We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Review of Jimmy Carter's Life”

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum
Ranked #15 of 289 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Carter Presidential Library and Museum re-opens October 1, 2009 as an all-new,state-of-the-art museum tracing the life and work of President Jimmy Carter, from his childhood in Plains to the work he and Mrs. Carter do around the world to promote peace and health.
NJ
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Review of Jimmy Carter's Life”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I always find these president museums fascinating. This goes through the story of his life including after his presidency since he is still active.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    265
    53
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“first time”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

enjoyed the museum, especially the White House china exhibit. had a difficult time driving to the museum. GPS does not show the street it is located on to be one-way, so we had to find out way around the park to the correct entrance. almost left without going to the museum. but, glad we did. well worth the trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
633 reviews
301 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Not the Best Presidential Museum, but well worth a Visit”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We've been to the Reagan, Nixon, Kennedy, Johnson, and Sr. Bush Museums previously and, although we enjoyed the Carter Museum immensely, I would rate it as my least favorite of the ones we have been to. I think part of it may relate to the fact that less of historical interest (at least for me) happened during his presidency than during any of the other of the above presidents. That said, it still has immense value and is well worth a visit.

I find that the combination of artifacts, films, pictures, etc. available at the museums, and the wealth of information, helps me to understand and appreciate the world during that time period more than any other activity I have done.

The museum does focus quite a bit on Carter's activities after the presidency and in that respect, his activities surpass all of the others above. It was fun to see his Grammy and Nobel Peace Prize and the movie is well-worth viewing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Always a thrill seeing these rare museums”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Seeing a Presidential Library, and I've seen several of them, is always a thrill. This one is very large, and covers many facets of Carter's life, his childhood, military experience, family, and his Presidency. Many artifacts on display, and a replica of the Oval Office and how it looked during is Presidency are included. Nice grounds inside a park in central Atlanta. Highly recommend you allow 3 hours for this visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vlichadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“He was a powerful negotiator!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Jimmy Carter's Library and Museum were breath-taking. Allow yourself plenty of time to absorb all the history. He was able to negotiate peace between Egypt and Israel. Watch his story regarding the unfolding of events. He is an amazing negotiator. As the country chewed their nails over the hostage situation; we never knew what transpired "behind the scenes". Again watch the movie to see how that part of history "played-out". The library was fascinating. And the museum showing their life in the White House was interesting. Allow at two hours, but to be able to absorb all of his accomplishments -- it will take a lot longer then that!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Carter Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing