We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tacky and Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #101 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Kirkland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Tacky and Tired”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When new, the W Midtown was likely really a hip hotel experience. Now it is outdated, worn, dirty and just sad.The rooms are spacious and have some new furniture. And floor-to-ceiling windows that let in a lot of light, which is needed as W hotels tend to be dark. bathrooms are average and rather small. You will really notice this if you have 2 people in the room.The elevators are tempermental andvrequire a key, but don't always work. The staff is not up to parvwoth typical W service.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    432
    288
    193
    116
See reviews for
115
264
110
610
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a party this is your kind of place. It seems to serve as the unofficial official hotel for Pride in October and virtually every other "trendy" event in the city throughout the year.

The public spaces are interesting and posh with several hidden lounges for one to discover. A full Bliss Spa and store is located beneath the lobby. Interesting bar and restaurant, neither are my style but interesting none the less. Located within walking distance of the park, restaurants and nightlife; a few blocks from a MARTA station as well.

This place is always a buzz with traffic and it shows... The
guest rooms done in typical W style show visible wear-and-tear. The rooms are very clean but even still a certain je ne sais quoi is present, almost like the previous occupants had a party. Some may like this energy but I personally find that it "cheapens" the experience.

The hotel honestly feels like a trendy convention hotel, a volume version of 4 star... but then again location IS everything isn't it?

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank atlblakek86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
336 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and 5 days. My main thought is that this hotel is meant for a younger crowd. Dark lighting, techno music playing throughout day, and just the vibe of the place(I didn't see anyone over 50 the entire time that i was there). I would stay if I was younger.

Check in was terrific with a great front desk person taking care of me. Room was very nice with a large comfortable king size bed, desk and lounger. Bathroom was spacious with nice shower head. The design of room and furnishings are very funky and definitely not old school. No issues with anything has it was clean and housekeeping did a good job. My only issues were with I am used to in hotel rooms: no in room coffee machine(it was plentiful and free downstairs), no newspaper delivery(they were downstairs), and no bathtub. Additionally, the doors are awful, flimsy with no vacuum seal which means that you hear them slamming at all hours. It appears that they refurbished the room without replacing the doors. There is a makeup table outside the bathroom. Even the sink in the bathroom is very retro.

Downstairs there is a techno vibe with small shop and then the living room bar where you can get drinks. On bottom floor is the gym and spa. Although didn't try it , it was outfitted nicely. On 2nd floor is Trace, a farm to table restaurant which was ok(reviewed seperately) which has only been opened a short time. There is a pool and a Whisky Bar club which I am sure is hopping on weekends. I would recommend it but would definitely say it is for a much younger crowd.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnPM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed at The W for the Jay-Z and Beyonce concert. After traveling for 5 hours in a cramped up car it was nice that the hotel check -in process was quick and easy, thanks to Simone. The rooms were clean, very stylish, and also had an amazing view of Atlanta. We loved the new restaurant Trace, and the servers were all friendly, especially Amber( whom we had each time for breakfast- the shrimp and grits are amazing !). Not ONLY did she make it her purpose to please us but she also remembered our names, food and drink orders but made us in a way feel like we were at home. If you ever go ask for her !!!!!! Even though the price of the hotel is a bit much , its your typical " W " but with an AMAZING staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel wants to be trendy and cool, but it comes off as a shiny veneer on a aging building. My card had a hold on it of almost $1500 for a five day stay. For this much $ I would expect top of the line, but my room showed signs of wear and tear and there were little to no amenities that didn't cost an exorbitant amount. There was no breakfast. There was bottled water in the room, for $5. In the room, the curtains had burns and grease marks, the walls had lots of scuff marks, and several of the drawers in the furniture were missing the handles. There was no fan in the bathroom so the room was very humid after showers and the sink, while fancy, just ended up splattering water everywhere. The handle of the faucet in the shower, while again-fancy, was difficult to actually turn off. I had been told my stay would be less that the amount charged to my card, so I inquired and I was told it was to cover incidentals. A $400 difference for incidentals?! Additionally every day there was another $100 hold on my account. Then after my stay the payment did not go through for several weeks, causing a lot of confusion in my checkbook. Overall, I was not impressed with the DJ, the swanky lobby, and the trendy atmosphere. Give me a family establishment that is focused on customer service and providing a quality stay and I will go there before I stay at the W Atlanta Midtown.

Room Tip: Stay higher up, there are bars on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After a 1 night ($280.00) stay at this hotel, I left with $748.03 worth of damage to the lower lip on the front bumper of my vehicle. Thanks to the valet, who either hit something, or scrapped going in and out of the entrance. The hotel management and customer service claims it is the valet’s responsibility, which is a contracted company the hotel adds to your bill. The valet risk manager for USA Parking System (Ryan Ross) claims you have no way to prove the valet caused the damage. There was no damage to my vehicle upon arrival. Do NOT stay at this hotel, and NEVER allow the valet park your vehicle. HORRIBLE customer service!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'd give this place a 3.5 stars. It's pretty typical of the 2nd best W in a city. It has the W flare in the lobby space and marketing, with small, dark, somewhat depressing rooms. As with other city W's, the views from the room are really nice. The surrounding area is good if you're there for work and have an office in walking distance. There are also a handful of restaurants nearby, so you can get by without a car.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlBlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#58 of 172 in Atlanta
1,011 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 172 in Atlanta
2,022 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#55 of 172 in Atlanta
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
#12 of 172 in Atlanta
986 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Starwood, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing