We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Frankly, the name put me off initially - but that was quickly dispelled. This is a fine B&B in Atlanta. We were there only one night and did not have time to look around the area, but it seemed pretty convenient to a number of places. It is set well back from the road and was quiet. Yes, there are goats, and turkeys and various other beasts - all pets to the owner - but it was not off-putting at all; kind of charming, in fact. Big house, big rooms, enormous bath with a big shower, all excellent. Owner was very helpful in pinpointing good places to eat within reasonable distance. Breakfast was very good, with plenty to eat; excellent pancakes with at least 6 different syrups from which to choose. Very convenient to Atlanta Airport as well. Not the cheapest place you'll find, but was great for our requirements. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Travelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were traveling to Atlanta with our baby for a last minute trip to meet up with some friends. We called The Social Goat in route to Atlanta and Kristy suggested the Carriage House. When we arrived we found the property was beautifully laid out and unique. The Carriage House was very clean and roomy. The pictures on the website are accurate. The bed was super comfortable and we all slept great! She even offered a pack-n-play to us but we brought one. Breakfast the next morning was very tasty! Kristy is a great cook! While visiting we got to interact with the animals and our baby loved it. All the animals are friendly and so fun to watch.
The Social Goat is very close to the Zoo and many other attractions in Atlanta. Many are within walking distance. Kristy also has a wealth of knowledge about attractions and restaurants if you need suggestions.
We will be coming back to The Social Goat the next time we stay in Atlanta!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here at the suggestion of an Atlanta couple recommending lodging for their wedding party and close friends, and they were spot on. The owner's took exceptional pride and care in restoring and rebuilding an old home ravaged by a wind storm and termites. Their attention to detail in the reconstruction is worth a visit all by itself. On the first floor in the main house are several sitting rooms where you can relax along with a large dining room, and kitchen. As we were there over the holidays, one of the sitting rooms was beautifully decorated. Breakfasts were quite good. The grounds were most interesting with, yes goats and turkeys and chickens and several outdoor sitting areas.

We stayed in The Master Suite which was huge, but a bit pricey at $240/night. You could hold a dance in our suite without any difficulty. And an added benefit were ladybugs high up in the corners of a few ceilings.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les80435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A really wonderful inn. The house is immaculately kept. The breakfast (made from newly laid eggs produced by the inn's own hens) delicious -- and Kristy is a kind and thoughtful host. Besides the hens, there are goats, varicolored turkeys and 3 charming cats, so it's a welcoming place, full of life, comfort, and amusement. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Beautiful property and friendly critters! Kristy was very helpful and kind! My husband and I enjoyed a quick stop into the city for the weekend. Great location! Very easy to get to all areas of Atlanta from this B&B but way better than staying in an expensive hotel. This venue also accommodates small weddings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Yellow Room which has a pretty little balcony overlooking the farm :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChelseaD508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife and I usually stay at the Buckhead Intercontinental or downtown Ritz, but this past Friday night everything was booked due to The Mart being in town. Scoured TA for something different, a B&B on the E/SE part of Atlanta, and fortunately found The Social Goat. Nestled in a resurging neighborhood bordering Grant Park is this beautifully and carefully restored 3 story home and an assortment of goats, turkeys, chickens, and 2 charming cats (and I'm not a "cat person"). The proprietor, Kristy, has a contagious passion for her place, having personally labored in its design and construction, and people. Most B&B owners are very personable, but she goes the extra and welcomed mile in making you feel at home on the farm. She is very knowledgable of the many small and interesting restaurants and shops within easy distance, and is the perfect host. The antiques are unique and the decor and design blend the old with new very well. We stayed in the spacious room on the second floor, and were more than pleased.
This is an oasis of tranquility in a bustling city that shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Just returned home from two nights at the Social Goat and can't speak more highly of our experience. We stayed in the third floor suite which is huge-- comfortable beds, plenty of space for lounging around and a great view of the goat, turkey and chicken activities out back. Breakfast both mornings was delicious and plentiful and innkeeper Kristy did a great job making us feel welcome and at home. The location of the inn is very convenient for hopping around midtown. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beckaboo312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
1,715 reviews
Ellis Hotel
#48 of 172 in Atlanta
1,423 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 172 in Atlanta
2,267 reviews
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 548 Robinson Ave SE, Atlanta, GA 30315-2035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Grant Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast located in downtown Atlanta, Georgia with a small city farm. 1900 Victorian fully restored with modern amenities. We have Nigerian dwarf goats, chickens and wild turkeys with a miniature barn that guests can visit. Located just blocks from the Zoo Atlanta and Grant Park. Convenient to area attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing