We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”

The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse
Ranked #32 of 291 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the Atlanta Shakespeare Company, the Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse on Peachtree Street has an enchanting history and a prime location in downtown Atlanta. We are a professional theatre with food and drinks available before each performance (and don't forget the apple crisp at intermission!)
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a great time here. I'm not generally a huge Shakespeare fan, but this company made Shakespeare interesting and relatable. We saw A Comedy of Errors, which was hilarious with their physical comedy. Everyone did a great job, really giving it their all. The food was so-so, but that's to be expected. I'd go again if I'm ever in Atlanta again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    67
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I'm a bit of a theater freak (chair the board of an Off-broadway theater, etc.). So I wanted to see the Shakespeare Tavern while I was in Atlanta. I love the idea and the experience -- somewhat original production, food was reasonable, good sightlines, and Shakespeare with all the intimidation removed. The play that evening was Comedy of Errors, one of the earliest plays and a short one and a farcical one. Atlanta Shakespeare played up the farcical elements with lots of physical humor. Probably the correct artistic choice, but the trade-off was a ittle loss of the beauty of the language (yes, even in CoE). Again, not a major fault; it was the logical director decision. But it would be interesting to see what they do with a major tragedy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun night, great play!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been to the Shakespeare Tavern many times and it's always a lot of fun. The staff is friendly, food is good, and the plays are always very well done. We saw Comedy of Errors this time and it was hilarious. The actors make Shakespeare understandable and make the audience feel like they're part of the experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's pub food.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a fine place for a pre-show meal at the Shakespeare Tavern. Obviously convenient. Food is served cafeteria style, and is fine for what it is. Pub food: Shepherd's pie, Cornish pasty, etc. Reasonably priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eygene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Excellent production of Macbeth. This playhouse consistently delivers outstanding performances. We attended the matinee on Thursday with lots of extremely well-behaved middle and high school students. We go at least once a year. TIP: Get there early to get front row seats -- seating is flat ex for balconies.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TNADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing