We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Worst Alternative"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #129 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Worst Alternative"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has all the potentials to be one of the best alternatives being located amidst the 5star likes of Hilton, Marriott and co. Their price is the only thing that reflects the alternative. Every thing else is completely out of place.
I had a security issue-an attempted break-in which I complained about and mailed the Manager. It was of no use. There rooms though cleaned daily still show dust here and there.
I think this place can be much better than this. Thanks to Mr Ben who convinced me to stay on after I had issues with the wifi in room 222. Had to change rooms the next day rather than checking out because of his being nice. Like I did state earlier it's the "worst alternative".

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    97
    74
    18
    27
See reviews for
43
65
38
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Bronxreviewer sums it up well, so read his review too. It is a great deal, close to other hotels and downtown, but in a quiet block. Free Internet and free parking (one car) is awesome. Much nicer looking than a typical Motel 6 due to recent renovations. That said, it still is a motel 6 - bed wasn't great, no breakfast, etc. But for less than 1/2 the price of other hotels nearby, I got a great deal. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Enterprise has an office next door and other car rental places are just down the street. Also, ask for a room facing away from the highway if you can. Not sure if the noise is a problem, but I wasn't taking chances.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red10dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Management at this hotel on 1/28/14 and 1/29/14 would not allow stranded motorists to warm up in their parking lot, even though the city was in a declared State of Emergency, and the motorists had been stranded for over 11 hours in below-freezing weather. When asked via telephone to please allow the motorists to use the parking lot, the manager or owner yelled that it was private property and hung up.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancer1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Holland, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here because I had no choice- everything was booked. It's still in walkable distance to many things, like the AmericasMart buildings I was visiting.

The lobby was being renovated, which was no big deal. The elevator is old and worn, as is most of the building. Right across from my room was a room with at least 2 barking dogs, but they eventually quieted down.

The room was standard non-upgraded 70's or 80's motel. The bathroom fixtures were loose. Decent place to sleep, but they, like the other hotels in the area, jacked up prices for the event. Unlike previous hotels I had stayed in, there was no fridge or microwave.

The front desk staff was very busy but also very friendly. This would be a stopover on a highway going somewhere, but definitely overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonds77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The room was clean. It has daily cleaning and changing towels. It 's small, but there are desk and hangers for clothes. The best thing, besides the price, it is close to the metro, Peachtree Street and some touristic places. The guy in the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivabraga001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for a conference. The location was great. Just a few blocks from Peachtree center, trains, and convention hotels. Easy walk to Underground Atlanta, CNN, World of Coke, Aquarium, and the Olympic park. It was only about a mile to mid-town, GA tech, and the capitol. The price was right being well under half of the neighboring full-service hotels. The beds were fine, and no bugs. The good points stop about there. The common areas were old and dirty. Elevator was questionable, but made it up to 3rd floor the one time I attempted it. There is really only one way in (the front door) - then key access to each floor - so relatively secure. The rooms had been updated - especially the shower wall tiles, toilet & sink - but installation of those were even starting to show their wear. Leaking showerhead with flange no longer attached to the wall. The floor of the bathroom, the desktop and the desk chair were dirty when I checked in. I would stay here again to be on the cheap, but would certainly advise bringing antibac wipes for a quick wipe down before use. Restaurant and Fitness Center? no, not at this place.

Room Tip: Rooms with micro fridges are all on the highway side and road noise was a problem. First floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdsanantontio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

all the good things all others have said are true. some people want the amenities of a Hilton for the price of a budget hotel. clean, safe, interior corridors. right next to the Hilton so you can go through their lobby and connect to the Marriott and hyatt straight to peachtree station in bad weather or at night. staff could not be more helpful. they really know the city and can tailor suggestions for clients' needs-- women, elderly, children. would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room. I did notice a few downstairs with a door to the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Peachtrees
Inn at the Peachtrees
#93 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Address: 311 Courtland St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1212
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Atlanta, this Motel 6 provides easy access to all of Atlanta's must see attractions. This Motel 6 is just 3 blocks from Marta Train Station and within walking distance of Hard Rock Cafe, Georgia Aquarium and much more! Our Eco Friendly hotel has amenities Elevator, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Free Morning Coffee, Pet Friendly Rooms, Kids Stay Free, and Free Expanded Cable. Welcome to the City of Atlanta. Looking for something to do? Atlanta's attractions are known the world over for its parks, sports teams, shopping, museums, and entertainment. We hope you find these attractions both educational and useful. Thank you for the opportunity to show our beautiful city. Motel 6 Downtown Atlanta awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing