We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility, mediocre Orquestra”

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Ranked #52 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Woodruff Arts Center, this is the famed symphony orchestra of Atlanta.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility, mediocre Orquestra”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I love the Symphony Hall, great space, great sits, great accustics, great lobby. However, as much as people in Atlanta hails their performing arts groups, I find the level of musicians and the orquestra mediocre, and far from the standards of the big american Cities Orquestras....such as Chicago Simphony and Cleveland Orquestra. Its time for Atlanta to understand that facilities are not everything.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaDoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    32
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Date”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I went to the symphony for a Valentine's Day date. It has been a while since we have been able to attend a symphony even so this was a special treat. We were not disappointed. The event was a Pops concert with guest piano with Rich Ridenour and vocalist Ashley Brown. We enjoyed both and plan to return when possible.
Tickets were easy to get online and one can either purchase onsite parking with the tickets and plan to stay in an adjacent public parking garage if onsite parking in full.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miles054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Christmas Show”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I wasn´t expecting much when I bought the tickets and it was a lovely surprise to watch 2 hours of very well-played christmas songs. Easy to purchase online tickets.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fernanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Year's Eve!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Wonderful night of Gershwin. As the guest conductor stated: [I am standing before] one of North America's great treasures.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Umustgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Christmas show was awesome”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The combined ASO with the chorus, the Moorhouse Glee Club and the Gwinnett chorus singers was spectacular. The combination of the singers and the musicians was tremendous.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barnesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlanta Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing