We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent - good staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
Ranked #13 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Decent - good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed there on two occasions this month for overnight flights in Atlanta.

Some pros:

(1)Check-in time is quick. Staff (Mr Dupree) was very helpful and tried to look after everything, answered all my questions;
(2)Just a couple of meters on the ATL Skytrain station. GICC Station.
(3)Kitchen opened late. Probably until midnite or 11.30 PM. The bar closes at 1.00 AM
(4)Rooms and bed comfortable. Rooms will need to be ...refreshed in 3-5 years I suppose.
(5)Check-in facilities (didnt try) available in the lobby for some airlines like Delta
(6)Like in many big hotels, there is a store where you can by water, candies, and some other stuff.
(7)Restaurant food was inexpensive. Portions... too generous. Service impeccable. Very kind service there. Local beers on the menu.

Things to consider
1- There is a pool. Will you take the privilege to use it if you are on an overnight flight?
2- The flexibility offered by the "ATL skytrain" is what you are looking for to avoid hotel shuttles. Please note a Marriott Fairfield hotel was right accross the street form this hotel.
3- If you are not overly stressed by the commute between hotels and terminals, then most hotels offer free shuttle service. Chances are the commute time could be very similar if you go to the international terminal.

About the ATL-Skytrain (one of this hotel's main assets)
(1)The ATL Skytrain is located at the exit of the domestic terminal. If you land in the domestic terminal and have to reach the Skytrain to get to this hotel, you may notice that informations in the airport terminal are not always 100% clear. Don,t bother, take your luggage from the carousel and just reach for the nearest exit. The ATL-Skytrain station is outside the terminal. Signs are clrearer outside.
(2) If you are landing in the international terminal, you will need to reach for the free shuttle bus that takes you to the DOMESTIC terminal. The terminus of this 10 minutes ride is the ATL Skytrain/domestic terminal that you will take to reach your hotel.
(3) If you leave the hotel to reach the international terminal, you will take the ATL skytrain to the domestic terminal, where you can then take the shuttle bus that will bring you to the international terminal.
(4) ATL-Skytrain runs 24 hours, but from 1 PM to 5PM, you need to push a button to "call" the train to pick you up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    337
    58
    27
    16
See reviews for
187
240
84
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
191 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is comfortable, convenient, and had great staff all around. I enjoyed room service several mornings (limited menu, but enough), had very good encounters with staff at the front desk and on the phone. When the water wasn't draining quickly from my bath, the maintenance engineer came up immediately and solved the problem. The beds make for a good night's sleep. I had breakfast in the Champions restaurant on my final morning, and found the buffet to be great value and of good quality for an American hotel. I was surprised to see Thaan products from Thailand in the bathroom! They are rather expensive in Asia and smell wonderful. Finally, the rate of $119 per night was very reasonable, though I wish they would just include the Internet access in the rate and not nickel and dime guests with an additional $9.95 per day. Doesn't everyone require Internet access these days? Would a rate of $129 really deter people from staying, especially if you know there is "free" Internet access in the room?

I have one complaint and one caution. The room is dusty. I had to dust with a washcloth each night. I think the filtration system on the very powerful air conditioner needs cleaning. Also, if you are arriving on an international flight, this hotel is not as convenient as you would hope for. You have to take a shuttle over to the domestic terminal in order to get on the skytrain to the hotel, which takes about 15-20 minutes. Arriving and departing from the domestic end of things, the location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Loved the hotel and the exceptionally friendly staff who could not do too much for you. We will definitely use the hotel again and only 5 minutes from the Airport. Not many negatives at all and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Budapest_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked in here after a long 9 hour flight with two little kids.
.
The room was huge.
The bed was the most comfy I've ever known .
I think we had the best night sleep ever.
The staff were helpful and kind.
Room services was out of this world.
My son said the fries were the best he's ever tasted and I'm inclined to agree.
Everything was top class. Perfect for weary travellers.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding .
Everyone enjoyed trying all of the different American breakfast dishes.
I would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel very well located from domestic terminal and rental car center (although international arrivals are required to get a shuttle and the transit train). Very modern design, good clean rooms and a pool and fitness suite which was useful to relax after a long flight. No aircraft or any other noise of note. Food and drinks at the bar were fine, there was also a full service restaurant that we didn't use. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, was very good. A nice buffet range of fruits, cereals, breads and meats, with hot food and something some 5-star hotels can't manage, a chef cooking omelettes to order. Highly recommended hotel, particularly if you are either renting a car or flying domestic in the morning, it will allow an extra few minutes sleep.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoschton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Excellent Choice for business meetings. The Tram from the airport makes this a super convenient place to get to from the airport. The meeting rooms are perfect for small to medium size meetings.

The staff and service are excellent. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The CL is large for a hotel this size and well staffed.

There is a sports bar off the lobby that I would actually go to eat at when not staying at this hotel.

The rooms tend to be a bit more than other Marriott properties near the airport but it is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have just joined Trip Advisor and my stay was a few years ago but because this place was so excellent I still remember every part of my stay and just had to write a review. When we arrived there was a long lineup at the check in but, the employee checking us in immediately apologized for the wait and included wifi for no cost in our room. The room was so clean I could sleep on the floor and not worry about it. The best part was the view of ATL as I enjoy watching the traffic fly out of the world's busiest airport. Those of you who are reading this review, do not worry about noise from the airport because, this hotel allows no outside noise. Finally the automated train system to the airport and car rental is very convenient. My only negative was the elevator in the parking garage was very slow and could become very crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
1.3 mi away
Atlanta Airport Marriott
Atlanta Airport Marriott
#4 of 26 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport - North
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Atlanta Airport Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Airport North
2.1 mi away
Hilton Atlanta Airport
Hilton Atlanta Airport
#87 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Property: Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
Address: 2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337-4200
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#17 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway hotel, a Silver LEED-certified hotel after a 2-minute free ride on the ATL SkyTrain from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport. As one of the top hotels at the Atlanta Airport, Marriott Gateway boasts over 400 guest rooms and hotel suites with soundproof windows, iHome accessories and spacious work areas. Guests will enjoy unique and contemporary amenities at this hotel, including a refreshing indoor saline pool and savory cuisine and cocktails at Champions. With more than 21,000 square feet of meeting space, Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway is ideal for productive meetings and sophisticated soirees. Plus, as one of the premier hotels near Georgia International Convention Center, guests can take advantage of an additional 400,000 square feet of technologically advanced event space, just steps away. The Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway is an excellent landing, perfect for family reunions, corporate gatherings or your next Atlanta layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing