We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend trip to ATL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
Ranked #20 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend trip to ATL”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend trip to Atlanta. It is in an amazing part of town close to numerous restaurants and MARTA. I was very impressed with the hotel overall and would stay here again on my next trip if available. Parking is pricy (as is the case with most big city hotels), so I chose to self park in a lot a block away. City meters in front of the hotel are enforced Mon-Sat until 10 pm, but meters a block away are only enforced until 6 pm and free on Sundays. My room had an amazing view of the midtown skyline. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goTBrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachCurry, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you goTBrays for letting us know about your stay with us. We appreciate the time you took to let everyone know about us and our great location. Look forward to your return to ATL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    304
    92
    33
    27
See reviews for
172
232
45
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my first time coming to Atlanta,Ga and staying at the Renassance Mid-town and it was the best hotel I ever stayed in. The pictures online was exactly like the hotel .The check in service was awesome and the velvet guys was the most outstanding. I never seen a business with all employees are wonderful. I will stay here everytime I visit Atlanta. Hands down this is the best hotel ever. The wifi could be cheaper a night. Keep the great customer service up. You have an awesome team

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachCurry, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Anita F thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We pride ourselves on great customer service- we will keep it going! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From the moment I arrived to the time I left, everyone was extremely friendly at this hotel. I was there for work and they gave me a LOVELY room. When you're traveling for work and encounter such nice service, it is so appreciated!! Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone for business or pleasure - a beautiful place! Thank you again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachCurry, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
It is great to hear about your stay with us Lindey W! Thank you for helping to spread the word about our hotel. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently stayed at this property and was most impressed by the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. In particular, the valet staff and my housekeeper, Stephanie, were excellent. I also really enjoyed the friendly man and woman who managed the complimentary happy hour, which I only had the chance to attend once. Individual towels -- for drying hands -- in the downstairs bathrooms are a nice effort at sustainability.

By sprawling Atlanta standards, this is an excellent location: a few turns from the highway, a couple minutes walking from the Metra station, 10 minutes from Piedmont Park and surrounded by a number of restaurants and bars. This is about as good as it gets in terms of a walkable urban/pedestrian environment in Atlanta.

Rooms are nice -- particularly appreciated the dimmer in the bathroom so I didn't have to turn on the bright lights in the middle of the night (great feature!) -- and my king room on the 14th floor was on the corner with a nice view of both Georgia Tech and Midtown. The bed was also extremely comfortable and the sheets were very clean, crisp and high quality. Water pressure in the shower is lovely and outstanding, although I prefer a handheld wand to a fixed shower head. Some elements of the rooms, though, need to be replaced. The bedside lamps are a bit tired (some rust), and the make-up mirror in my bathroom was coming out of the wall.

Also, while the hotel was kind enough to waive the basic internet charge for my room, this should be done as a matter of course. (For example, the Renaissance Washington DC Convention Center Hotel never charges for basic wifi access -- which, coincidentally, is also about $5 cheaper than this hotel at list price -- if you even ask them at the front desk how the Internet works, they will immediately waive the fee as a courtesy for all guests: Priceline or direct booking.) I understand that wifi is a major profit center for hotels denied telephone revenue in the age of mobile phones, but as Anthony Melchiorri has stated, wifi is the "pen and paper of 2014 and should be included in the room rate." It's (maybe) fine to charge more for premium access, but the basic internet at this hotel is only about 2.5 mbps, which is actually significantly slower than most Starbucks stores now offer for free. I'm sure that the Marriott brand forces this hotel to charge something for wifi, but there's no reason why the management can't follow the lead of other hotels and waive the charge without question if a guest inquires about access. Many people, myself included, now work as independent contractors and consultants for large organizations, and we can't just "charge" the cost to our employer. And, no, free access in the lobby is not an adequate substitute.

My rant about the abusiveness of charging for (very basic, barely high-speed) internet aside, this hotel is a good option for visitors who really need to be anywhere in central Atlanta. The staff are lovely and I hope that the hardworking housekeepers and valet guys -- literally running down the sidewalk in the oppressive Atlanta heat in order to ensure guests get their cars in a prompt fashion -- see some of the profits from the expensive wifi reflected in their salaries.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher floors offer nice views of Atlanta's dramatic skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachCurry, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Great to hear the majority of your stay went well. We appreciate the feedback on the internet pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

this was the best hotel I have been in. They made us comfortable from the moment we pulled up to valet parking. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. the service desk staff were friendly and polite, lots of smiles and thank-yous.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lOu195531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachCurry, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Great to hear it all went great!! Look forward to your return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I frequently stay at the Rennaisance Atlanta Midtown for business. The hotel and the guest rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The beds are more comfortable than the mine at home. While I have other hotel options in the area, I choose to stay here due to the excellent service. The front desk staff is very helpful. I frequently order room service while I'm working in my hotel room - - The staff is always friendly, accomodating and kind - - Always attentive to my needs. I frequently see Lynn and Keith delivering my food - - Excellent employees!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leticia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachCurry, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review and helping to tell the story of our hotel. Lynn and Keith will be thrilled to know your mentioned them by name. Looking forward to your next visit to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I found this hotel to be outstanding! The staff is unbelievable! I was there for a week earlier this month and everyday upon my return to the hotel I was not greeted with the standard howzit going but rather "Welcome Home." I had a few boxes of heavy brochures sent to me at the hotel but it turned out I did not need them. The next day while at the free wine tasting Troy asked me if I received my boxes and I said yes but I need to get a cart and bring them down to return them. He asked if I needed any help but I said no but he simply would not take no for an answer provided me with the FedEx paperwork picked up the boxes and took care of everything. Okay so maybe your saying big deal, so what that's what a hotel is supposed to do; well listen to this!
On the last day of our stay Akbar who greeted me with a smile everyday asked me how the trip had been going and what we were doing for dinner that night. I explained we had some great dinners at the nearby eateries but we were very disappointed that we were never able to find authentic Peach Cobbler. He insisted that we needed to find the cobbler before we went back home and asked that we follow him to the computer to find the best place. He found Mary Macs but we would have to take a cab and we really just wanted to walk to somewhere close by so he continued to look. He insisted that Mary Macs was the best but after about 5 minutes several guests had shown up to check in and the line was growing so we said thanks for all your efforts but don't worry about it. That was a big effort on his part and we really appreciated it! Ultimately we decided to have dinner at the hotel (excellent short ribs) and Akbar welcomed us back. At the end of our dinner Akbar walked up to our table and said he could not have us go home without experiencing the best cobbler in ATL and he presented us with two HOT servings of peach cobbler from Mary Macs! What, are you kidding me - this is the kind of service reserved for the Ritz Carlton not a Renaissance. I have been a heavy business traveler for 25 years and I found Akbar and the staff at this property to set the new standard for service. Stop by and say hello to Akbar - he is the man!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachCurry, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Greetings... thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with everyone. We have a very special team here and your review helps to tell our story. We look forward to your return to Atlanta!! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
1,605 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 172 in Atlanta
2,020 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
#12 of 172 in Atlanta
984 reviews
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
Address: 866 W Peachtree St, Atlanta, GA 30308
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel centrally located in Atlanta's Midtown neighborhood. This beautifully appointed Renaissance Hotel stylishly sets "Art in Motion" while surrounding you in comfort. Just blocks from the Georgia Tech campus, this sophisticated sanctuary is easily accessible to popular destinations, like the Atlanta Botanical Garden, Piedmont Park, Centennial Olympic Park, Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing