We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #137 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hotel review”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

the hotel was nice and clean the clerk jani was pleasant and made us comfortable

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    97
    74
    19
    27
See reviews for
43
65
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My decision of taking this motel was strongly based in Trip Advisor's recommendation but my surprise was too different.

External facilities (door hangers, painting, power outlets) need some maintenance, but as it has restored its rooms recently, we can understand they need a little time to refurbish the exterior.

The carpet is totally dirty, the blankets the same, desktop broken, microwave and fridge horrible dirty. The parking lot looks a horror movie totally alone and the zone a lot of homeless. At the end my wife and me change for a Hampton Inn for just $3 more (per night with hot breakfast) could you believed, amazing difference, I am sorry but I would not recommend at all this motel 6 the worst I ever visited.

Room Tip: Spend $3 more and go to another hotel I was a victim of this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Now like most reasonable people who’ve traveled a lot, we understand when you make a ‘special request’, motels can’t always meet them. We’re okay with that.

What we’re not okay with is when motel proprietors make up silly excuses to avoid honoring advertised claims. And we’re also not okay with being threatened with refusal of service. That’s exactly what happened to us here.

This was to be our 36th hotel stay in almost six months of travel across North America, and our first experience with the Motel 6 chain. It will also be our last.

We booked a week prior to our stay through the Motel 6’s national website, requesting a room with a fridge in our booking comments. The national (mobile) website lists an amenity for this motel as “Free microfridge/some rooms”. We received a confirmation booking email from Motel 6, showing our rate and our request.

We read the statement “Free microfridge/some rooms” as some rooms (not all), have free mini-fridges. On check in, we were presented with a credit card charge that exceeded the amount in our confirmation email. On querying the difference, it was firstly explained as sales tax. Now whilst we mightn’t be actuaries, even we could see the difference far exceeded any sales tax value and on querying further it became obvious there was a charge for the fridge.

Sometimes misunderstandings and miscommunications occur. And we’re reasonable people willing to overlook issues if there’s a valid explanation or compromise. This motel refused to honor the ‘free’ part of the statement, offering that to us for an additional charge and suggesting that as it wasn’t their personal website, there was no obligation on them to do so. The comedy routine got better though.

We were asked for and provided evidence of our booking, and of the statement on the Motel 6 website (it was more a demand as in ‘what website says that’). The gentleman we dealt with was not prepared to compromise on this point however. He was insistent on making his point, which simply was that the rate in his computer system for rooms with fridges, was a higher rate.

That he was rude, threatening and unwilling to compromise on such a minor point, and with such unreasonable excuses made us wonder if we were on one of those reality comedy shows – you know the ones where people are deliberately rude and antagonistic, and then the camera crew rushes out and surprises you and everyone laughs. We saw no camera crew however and the comedy routine continued with him suggesting “we can’t just give things away”.

In our view, and for most other reasonable people, failing to honor advertised claims amounts to misleading and deceptive conduct. Giving an unreasonable excuse to disassociate a chain-branded property from its’ national brand simply to avoid honoring a small commitment demonstrates a lack of integrity.

We also contacted Motel 6’s national office via their website about our issue. On the first occasion they misread our concern, seeing it simply as being we asked for a fridge and didn’t get one. On the second occasion, we received exactly the same worded, trained-monkey, form-letter response including (the almost condescending): “the experience as you described, concerns us deeply”.

And the promised action on both counts? “We’ll send your comments to our Management Team for their review”. Interpreted as ‘we’re not going to do anything with your comments – but hey, thanks for wasting your time and effort!’

We don’t appreciate or accept this type of behaviour, and chose to take our business elsewhere. And we’re no longer waiting for the camera crew to appear….

Room Tip: Choose a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Bad neighborhood combined with an older non-updated hotel. Yes it is a little cheaper than others, but trust me, spend a few extra dollars on a better hotel you will be happier!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tattedcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a deluxe Motel 6 in downtown Atlanta. This is a great place to stay, with great rooms, and free downtown parking. It is a motel of course so don't expect luxury.

Highly recommended.

We didn't see too much of Atlanta, but will next time. Of course we visited Martin Luther King's birthplace and tomb !!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter.craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Stewart, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It is hard to find places with a great hotel staff. The manager of this hotel is very polite and helpful. The hotel is in a good location. The rooms are nice you can tell that they tried to fix them up nice. I like the reading lights above the beds. Free parking is great because parking anywhere is expensive. Be prepared to bring some walking shoes if you want to walk anywhere. The hotel has City maps ask front desk. The price was great. I found it cheaper on the actual hotel website rather than on the other sites. It is not the Hyatt, but isn't a run down hotel either. Wish the soda machines on our floor weren't sold out, but they had some on the lobby level.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo State
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My decision of taking this motel was strongly based in Trip Advisor's recommendation and I have to support that recommendation.

External facilities (door hangers, painting, power outlets) need some maintenance, but as it has restored its rooms recently, we can understand they need a little time to refurbish the exterior.

Room was very nice and clean. Only missed an alarm clock, but it's not their obligation, though.

Ice machine works and was really helpful. Vending machine was sold out all the week, but it was no problem - there was one ok just one floor below.

Price was excellent and the point it is placed is a must - was pretty suitable for me.

i would expect a lot less for the price, and got very nice experience indeed!

STRONGLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Peachtrees
Inn at the Peachtrees
#93 of 174 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#43 of 174 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Address: 311 Courtland St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1212
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Atlanta, this Motel 6 provides easy access to all of Atlanta's must see attractions. This Motel 6 is just 3 blocks from Marta Train Station and within walking distance of Hard Rock Cafe, Georgia Aquarium and much more! Our Eco Friendly hotel has amenities Elevator, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Free Morning Coffee, Pet Friendly Rooms, Kids Stay Free, and Free Expanded Cable. Welcome to the City of Atlanta. Looking for something to do? Atlanta's attractions are known the world over for its parks, sports teams, shopping, museums, and entertainment. We hope you find these attractions both educational and useful. Thank you for the opportunity to show our beautiful city. Motel 6 Downtown Atlanta awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing