We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye Opening!”

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum
Ranked #14 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Carter Presidential Library and Museum re-opens October 1, 2009 as an all-new,state-of-the-art museum tracing the life and work of President Jimmy Carter, from his childhood in Plains to the work he and Mrs. Carter do around the world to promote peace and health.
Mayberry
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Eye Opening!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I had no idea this president was as effective out of office as he was in. This exhibit was very nicely done and gave me a much richer portrait of President Carter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NunyaMayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    280
    55
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than I thought it would be”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was a nice overview of President Carter's youth and presidency. I was impressed - it was much better than I expected and a must for history buffs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Museum is globally focused”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Jimmy Carter wasn't the best president ever and the most significant things he's contributed to society revolve around everything he's done for our nation after leaving the Presidency. This museum tells you about what he has done to help world peace, etc. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love new upgrades! Worth the stop!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Not overwhelming or boring...lots to look at, several interactive displays and time preserved videos. Enjoyed learning more about this respected president!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patti714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Informative and worthwhile visit”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The museaum and grounds are well worth spending a few hours when in Atlanta. We strolled through the beautiful grounds after our visit and it was a quiet and peaceful oasis in the center of Atlanta. The museum specifically was fascinating for someone who was in high school during the Carter years. The displays are interesting, with the "day in the life of a president" and the sections on the Carter's post presidential philanthropic work being the most worthwhile. The exhibits are a moving tribute to a family that has done so much for the people of the United States and the world, and learning about their legacy is moving regardless of your political affiliation(s).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dupetersentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Carter Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing