We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient friendly budget motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #130 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient friendly budget motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

FYI bring your own hair dryer and shampoo. Not provided in the otherwise nice rooms. CVS Pharmacy is 3 blocks walk away and you can pick up sundry items including cereal and milk there.

Got a great rate online, stayed 6 nights in room with refrig and microwave. Spacious, modestly updated, clean, bathroom has marble sink and new modern tile in shower. And importantly, no mildew or mold. Also had nice chair and desk with light for working at desktop. Front desk personnel were helpful and tried to fulfill our needs on several occasions. Parked rental car for free at Motel 6.

Across the street from Hilton, Marriott Marquis and Hyatt. 1.1 miles from Georgia Dome convention center. Nice safe walk. MARTA subway 2 bulks away. Easy ride from the airport on MARTA. 8 blocks to Georgia Aquarium, a must see, Coca cola museum, CNN and Centennial Olympic Square. WAFFLE HOUSE is 7-8 blocks also on the edge of e park. July 4 th in the Olympic Park was great! Lots of visible police presence all over downtown so visitors feel very safe. NO shopping malls, stores like Kohls or Macy's or Penneys in downtown. Must ride subway for shopping or event venues.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hightechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    97
    74
    18
    27
See reviews for
43
65
38
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

During mt stay at motel 6 downtown the staff was really friendly, as it received the package I bought online and gave me tips about the city. The room was OK, it was not as noisy as I expected because of the highway proximity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camila701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed with our dog and 12-year-old daughter. Ben (the front desk clerk) is the best feature of this hotel; he gave great directions, recommendations, and reassured the safety of staying downtown Atlanta. The free parking is a value, especially with being able to walk to the Coke museum, aquarium, centennial park, hard rock cafe, etc. Ben helped us with where to walk the dog; the area is good in the day time but after dark my husband took precautions with dog-walking. The room was clean, linen clean, and like the others said a bit noisy but a wonderful value, especially if staying with a pet (no pet fee). Thank you Ben!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

By far the WORST service and accomodation. All I can say is that you might as well spend the money and stay somewhere decent. The person in charge was awful. The hotel was in poor condition. The ac was out and dirty. The smell was awful. Just overall a piece of sh** place and service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

If you are on a budget and are not going to stay in your room very much, this hotel is for you. Bring your earplugs though, the walls are really thin. There is a major highway right outside the window, you can hear your neighbors very well, and you can hear doors slamming in the hallway.

The beds were cheap, but not bad. I did have a pretty big cigarette burn on one of my blankets which was quite gross.

The hallway and doors do need painting very badly. The carpet is okay though. I did like the locking doors on the second floor. This hotel is not in the greatest part of town, but not the worst.

For the good things about this hotel, location, location, location. It is close to all the tourist attractions, including CNN, the aquarium, and the world of Coke.

The front desk gentleman, Ben, was awesome. He was very informative, very helpful, and he seemed to genuinely love his job.

All in all, if i travel back to Atlanta, I will spend the extra money to stay in a nicer hotel. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisgirllikestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hello Travelers!!!
Well my thoughts and opinion of this Motel 6 are great ones. This was my very 1st time in Atlanta and for the location and fairly priced room, it's a "can't beat it" deal. This Motel is conveniently located near all attractions for family, couples or singles.My room was on the 2nd floor and I found it very safe and secure that to enter the second floor required key access (wonderful perk).We also had a wonderful full view of the Atlanta highway which was a nice view since we were 1st time visitors. My only gripe was that the check-out time was at 11 a.m opposed to 12 p.m like other motels. All and all my experience with the hotel was a very good experience, so hope you also enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nifeesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We decided to take a last-minute weekend trip to Atlanta, and were surprised to find a place downtown for such a reasonable price. Even though it's literally right next door to the Hilton, the free wifi and free parking made it an even better deal in such a prime location. My wife and I typically choose cheap rooms since we travel to see the sites and not hang out in the room watching tv. If this is your style too, I strongly recommend the downtown motel 6. Super helpful and friendly staff too.

But now for the bad news. Just on the other side of the hotel and down an embankment is a major highway. If you have any sensitivity to noise you better bring the earplugs to get any sleep.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel might be a little quieter as it is further from the road. Enjoy the free park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Peachtrees
Inn at the Peachtrees
#93 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Address: 311 Courtland St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1212
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Atlanta, this Motel 6 provides easy access to all of Atlanta's must see attractions. This Motel 6 is just 3 blocks from Marta Train Station and within walking distance of Hard Rock Cafe, Georgia Aquarium and much more! Our Eco Friendly hotel has amenities Elevator, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Free Morning Coffee, Pet Friendly Rooms, Kids Stay Free, and Free Expanded Cable. Welcome to the City of Atlanta. Looking for something to do? Atlanta's attractions are known the world over for its parks, sports teams, shopping, museums, and entertainment. We hope you find these attractions both educational and useful. Thank you for the opportunity to show our beautiful city. Motel 6 Downtown Atlanta awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing