We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlanta Symphony is great -- Joshua Bell was amazing!”

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Ranked #52 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Woodruff Arts Center, this is the famed symphony orchestra of Atlanta.
Jonesborough, TN
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Atlanta Symphony is great -- Joshua Bell was amazing!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited the Atlanta Symphony Friday evening for the Delta Classical Concert. The first piece, Asimov at Star's End, was a discordant mess, but the Hindemith Symphony and the Brahms Concerto for Violin & Orchestra were terrific. Guest soloist Joshua Bell was very good and very enthusiastic.

I want to compliment the Atlanta Symphony on their performance hall and gift shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    32
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have been subscribers to the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra for years and have yet to be disappointed with a concert. We have attended orchestra concerts around this country and abroad and always come home impressed with the quality of our local band. I only wish they had a better hall in which to play. The new acoustical shell is a great improvement however. If you love classical music do yourself a favor and attend a concert by one of the finest orchestras in the country right here in your own back yard.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rag714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“World-Class Music. Honestly!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra - with the ASO Chorus - is easily the finest contributor to classical music in Southeast USA. An impressive concert schedule from September till June presents world-class music with conductors, soloists, orchestra and chorus that far exceed most cities in the world - even those that boast about their classical music - in programming, quality, and number of performances in a given week or month - at very reasonable ticket prices. It is an arts gem not to be missed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Christmas Performance”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and friends and I went to a Christmas performance for our first and presently only visit. It was a great experience, however it was very hot in there and it made for a less enjoyable experience. It was my only complaint, however we didn't have very good seats, they were 3 rows from the top, and may have added to the problem since heat rises. I would go again, i would simply dress much lighter for inside the theater.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great quality performers”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It is not a fancy building, but good sound and great skill. We only go to the Pops, always entertaining and makes me grateful to live near Atlanta.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank leeann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlanta Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing