We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly nice place to stay in downtown Atlanta - pool two tennis courts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #91 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Michigan
Level Contributor
269 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Perfectly nice place to stay in downtown Atlanta - pool two tennis courts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This Hilton is clearly an older property but has been updated and is a very clean, comfortable place to stay in downtown Atlanta. I only gave it an average rating because you might be able to find a more modern hotel for the same or better price in the area. Rooms do have all the technical amenities - flat screen tv, internet access, lots of outlets etc - but the plumbing, for example, isn't the best. Took 10 minutes to get hot water in the shower, shower heads were old and sprayed water all over, etc. Also, the main areas weren't what I would call "attractive". There appeared to be a very nice exercise facitity and an outdoor pool and two tennis courts - a real plus in the city! So if the price is right, you like Hilton's or want a pool and/or tennis courts this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatienceWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to water temperature. We encountered an issue with our water heater and it was quickly addressed, however, I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently replacing our old unit and don't foresee any additional issues. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    1,125
    887
    423
    228
See reviews for
599
649
208
1,615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was by far the most disappointing stay I've ever had at ANY Hilton. Before I left the Front Desk, I checked to confirm that I had received my requested room-type and was told I had not. I understand that happens, but when I asked if a room with just one bed was available, I was given an abrupt "NO" without anyone ever actually bothering to look at a computer monitor or press a single key on a keyboard. No apology, and no effort - Nice start to the stay. Unfortunately, things did not improve from there. My room had a strong unpleasant smell of mold / mildew / ???, and the bathroom floor was so gross that I did not want to walk on it without shoes. Exec Lounge breakfast was minimal. On the plus-side, the gym was pretty descent, the restaurant downstairs served food late into the evening, and the staff there were very nice. Ultimately though I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Period
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
I appreciate your candid review of your recent stay with our hotel. I apologize for the room assignment not meeting your expectations as comfort and safety is my highest priority for our guests. While room type requests cannot be met every time, I have reviewed your comments with our front desk team. However, I would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in your guestroom. I've worked with the appropriate team members to ensure that we correct all issues. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable beds. The lobby around the elevator is in need of a re-paint as it is looking a little tired. Repeated struggles with inoperable room key card, but these are minor concerns against an otherwise very clean hotel with great breakfast and dinner service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoVisentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of our lobby. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

The rooms were in very good condition and were attractive and clean. The service was very good and Starbucks (in the lobby) was open 24 hours a day and had free WiFi. The only negative was that the common areas, such as hallways, lobbies and lounges, looked a little out of date, especially compared to the Marriott across the street. However, I was able to book a room at the Hilton Atlanta for $100 less per night than at the Marriott, more than off-setting the slightly out-of-date common areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel after receiving a really good rate on Hotwire. When we arrived, we were pleased to find the room very clean and comfortable with high quality linens. No problems with the bathroom or the shower, and I thought that the water pressure was pretty good for a hotel. We tried to save money on parking by using a public lot and misread the expiration time on our ticket. As a result, we were booted, and had to pay $75. Just note: overnight hotel parking costs $14/day and expires at noon the next day (not midnight). We used an outside lot, and felt safe using it over the weekend as the area has a lot of foot traffic, even at night. There is a ton of public parking within easy walking distance of the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants, a food court and a 24h CVS within easy walking distance. The walk to the aquarium is a moderate one (but with an uphill stretch when you return to the hotel). I'd be happy to stay there again for a discounted rate, or if I were attending a conference.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank economom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Overall, I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the location. My colleague and I were staying in this hotel for three nights for a professional conference which was taking place in the Marriot across the street. With that being said, my colleague and I were relieved that we could just walk across the sky bridge to Marriot to get to our conference.

To save money, we decided to drive down from Raleigh, NC. On the hotel's website, it said we would be paying $22 for parking, and we were perfectly fine with that. On our last day in the hotel, we received a note under our door of charges in addition to the cost of the hotel. On that form we saw the charge for parking...A total of $66. We had no idea that we would be paying $22 A DAY for parking, as this was not clearly outlined to us on the Hilton website, or by the hotel staff. This was our first time visiting a large city, and had no idea how parking would work.

I informed my coworker that I would pay for parking when I exited the deck, and she could pay for the rest when she checked out later that day. I was 45 minutes up the road when I received a phone call from my coworker who was at the front desk checking out. the Hilton staff had no proof that I had paid the $66 for parking when I left, and had to charge my friend an additional $66 to her card. The staff member even had the audacity to ask if "your friend was lying" about the parking. Unknown to me, I had to exit the parking deck without paying (using another ticket I received) and pay the parking fee at the front desk of the hotel. Again, the website nor the staff members clearly informed us of this policy, and I am incredibly disappointed.

I called the hotel when I got home later that afternoon and informed them of what happened. I was told that they would take the charge off of my coworker's card as long as I emailed the parking deck receipt to them. That is perfectly fine, but I am still shocked that they do not have a better system in place: the parking deck is ran by an entirely different company, who apparently do not communicate to the hotel or vise versa. How often does this happen to other guests who decide to utilize the parking deck under the hotel?

In regards to the internet, the hotel does not offer any free internet service...It is about $12 A DAY to access internet. I find this absolutely ridiculous, especially since there are hotels that are much cheaper with free internet. Finally, for the price we were paying, you would think there would be complimentary breakfast...NOPE.

With that being said, I am not entirely sure I would come back to this hotel...The cost of parking is absurd, and to pay for internet was inconvenient. I will definitely do some more research on hotels in the area that offer standard and free amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meagan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sharing your comments with the third party that operates the parking facility at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Again, I apologize for the poor service and we hope that next time you’re in the area you will consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I arrived at the hotel in early afternoon. They did not have a room ready. they asked me to leave my number and they would call when the room was ready. They never called. I finally returned at 5pm and they had a room. Looking at other reviews service seems to be an issue in this hotel.
Room was clean and kept that way during my 6 night stay. The shower was terrible as the water temperature kept going from scalding hot to ice cold without moving the valve. I heard the same complaint from a few others that were staying there along with other shower issues. I don't pln on staying there again on my next visit. The buffet breakfast was about what you would expect from a Comfort Inn, not Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toolstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback in regards to water temperature. We encountered an issue with our water heater and it was quickly addressed, however, I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently replacing our old unit and don't foresee any additional issues. However, we would like to apologize for the other inconveniences as well. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#41 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#28 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#35 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Property: Hilton Atlanta
Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#76 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing