We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, with a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is about 2 years old, in a complex that is connected to the airport via a rail link. (NOTE: This raik link is a rail spur that ONLY goes to this hotel/convention area, and the car rental center. The rail to downtown Atlanta and elsewhere is MARTA, which is different. Also note-there is also a "Convention Center" in downtown Atlanta; this is a different one). The hotel is modern, and nice. Not the quietest, so you will hear plane and rail noise. Service is friendly, but we did have to deal with several glitches-confusion over our checkout date which repeatedly voided our room keys; glitches with the parking; slow service in the restaurant. Fitness center is nice, bright, but no cups, pool was locked one morning-you get the picture.

This hotel is best for those who are doing things at the GATEWAY Convention Center, or are staying there during an airport connection/early departure/missed flight. The rail link is reliable and convenient!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for an overnight while awaiting a morning flight. Access to/from the airport is super easy via the new train. Rooms were quiet, clean, and comfortable. Desk service was also very nice. I could easily stay here again when travel plans require an overnight in Atlanta.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooneynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

If you have an early flight at the Atlanta airport, or miss your connection (like I did thanks to Delta's lack of courtesy and consideration), this hotel will serve you well. Take th Skytrain from the terminal to the hotel and get there in 3 minutes. The rooms are very clean and large. The staff is real friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowFtLaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights this past week, the first time for an overnight in Atlanta prior to our trip to St. Lucia, and again on the trip home due to Delta's delays causing us to miss our connection home. I was so impressed with the hotel the week before that I told my husband that if Delta didn't give us a voucher for this hotel we would pay for it ourselves and stay here. Good thing for Delta (I was furious with them and the reasons for their delays...) that the Delta agent rebooking us pulled up a voucher for the Marriott!

The room is very nice, brand new, soundproof and the bed is extremely comfortable. I never heard a plane once. When they tell you it's a 2 minute ride from the skytrain they mean it! We got our luggage in baggage claim, walked out the door and were checked in and in our room in under 15 minutes from the time we collected our bags! The lobby is gorgeous and the lobby bar very nice as well.

We ate at Champions which is their restaurant and sports bar. While the atmosphere is great the service is absolutely TERRIBLE in the bar area! I agree completely with a previous posters review of the bar. I really don't understand it at all. I almost wish we had sat in the restaurant once to see if it was soley a bar staff thing or the restaurant itself. I'm inclined to think it's the bar staff because I would have to ask 2 or 3 times for another glass of wine or a glass of water. We ordered dinner and waited forever for it. ON our 2nd night there we were there very late, around 11:30. I was exhausted from all of the lines to wait for vouchers etc for our missed connection. I ordered a drink and an appetizer as did my husband. Our drinks came right away but I had to ask 3 times for some water to take some motrin. I watched our waitress just hanging out at the bar. I saw other patrons waiting forever as well for food unhappily. After waiting about 25 minutes for our appetizers I finally flagged our waitress over and told her we were exhausted and just wanted to leave. She went quickly back to the kitchen and "voila" our food appeared. The bar servers have to physically walk back to the kitchen to check on the food and if they get caught up in something else you're not going to see your food for a LONG time. Food was good, just terrible service. If you want to eat here and don't want to linger, DON'T sit in the bar!

This would always be my choice in hotel while staying in Atlanta for an overnight before or after a flight. Highly recommend just don't sit in the bar if you're in a hurry.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RP8133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

1 night stay for business meeting. The room was clean, bed was very comfortable, shower was great...and they have room service! Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a new hotel, nicely appointed, but I stayed over on a Saturday night and the service was not up to Marriott standards at all. I stay at Marriott's almost exclusively when traveling (at least 50 nights per year) and therefore have several points of comparison with previous stays at other properties. On Saturday night, the hotel was busy but not packed and yet bar service was slow and the bartender had an attitude. She took my drink order and then proceeded to head down to the other end of the bar and socialize for at least 10 min. and never did serve my beer. Instead, the food and beverage manager asked what I had ordered after he realized no one was getting my order and poured it for me. The bartender then came back apparently perturbed that he had done that and didn't say a word to me for the rest of the evening. By the way, the tap was about 12 inches from my hand and I was considering a self-service option. I then ordered a burger and it arrived an hour later after 5 different people were supposedly "checking on it." There is also a problem with the cable reception (at least in my room) and the Internet service, both wired and wireless was horribly slow as well. Also, there are no pay per view movies, which is very unusual for a full-service Marriott. Finally, in the morning I went into the bathroom off the lobby, and while I'll spare you the details, suffice to say it hadn't been cleaned in a while. The one bright spot is that the food and beverage manager was very apologetic and did comp my burger, so maybe there are some bright spots in the service spectrum. However, overall this property needs work in the training area, or perhaps should consider hiring some new staff for key positions. Definitely not up to Marriott standards.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The staff, the service and the restaurant at this hotel were all amazing. Very convenient and easy to get to from sky train. Will definitely stay here again. Good job Mariott!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Atlanta Airport
#104 of 174 in Atlanta
162 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 174 in Atlanta
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Address: 2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337-4200
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £118 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway, a Silver LEED-certified hotel in Atlanta, Georgia situated just a 2-minute free ride away from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport via the ATL SkyTrain. As one of the top hotels at the Atlanta Airport, comfortable and convenient Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway boasts over 400 guest rooms and hotel suites with soundproof windows, iHome accessories and spacious work areas. With more than 21,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is ideal for productive meetings and sophisticated soirees. Plus, as one of the premier hotels near Georgia International Convention Center, guests can take advantage of an additional 400,000 square feet of technologically advanced event space, just steps away. Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway is an excellent landing, perfect for family reunions, corporate gatherings or your next Atlanta layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing