We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so charming!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
2 reviews
“so charming!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I loved this B&B. Kristy is this amazing talent--decorating, landscape design, and a wonderful host. The goats, turkeys, and chickens make for much entertainment and laughter!! Definitely a favorite--and we stay at lots of B&Bs!!! We stayed in the carriage house--loved it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House--it is wonderful--king size bed, kitchen, nice living room--everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhite1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
52
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this unique property a short drive from the Zoo and Grants park. Although the name initially caught my eye, it was the promise of friendly cats which made me book a visit and I was even more delighted to find a teeny tiny kitten had just moved in! The house is amazing, our room had a balcony with a day bed on it so we could sit out on that, and from it there was a great view of the back garden and the other animals - turkeys, hens, goats. There was an outdoor fireplace where we sat one evening, it was really pretty and secluded. Kristy was extremely helpful throughout, and gave us good suggestions of places to go - we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: yellow room has the balcony for a view of the rear garden, and a day bed out there to relax on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackshear, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Several weeks ago my husband and I were heading to Atlanta with reservations at The Social Goat (Yellow Room) for a Saturday night. At the last minute we learned that our son from Dallas was close enough by on business that if we reached Atlanta early we could all rendezvous. A quick call to Kristy and a little luck (there was one vacant space, The Carriage House, which was perfect for the 3 of us for Friday night) and we were set! We couldn't believe how nice the whole place was ~ and how central. Kristy was wonderful. She showed us around the farm, introducing us to the animals and patiently answering our questions. She gave us several suggestions for dinner ~ our son is still talking about Six Feet Under, the seafood restaurant she recommended with a lively rooftop bar and terrific food. We were able to get out and walk to and around Grant Park and the zoo. Saw some great restored cottages and bungalows. The breakfasts (both days) were fantastic! The pancakes were soft and delicious, with nice crispy edges. We felt entirely pampered. Kristy's husband, Paul, was also helpful and pleasant, with a sense of humor we enjoyed. Our son left the second day and Kristy was helpful to us as we moved over to the Yellow Room, seeing that it was prepared early so we could get settled before attending an early afternoon event in town. The Yellow Room was lovely as well, and the bathroom across the hall presented no problem - It was right across the hall and completely private (and extremely nice as well!)We will look forward to returning to The Social Goat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLB1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I visit Atlanta from time to time, and we decided to stay here for a night (after a Braves-Reds baseball game). This B&B is located near Grant Park, about a mile and a half from the stadium (a short 5 minute drive). We booked the room on the 3rd floor, and it was huge! The room could have comfortably slept 5 people. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent as well - fresh eggs from the hen house, bacon, and pecan pancakes. The cats were very friendly, as well as the goats and turkeys.

Kristy was a wonderful host, and we absolutely loved our stay! A few other notes about the area. We loved the location, since it is so close to the stadium. There are plenty of lunch/dinner options in the Grant Park area, plus the zoo is right down the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osunut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 days in late July 2013 and loved every minute of it! Kristy is an awesome hostess who is passionate about her guests as well as being a fantastic cook! I will definitely be ditchin hotels in favor of 'The Goat' any time Im in or around the Atlanta area. Thanks Kristy and Paul

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imatheneach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room and the house interior are beautiful. The gardens are well maintained and the animals are cute, except the turkeys I never realized how ugly they are until I got to see them close up at the B and B.

Breakfast was fantastic both days. The pancakes were really nice on the first day and on the second we had french toast. I am normally not a fan but this was delicious.

My husband really liked the cats especially Monkey who if you let him will come and hang out with you in your room.

In regards to location it was not too far from downtown. The owner even drove us to the closest train (Marta) station so we could use public transport. We got the bus back and it stops a street away.

Overall a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Social Goat while in Atlanta for the night on our way to NC for our honeymoon. Kristy was great! She left us a key and allowed us to leave our luggage in the house while we checked out some sights. We stayed in the Master Suite and it was perfect! I knew my husband wouldn't go for sharing a bathroom with other guests on our honeymoon and the jacuzzi tub was an added bonus!! The ceiling fan and ac weren't working in the room, but the weather was so nice outside we just opened the windows and Kristy gave us a portable fan. Breakfast was delicious! I found out later my husband had wanted done of the fresh eggs, but I'm sure if he had asked she would have gladly made him some! As we were leaving I was impressed when she discounted our room for the ac!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#14 of 171 in Atlanta
1,694 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 171 in Atlanta
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#43 of 171 in Atlanta
3,092 reviews
Ellis Hotel
#48 of 171 in Atlanta
1,390 reviews
Buckhead
Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Social Goat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 548 Robinson Ave SE, Atlanta, GA 30315-2035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Grant Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast located in downtown Atlanta, Georgia with a small city farm. 1900 Victorian fully restored with modern amenities. We have Nigerian dwarf goats, chickens and wild turkeys with a miniature barn that guests can visit. Located just blocks from the Zoo Atlanta and Grant Park. Convenient to area attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing