We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
Ranked #19 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
nyc
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“simply wonderful”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

i've been on many, many long business trips to atlanta for the past 5 months; my team and i have been staying at this renaissance for months. it is our second home (or in fact our first, given the amount of time!). i cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

the location is superb; right in the heart of midtown: walkable to tons of restaurants and bars. the lobby is welcoming and serene. the morning coffee and tea in the lobby is always hot and plentiful. the rooms are decent sized, very up-to-date, and with spa-like amenities. the views from the (higher up) rooms are scenic. the staff is extremely accomodating and kind. the bar is popular, not just among the guests but also among the locals. the rooftop bar is an oasis in and of itself. the restaurant is decorated in a hip manner, and more importantly it serves very good food, both for breakfast and for dinner.

the only two issues that i have: the maid service is consistently inconsistent. each day brings on a difference of how and what gets cleaned, along with when it gets cleaned. and the parking valet service is chaotic, with miscommunications and above-average vehicle waiting times.

would i recommend this hotel? absolutely YES. i have chosen to live here, and i have a choice as to where i can stay on my business trips. this hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joesob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    314
    97
    35
    28
See reviews for
181
238
51
419
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here 4 nights on business. I really want to give this hotel high marks for its gorgeous appointments, but the service was not great. First the good: nice room, clean, cool decor, nice bar, an army of guys to open the doors, close to midtown activities and GA Tech, quiet location. Now the not-so-good: too many people focused on opening doors, $14.95/ day for internet! Poor management, my room didn't get cleaned one day. Also, I had to move to a feather-free room, which took way too long.
Despite the not-great service and getting charged for internet, this is a swanky hotel. There are several cool restaurants nearby (Marlow's Tavern, Ecco, 5 Napkins, Flying Biscuit). There's also a Publix around the corner for pharmacy and food needs.
It's convenient to my company for business, so I'll be back - they need to get religion and not charge for internet like the rest of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for 17th floor room for feather-free room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VFan2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenMidtownGM, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Good morning! Well while I was thrilled with the description and the rating you gave us, I was less than pleased with the service score and our inability to deliver an exceptional experience. I apologize for that, but I am confident that you will receive extraordinary service the next time you return. Thanks for all the great comments about the location and the hotel itself, and thanks for sharing your perspective on the charge for internet access as well. This remains an issue for all full service hotels (no one has made the change to free yet) we do provide a faster and more secure access than the locations that offer "free" access. One day, I am sure we will move to that--hopefully in the near future. Look forward to your return! Enjoy your Tuesday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Perfect location got GT football, great service and brand new rooms, very friendly staff and got a AAA rate!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jml35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenMidtownGM, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Good morning! Thank you for all your comments --specifically about the great service you received! We are very proud of our staff and of course the hotel itself--I was so glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves. Parking can be a challenge on our busy street--I appreciate your comments--we work closely with our valet company to ensure our guests' safety--and even purchased the 3 parking spots (metered) from the City of Atlanta to create more access in the cutout immediately in front of the hotel. At any rate, we look forward to welcoming you back to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Great location if you're going to a GT football game--just a 10min walk downhill to get to campus...the hotel doesn't have a drive-in entrance so it was a little challenging to park your car on the busy street w/the busy valet station and check into the hotel. After the game, we wanted to pop some popcorn that we'd brought from home, but the rooms do not have microwaves. I called down the front desk to see if there was a public one to use, but there isn't one...however, the guy offered to come up and pop it for us in their employee lounge area and bring it back up...when he returned 5min later, it was in a big fancy bowl from the restaurant instead of just in the bag...there's lots of places to eat nearby (Waffle House, Mo's, ice cream, etc) and Publix grocery store. We ate bfast in the Briza restaurant since it was free for Gold elite members...there was no cap on what we ordered, so we ended up eating $60 worth of food! Needless to say, this place is a little pricy ($4 for a small glass of OJ), but we only ate there b/c it was complimentary to us. Also complimentary was the internet service for Gold members ($14.95), but if I had my choice, I would've rather had the valet parking comp'd ($30/day). the rooms are elegantly decorated and we loved the bed, sheets, and pillows! Great hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenaht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stay here for all the home football games for Georgia Tech. It is very easy to walk to the games. The rooms are great. Fitness facility is excellent. They have a great rooftop bar with nice views. Love the complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby in the morning. Feels more like a boutique hotel than a Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisandhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenMidtownGM, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thanks for all your great comments about our hotel. It is indeed a great spot and very close to Georgia Tech--an easy walk to the campus and stadium. I appreciate the time you took to post the positive comments and yes we are very much a boutique hotel--we hear this all the time--thanks again--have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is a nice hotel but we were told there were not many places to eat nearby. We found a grocery stre around the corner and bought some food.

Room was very clean with a nice bathroom. We were only stopping for the night on a roadtrip and would have been much happier if there was night some street festival going on outside with live music playing loudly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne_Trisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenMidtownGM, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thanks so much for posting your experience here at the hotel. We appreciate the time and your comments--especially the great comments about our rooms product. You were here during the Taste of Atlanta--an annual event that draws thousands of people and is right around the corner from us. Although many people do enjoy that, I certainly can understand how you would feel if you were not attending the event. Thanks again, we'll hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

stayed here for business for 3 nights.

Hotel has nice modern decor and clean and pratical rooms. Service was on average level. There is no breakfast buffet which is to me a clear minus, especially when the a la carte breakfast service is rather slow.


  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenMidtownGM, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate hearing from our guests all the time--especially when we do not meet expectations. I will personally address the "average" and slow breakfast service--we certainly have higher aspirations than delivering "average" anything. We are a bit of a unique hotel and although we do not offer a breakfast buffet we certainly do receive positive comments on the quality of our food. I do hope that you choose to return when your travels bring to to Atlanta--thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,106 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,662 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
Address: 866 W Peachtree Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel centrally located in Atlanta's Midtown neighborhood. This beautifully appointed Renaissance Hotel stylishly sets "Art in Motion" while surrounding you in comfort. Just blocks from the Georgia Tech campus, this sophisticated sanctuary is easily accessible to popular destinations, like the Atlanta Botanical Garden, Piedmont Park, Centennial Olympic Park, Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing