enjoyed the hotel and restaurants. The food at Spice was good, and the room was comfortable. I would definitely stay at the W Midtown again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear "rmcl26,"

Thank you for your review -- we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your compliments of our design and restaurants.

Please do come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here for a wedding. Property is nice but aging, could use some detailed maintenance. Service and staff was excellent, quick and friendly. More lighting in the rooms would be helpful. Spice Market restaurant was very good, half price wine bottles on Thu.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear "TheAintz,"

Thank you for your review -- we're especially glad you enjoyed our service and staff and appreciate your comments about maintenance and lighting. Thank you also for visiting Spice Market and taking advantage of half priced bottles of wine!

We hope you'll return soon.

Thank you,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in Midtown Atlanta several times in the past, but never at the W. the hotel is large an oddly attached to a not so amazing mall. But if you do not walk through the back doors on the second floor you'll never notice. The room was great - my favourite room in quite some time. The staff was helpful upon check in providing their observations on my proposed sightseeing and improving the plan on our short visit. If you like midtown, which I do - the location is great. I you are looking to be elsewhere in the city, the MARTA is fairly close

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear "dorsburn,"

Thank you for your review -- we're thrilled you loved your room and our location in Midtown Atlanta. If you'd like, before your next visit, please email me and we'll give you a heads up on new restaurants, great art exhibitions, events, etc. so you can discover even more of the city: GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com.

We hope to see you again soon.

Take care,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My mother and I stayed here on the last leg of a cross country trip. We wanted our last night on the road to be in a nice hotel. This hotel is dog friendly but at a hefty price. We purchased the night from orbitz who said that there would be a $25. pet fee and a $100. pet deposit. We were told that we could get the deposit back if no damage to the room. However, when we got there the hotel had us sign that the $100. was non refundable. We were able to get our $100 back from Orbitz since we specifically asked this question and they told us the wrong answer. The other problem with having a pet here is there is only one tiny patch of grass for them to potty on and it happens to be right on a very busy downtown street.

Other than that, the hotel was very lovely and had great food via room service. We liked the view and the beds were very comfortable. I will stay here again without my pooch!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-ATL-Midtown, Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear "E T,"

Thank you for your review and kind words -- we do hope you'll stay with us again soon. We apologize for the confusion with Orbitz and our pet policy. Please feel free to email me directly if you have any questions before your next stay with us: GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com. (Also, here's a tip for the next time you're in Atlanta with your pooch -- our neighbor, Piedmont Park, has a fantastic dog park you might want to visit. Dogs and people love it!)

Take care and safe travels,

Lukus Kindlesparker
Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The hotel is in a great location, safe with bars, restaurants and shops within walking distance.

The hotel is on the dark side, low lighting throughout. Facilities are good with all you would expect of a 5 star hotel, shop, bar, restaurant and gym.

Rooms are well furnished and beds very comfortable. Loud music playing in the lift by rooms far enough away for it not to disturb your rest.

The only down side was the staff didn't know alot about their facilities (which floor the gym was on) and wasn't able to provide me with information on the surrounding area (where the nearest drug store was) when asked.

Room Tip: Away from the lift due to music being played loud when doors open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horshamsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-ATL-Midtown, Marketing Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear "horshamsussex,"

Thank you so much for your review and compliments -- we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy our lovely Midtown Atlanta neighborhood. We are sorry you weren't given an excellent answer to your question about our gym location and surrounding area -- we pride ourselves on having a staff full of "insiders" who can speak to the top restaurants, events, and entertainment venues. The next time you stay with us, please visit the concierge desk in the lobby -- in addition to our concierges being knowledgeable about happenings in Atlanta, we also have printed out our recommendations for dining (both within walking distance and "worth a drive" options around town), plus a weekly listing of top events in the city.

Please do stay with us again -- we'll look forward to it.

Cheers,

Tucker B.
Marketing Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#57 of 173 in Atlanta
1,033 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,106 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#55 of 173 in Atlanta
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
W Atlanta - Buckhead
#69 of 173 in Atlanta
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing