We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an effort”
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #103 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such an effort”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Once I had arrived in my tattily furnished room I just wanted to switch off the lights and get to bed. Unfortunately this involved hunting down about 5 light switches secreted around the room. When I returned from the gym the elevator couldn't be called from that level for some reason. I told a member of staff and they may as well have said 'whatever' to my face.
The styling of the hotel seems to be trying very hard but scratch the already scratched surface and this is a very average hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeroscotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello aeroscotia.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We were certainly disappointed to hear you had such an unpleasant experience. Your comments and feedback have been shared with the hotel team. We would love to have an opportunity to earn your confidence back on a future visit. Please let us know if that is something you would have interest in doing. You can reach us at GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com. We hope to hear from you.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    444
    298
    206
    122
See reviews for
124
281
114
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

W Hotels are known for trendy design and experiences that stimulate the senses. This hotel was no different in that respect. However, the details are where the experience fell far short of my expectations.

To be fair, I must mention that this hotel was selected due to its proximity to my office. My employer wanted to ensure ease of commute with the winter storm that Atlanta experienced. Consequently, I was given a room at the W Midtown upon my request.

Upon arriving, the valet asked if I wanted to park my vehicle. I declined, and he ignored me for the remainder of my stay - almost as if he were personally snubbed. Entering the hotel, a light techno theme was playing in the lobby. The lighting was conducive to the overall atmosphere, emulating water on the nearby wall and ceiling (where effects were being projected). The staff seemed friendly, upgrading my room with ease.

My room was decorated in a modern, chic fashion - with touches that were eclectic and cutting-edge. However, the furniture showed some signs of wear. The end-tables on either side of the bed were painted black, but desperately needed touching-up. The fixtures (lamps, accessories) were in sore need of attention - fingerprints and dust were plentiful. The bathroom was certainly spa-inspired, and very nice. The shower was a relaxing cascade of water, enhanced by the high-quality complimentary toiletries.

The bar in the "Living Room" was well-decorated and had some unique, if not hidden touches. Staff were talkative and friendly. Drinks were priced at a premium, but the atmosphere was worth the price.

Unfortunately, checkout was another unpleasant experience. When I headed down to the lobby at 5:30 AM, nobody was in sight. I waited for around 15 minutes before an attendant arrived. She made no apologies, instead blaming her absence on "assisting a customer with luggage". I'm not sure why a front desk clerk would perform that sort of labor. The details of my billing were incorrect, as my personal credit card was charged instead of my business credit card. She insisted that there was nothing she could do. She made no offer to have a manager contact me, and instead handed me a business card. Regretfully, even after talking to this individual the same afternoon, (and filling out an online credit card form he asked me to submit) nothing was ever corrected. I was forced to file a lengthy expense report with my employer.

My overall impression is that this hotel has potential. The staff needs to be addressed, and some housekeeping needs attention. This is the W - it should exceed expectations, not fall short of them!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Spectacular room for breathtaking views of the Atlanta skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boltonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello boltonski.
I appreciate you taking the time to send your review. However, I hate to hear your stay was one not up to both of our expectations. When you have a moment, would you please email me so we can discuss your checkout , confirm you have been taken care of in that area and make this right for you? GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com. Thank you again for your review; I hope to speak with you soon.
Sincerely,
Lukus Kindlesparker, Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I am SPG gold and stayed here for a work trip. I found the service ranged from apathetic to exceptional. I found some people were just so bothered by any questions or requests.
My first night was in a room that looked good enough, albeit typical cheesy W decor. The pipes in the wall were loud and clanky - it was very annoying - throughout the night. I called down and was told an engineer would be up. An hour later, no engineer, so I called back and was told they were trying to find a new room. Some time later a manager calls me to tell me there are no more rooms. Ironically on the nightstand there was a little card telling you how much they value beauty sleep and that there are white noise aps and let them know how they can help you sleep better. I actually googled the room number and found a review talking about the pipes (a little redemption to know I wasn't crazy)

Next day I got a call that they would put me in a suite. Reginald personally assured me that all of my stuff would be moved for me. He was true to his word, and he is on the exceptional side of the service. Vanessa got me the suite and I had spoken to her a number of times regarding upgrades and other things - she seemed to genuinely care about hotel guests and always made an effort. She is also on the exceptional side of service. Note to management - have Reginald and Vanessa run a training class on hospitality and customer service.

Suite was great. The negative is it was close to the elevator bank and those elevators were very audible. Much less so than the pipes, but just be mindful that your room is not close to the banks if you are a light sleeper. The floor to ceiling windows on the high floor left me with a beautiful view.

I've seen other reviews talk about the wearing of the rooms - I noticed that with the robes, they were pretty ratty. I don't think there was turn down service at night (maybe if requested?). There is a hotel car. The gym was just ok, as expected with W hotels. I managed, but it wasn't as good as the Four Seasons. Maybe its a W thing, but I think in this day and age, high end hotels should invest a little in their fitness centers. There was water and free coffee in the morning by the bar which is nice.

Spice market - sort of not included in the rating, but follows the theme of my overall experience. I picked up dinner and it was ok at best. I picked up breakfast and it was really good.

Great location. I think I would stay here again for business, but I don't think it would be my first choice, even with my spg status. It is just so inconsistent on so many levels. Some real high marks and some then some lower ones. I believe for an upscale or higher end hotel to get high markets, it has to consistently deliver a high quality product and high quality service.

Room Tip: lower numbered rooms "xx03, xx04" are close to the elevator bank and can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adambr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello adambr14.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and informative review. Obviously, we are extremely disappointed to hear about some of your experiences during your stay. Your comments and feedback have been shared with the hotel team. We would love to have an opportunity to earn your confidence back on a future visit. Please let us know if that is something you would have interest in doing. You can reach us at GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com. We hope to hear from you.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at the W Atlanta Midtown for a conference recently and wanted to share my impressions. This hotel is a typical W, aimed at the young sophisticated traveler who is highly connected electronically, and wants lots of readily accessible amenities. My room was very comfortable, with a very modern bathroom and built-in furnishings. Staff were very helpful and accomodating (they even called my cellphone when my room was ready as I checked in very early). This hotel is very well appointed with relaxation opportunities--a beautiful bar, a Bliss Spa downstairs, and a branch of Jean Georges Vongerichten's Spice Market chain. Location is in Midtown, a modern area of Atlanta close to several sights. The only quibbles were that there were several minor issues in the bathroom (leaky shower, and a sink faucet that emitted a loud groan when the water was turned on more than a moderate flow), and some hardware missing from the furniture. Had the management been pre-emptively attentive to these issues, I would have rated this hotel more highly. Little details matter!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredRo1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello FredRo1948.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a very nice review. We agree little details do matter and your comments and feedback have been shared with the hotel team. We do hope you will give us a chance to be more of a "hit" on those details the next time you visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I never write reviews but felt compelled by toe people who went above and beyond to ensure I had a good stay. Leon McGhee and Najah Moss were so gracious and kind. I was in the middle of a hectic and stressful travel week and ordered a late meal from room service. They both went out if their way to make sure I was taken care of beyond my expectations and it went a long way to make my trip a lot better. Hats off it them both!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GvilleMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello GvilleMT.
Thank you for the feedback. Glad to hear your stressful week got a little better with us. And we LOVE Leon and Najah. They both embody W spirit. Hope to see you again soon.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I will start off by saying that we are Marriott people (Platinum level), so we are used to extra special perks and service. Upon check in at the W, we were greeted friendly enough by valet and the front desk. We also were given complimentary wifi in our rooms which I thought was very nice of the assistance. The room is a standard king, very cool décor, but starting to look like it needs some upgrades. Wall paper is starting to come off the walls, the tile in the shower is popping up, lights were out over the desk (3 of them!!!, but that did get rectified by me leaving a note for the housekeeper - props to her for getting maintenance to address this in a very timely manner!!!).
The biggest problem I have had is that every time I have gone searching for a concierge, there is not one at the desk. The front desk assistants give some vague recommendations, but no one seems to know the area well enough to direct customers to restaurants, attractions, etc. I have wanted assistance both evenings I have been here to direct us to a restaurant nearby, and both times, the desk was empty upon several tries at different times throughout the early evening hours. I finally resorted to Trip Advisor for help!!! If you stay at the W, expect some hip décor, but I think the concierge needs some training on how to be at the desk during prime hours!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor with not much of a view. I am sure the higher floors give wonderful views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asolare95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello Asolare95.
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us a review. We really appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with our team. We pride ourselves on our guest experience and regret that we let both of us down. We hope you will give us a chance to be more of a "hit" on our All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our stay at the W made our friend weekend very enjoyable. The overall experience was great - loved the rooms and the location. Reshawn did a great job of serving us in the restaurant - drinks were awesome!! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia_B_142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello AliciaB.
We are thrilled you an awesome stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#58 of 171 in Atlanta
1,052 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 171 in Atlanta
2,173 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#53 of 171 in Atlanta
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
W Atlanta - Buckhead
#67 of 171 in Atlanta
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing