We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
Ranked #16 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Nice bathrooms, very clean. I stayed for four nights for a business trip. The attached restaurant is a farm to table restaurant and it's delicious. I even had a nice view.

Aveda products too! The lighting in the bathrooms is weird though - there is a makeup mirror but it's pretty dark in there. Making it difficult to see your makeup.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience here at our hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay AND that you had a chance to experience Briza. We are very proud of the food and service quality that you recieve when dining in Briza. We are working hard on identifying a solution to the lighting issue you mention and we are optimistic that we have identified one potential solution.

thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

The hotel is modern in decor, "fusion" music played in most all of the public areas, including the elevators and restrooms -- to the point where it became annoying. The check-in personnel were very nice and helpful and made us feel welcome.

The room was small with a small two seat padded bench with a back, really not condusive for two people to sit and talk or relax. There was a desk with a desk-top computer -- there was NO free internet service via the desktop nor wireless. I found it was best to pay the $4.95 per day tu access the wireless via my lap top.

After about an hour after we check-in, there was a knock on the door and an employee wanted access to the "mini-bar" to make sure it was stocked. Kinda strange -- shouldn't that be done before guests check in?? While there, I advised him of a burned out bulb; soon a maintenance employee showed up to replace the bulb.

Upon checking-out, I asked the front desk for info on the MARTA system as we needed to get to the airport. I was advised the MARTA system was not running that day, info I later found to be FALSE...as the doorman and valet drivers all said the trains would be running. We're glad we asked as the train service is great and cheap vs. a $40+ cab fare.

We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times, and found the food to be good, although a bit pricy. The adult beverages were also pricy, but expected in an upscale hotel.

The meeting space was adequate and furnished well, but nothing spectacular.

The real plus was the courtesy of the hotel's staff, aside from giving incorrect info about the public transportation service. This hotel is worthy of staying at again, but we will not seek out specifically should we come back to Atlanta.

Room Tip: We had a room with two "full sized" beds; the room was tight but reasonably adequate. The...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indeaugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Good evening and thank you for staying with us! I was glad to read that our staff performed so well and that you not only felt welcome but that you described them as nice and helpful. Depending on the time of check in and the level of business it would not be abnormal for our Mini bar associates to knock on the door of an occupied room, although clearly our goal would be to get to all rooms prior to check in each and every day, sometimes that is just not possible. We would of course be delighted that when you return to Atlanta you make your decision to stay with us!

Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

We Stayed there two nights two adults four children in two rooms it was absolutely perfect Extremely clean ,great location close to the highway's ,staff was very nice and Professional,the best valet people hands down.Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 586lui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience here at the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown. I was delighted to read your positive and absolutely glowing comments about our clean hotel, with a great location, nice staff and the best valet team-perfect was your word! Outstanding. I have shared this with our team and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This was my first and last visit to this hotel. For the moment, I'll ignore the $30 valet-only parking. Instead, I'll focus on the room that I was given.

When I checked in, I was told that I had booked a room with a king bed, but the only king rooms available were accessible. I told them to give me a room with two double beds. Not what my husband (who I hadn't seen in two months) and I really wanted, but a minor inconvenience for the most part.

We didn't actually settle into our room until after 1 a.m. That's when we discovered that the toilet had stains on it. Not permanent stains like it was an old toilet. These were stains from something that had been wet on the toilet seat, and the longest was an interesting shade of brown.

It was so late, and we were so tired that I decided rather than call housekeeping or the front desk to request another room, I'd just hover in the bathroom and pray that the sheets on the bed at least were clean.

The next morning, there was a knock on our door at 9:30 a.m. It was a Sunday. Who knocks at 9:30 a.m. on a Sunday in a hotel? Apparently, at the Renaissance, housekeeping knocks at 9:30 a.m. on Sunday...to see if anyone is in the room. What? Don't they have a list of occupied rooms?

Next, we discovered that our double room only came with one towel. That's right, one towel in a room with two beds! I called housekeeping. Too bad they didn't drop off some more towels when they were knocking on our door at 9:30.

The final straw was the toothpaste that was part of the hotel-provided toiletries. The box looked a little crumpled, and when I opened it, I discovered a nice tube of used toothpaste!

Between the toilet, the towel and the toothpaste, I have to wonder if the room was cleaned at all after the prior occupant(s).

We complained to the front desk as were were checking out. We were assured by the front desk clerk that she would mention these issues to someone (in that voice people use when they have no real intentions of telling anyone anything).

We won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senoraflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Good evening and thank you for sharing your experience. I was totally distressed as I am sure you were during your stay to hear of your challenges. I can certainly understand your frustration and of course would like to apologize on behalf of myself and our staff. If you read our reviews, you see that this is atypical, but nevertheless I have personally followed up with our department leadership to ensure these issues were addressed and will not recur. I do ask that you reconsider your comment to never return --I assure you that you will have a much better experience. I do hope that the next time you return to Atlanta you consider us.

Thanks again for taking the time to inform me of the details about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The customer service seemed to slip when the business of last weekend. It was Family weekend for GA Tech and several weddings.

The hotel was modern and convenient--NO POOL.

Plenty of places to walk to--food/groceries/drinks/exercise.

We will return on future trips to GA Tech. We just hope the hotel doesn't over extend themselves with events/bookings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoTigahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Good morning and thank you for providing your feedback about your stay here at the Renaissance Atlanta midtown hotel. I was certainly delighted to hear of your return stay AND your intent to return again. We certainly were busy the weekend of your stay, but that should not preclude us from delivering exceptional guest service experiences. I have addressed this with our team and I remain confident you will have a delightful service experience when you return. See you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the Renaissance Midtown while attending a recruiting event at Georgia Tech. The location was superbly convenient, a very easy walk to the neat Tech Square portion of campus. The hotel itself was very nice. Rooms were modern, interestingly decorated and clean. Service was impeccable - enjoyed my interaction with front desk, guest services and valet staff.

Tip: ask for a room on a high floor facing south; you'll get a superb view of midtown and downtown Atlanta.

I particularly enjoyed the lobby area - beautifully adorned with modern, crisp design. Very lively at all times of the day or night.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixsheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown hotel. I appreciate your business and your comments. I was especially pleased to see that you found the hotel to be clean, superbly convenient, modern and interestingly decorated! And that the service was impeccable! We will look forward to your return visit.

thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. I got in late and left early, so I didn't have the opportunity to sample much of the hotel's offerings. It is upscale, and it has all that goes with that (decor, comfort, and high price).

The room was basic, but nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable, and the hotel was fairly quiet, overall.

This hotel was conveniently located to restaurants, the Ga. Tech Conference Center, and MARTA.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALouisianaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Atlanta Midtown hotel and for your comments. Although your stay was short we would be delighted if you chose to stay here if and when your travels bring you back to Atlanta. I'm sure you'll be just as pleased with your stay the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 172 in Atlanta
2,218 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#14 of 172 in Atlanta
1,700 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#43 of 172 in Atlanta
3,119 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel

Address: 866 W. Peachtree Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £126 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Atlanta, Georgia's Midtown neighborhood, situated perfect to offer a central location near top area destinations. Our beautifully appointed hotel stylishly sets "Art in Motion" while surrounding you in comfort. Just blocks from the Georgia Tech campus, our sophisticated sanctuary offers easy access to popular attractions like the Atlanta Botanical Garden, Piedmont Park, Centennial Olympic Park, Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing