We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay in Atlanta!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 22 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My family (three of us--my husband, 4 year old son, and I) stayed at The Social Goat B&B on recommendation from a local friend, as we came from out of town to take my son to the Georgia Aquarium. We're so happy we found this place! It was cheaper and nicer than any of the downtown hotels, and it was right in Grant Park, which is a funky neighborhood with lots of stuff to do (farmer's market, awesome cafes, great food).

We stayed in the third floor suite back in August, and it was enormous and beautiful. We had brought an aerobed for our son, only to find when we got there that Kristy & Paul had made up a separate bed for him, which was terrific. The room is definitely big enough to sleep 2 adults and 2 kids too, and has its own thermostat, which is always helpful. Kristy was great about showing my son the goats and turkeys on the property, which he loved. The house is pristine, spotless, and beautifully restored and decorated, and the hospitality (and breakfast) were wonderful. Kristy & Paul were welcoming, let us store stuff for our son in the fridge downstairs, and gave us directions to various locales. The B&B is also literally right next to the great zoo, and a super-short drive (like 5 minutes) from tons of really kid-friendly restaurants in Grant Park (like Dakota Blue, which actually has a toy box next to the booths).

Highly recommended for families with kids!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rika99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Social Goat this past summer - I picked this B&B over all the other places in Atlanta because of the promise of a goat farm in the backyard. I was not disappointed - Kirstie, the owner, allowed me to "meet and greet" the resident 2 goats, the 3 turkeys, and a bunch of chickens. For this experience alone I would recommend the Social Goat!

This B&B has only been open for a year, though, and having stayed in many B&Bs, it shows - for starters, there was no one there when we arrived, and we had to wait outside for 10-15 minutes for someone to let us in. The street the Inn is on isn't the most inviting (though the neighborhood, on further inspection, is lovely) so this wasn't great. We were also never given a wireless password, and there didn't seem to be anyone around after we got back from dinner to ask for it. Though having said that, Kirstie and her husband had given us a ride to dinner, which was great. Plus, our room (double, with its own balcony and with a shared bathroom) was beautiful - though I would remind travellers to bring their own shampoo and soap!

The other guests staying at the B&B told us that they are putting in an ampitheatre in the back to deal with all the wedding requests they are getting - I'd definitely come back in the future to see how it turns out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grey0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

If you're looking for a fun, unique place to stay, this is it! The small barnyard and 2 adorable miniature goats (Sherman and Tullulah) give unbelievable charm to this Atlanta Bed and Breakfast. We were able to spend quite a bit of time in the large pen area with the animals, and learned a lot about them from owners Kristie and Paul. You have to watch Paul play with Sherman...he can get the goat to hop around on his back legs, hilarious! The goats really do like to socialize and I ended up with one of them in my lap at one point.

When we returned from dinner that night one of the sweet cats came running over to us for attention. So we sat on the comfy wicker furniture on the back porch and petted him for a long time before retiring to the Carriage House.

The Carriage House was so lovely! Very spacious and oh so private since it's removed from the main house. The living room has a cool peaked ceiling and stained glass windows. Nice bathroom and bedroom, cozy soft bed. Overall very roomy and private which is what we wanted and didn't mind paying for. Kristie noticed a comment I made about liking to sleep in, so she offered to bring our breakfast to the Carriage House at 9 am so we could enjoy it at our leisure. Wow that was so thoughtful! There's a microwave and stove so you can heat anything up if needed, and you can brew your own coffee in the kitchen when you're ready.

I am a very light sleeper, so I always travel with a small fan for white noise. If I didn't have my fan, I may have heard the air conditioning cycling on and off since the mechanicals were on the other side of one bedroom wall. But it wasn't an issue. We were also glad we brought the fan because it helped move the air- there's no ceiling fan in the bedroom and the a/c wasn't super-strong in that room.

Spending time with the animals was really the highlight of this place for us. It was something different and we enjoyed it immensely!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiamelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ヨンヨン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: het hog house is ideaal voor om privacy te combineren met een B&B sfeer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyvl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxthedoktor_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,757 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,348 reviews
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#97 of 173 in Atlanta
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 548 Robinson Ave SE, Atlanta, GA 30315-2035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Grant Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast located in downtown Atlanta, Georgia with a small city farm. 1900 Victorian fully restored with modern amenities. We have Nigerian dwarf goats, chickens and wild turkeys with a miniature barn that guests can visit. Located just blocks from the Zoo Atlanta and Grant Park. Convenient to area attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing