We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal overnight stay”
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #89 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ideal overnight stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Hilton prior to joining our tour group we had a large room 1121 very comfortable bed bath room was good decent shower and toiletries provided.
The ice machine was situated at end of the corridor ice bucket provided in room so we could have a drink in our room without having to go down to the bar The breakfast was included in our tour package and as we were leaving to commence our tour it was useful not having to search around a new City to find breakfast staff were helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our overnight stay.

Room Tip: we asked for a high floor room and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for writing this review! We are so glad to hear that our hotel was able to give you a great start to your tour! We hope the rest of your trip was equally as accommodating and that we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    1,208
    942
    461
    250
See reviews for
659
690
227
1,734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I am a Hilton Honors member and stayed at this hotel on a business trip to Atlanta earlier this month. On my arrival date, the hotel was sold out and swarming with thousands of high school kids there for some national high school convention.

The rooms were filled to capacity so they upgraded me to the only room available, their penthouse suite. What a fabulous room! It was the nicest room I've ever stayed in and the hotel property itself was nice and classy.

The only negative experience I had was with a few of the not so friendly staff members. Especially one of the night managers who treated me rudely and in a condescending way.

The problem occurred when I called down to the front desk to ask for a pan. The room, being a penthouse had a full size kitchen with a stove, full size refrigerator and it was stocked with dishes, cookware, plates, utensils, etc. I used the pan the day before and the following day the housekeeper removed it from the room when she cleaned it. So that evening I called down to ask them to replace it. I was connected to the night manager who seemed shocked by the request and asked what I needed a pan for? I told him to cook something. More shocked he said, "You have a stove in your room?!" I said yes. He grunted disapprovingly and told me to hold. I thought he was going to check if he could get me a pan, but instead he was apparently checking on my reservation and if I was "entitled" to be in that room. When he got back on the phone, he said in a very rude and condescending way they would not be sending me up a pan because I was not entitled to be in that room and whoever put me in there shouldn't have.

Being a Hilton Honors member, I was not only insulted but it put a damper on the rest of my stay. I also wasted a lot of money on groceries I had bought to cook after being given the room. The night manager spoke angrily to me as if it was my fault as the guest for the hotel being sold out and putting me in an upgraded room.

No guest should be spoken to or treated that way and because of that I will not be staying in that hotel again.

The other complaint I have with the staff is that some of them seem to discriminate against minorities. I observed that they treated "white" guests checking in with a different hospitality than "black" guests and I have not experienced this at any other Hilton. In summary, the hotel and the room I stayed in was 5 star fantastic, but some of the staffers (not all, just a few) and night manager need some lessons in hospitality. I do not remember the night manager's name but if I do I will do a repost and mention it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N10sity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are happy that we were able to give you an upgrade during your stay, but sorry to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced. We have addressed the issue with our team. We strive to treat every guest with the spirit of hospitality and the same level of respect. This is the foundation of our brand promise is something that we don't take lightly at our property. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta that we have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel Manager

I chose your hotel to stay for entertainment for one night, nice environment . Here's what I experienced:

-When I arrived in the "suite" I'd reserved, it was as expected very nice nothing major other than TV remote not working.

-I had three rooms one of them had a smell, I called to request a change of the room, no rooms were available due to how late in the evening it was, They sent a cleaning machine but that did not help. The guest had been in my suite and arrived to there room very late in the evening they did not check it upon arrival.

-I had another guest in that room and they had no information of the complaint.

- I had guest arrive to visit me, the valet attendants were very helpful and Charles made sure all my guest were assisted without any problems for parking.

-Finally, My overall experience was great with the front desk and other staff, they were helpful and readily available, I will definitely stay again.

I've stayed at allot of hotel as well in my career, I try to stay at Hiltons preferably just for the service I've received and this was as expected.

I write to say I enjoyed my stay.

I appreciate your time in reviewing this.


Stayed May 2014, for Pleasure

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you, Kevin, for taking the time to write this detailed review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our Team so helpful during your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Downtown Atlanta is populated by all the business hotel names; Westin, Marriott, Hyatt, Ritz Carlton. I hope one or two of them are a little more geared to pleasure travellers. The Hilton, if you are on business as I was, is fine: efficient, smart, 'organized'. But I certainly wouldn't come here for pleasure (I guess Hilton don't really want pleasure visitors). It's too cold, certainly for my more European taste. A smaller, friendlier hotel would be what I would look for. But, as I say, if you want a nice big room to treat as an office it's probably fits a treat.

Room Tip: I would have liked a little sun - ask for a room on the side with the sun in the morning,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Letter I wrote to hotel management - no response, consistent with stay:

Mr. {Hotel Manager},

I felt compelled to contact you regarding my recent visit to your hotel. I've never written before as a consequence of a hotel stay. I felt the need to do so in this instance. I chose your hotel to stay at for a business trip for three nights - simply wanted a reasonable environment to get my work done and get some rest. Here's what I experienced:

-No one available at the front desk for several minutes for initial check on. Not just employee(s) being busy with other customers - there was flat out no one available upon early evening check in.

-When I arrived in the "suite" I had reserved, it wasn't a suite. It was an angled off room that had a slight bit more square footage because of the angle. More importantly, there was the smell of smoke in this non-smoking room.

-Because of the smell, I called to request a change of the room, however, same problem - no one available to speak to. After being on hold for a extended period of time, I went downstairs and after again waiting I was able to finally be changed into a standard room.

-When I got to the next room on the 12th floor (this was after my all day flight) - again, a smell in the room. Not smoke this time, but apparent that some work had recently been done and some sort of material smell was present.

-At this point, spending another hour to find another inferior room did not seem worthwhile to pursue.

-In addition to these mishaps, I ordered room service (food was good I well say) and left the tray outside the room. Although not an inconvenience for me inside the room, the tray was not picked up for 2 days! Never have I seen this at any hotel. It highlights a staffing issue. While the staff all seemed pleasant, there simply doesn't seem to be enough in the hotel area.

-Finally, to top things off, 3 days after I returned home I discovered credit card fraud had been committed with the credit card I used at the hotel. Now I don't know with certainty that this was a result of use of the card at your hotel. However, my transactions on this card were otherwise very limited and the odds suggest that my credit card number was compromised during my stay at the hotel (where I made purchase in the gift shop, restaurant, fedex, coffee shop, and of course front desk). This issue presented only disappointment above and beyond the inferior quality of the rooms.

Mr. {Hotel Manager } I have probably stayed at 300 hotels in my career, and never once I have come upon one where the experience was so far below what is represented as an above average hotel.

Thus, I write to express my extreme disappointment in my recent stay.

I appreciate your time in reviewing this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TGTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for your review. We are so sorry for all of the inconveniences you encountered during your time with us, and we will be reaching out to you directly to ensure that we resolve this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

When I was here, I had a horrible case of food poisoning. What could have been an awful experience was made so much better by your guest service staff. i was traveling alone and the managers-Tamara and Kellly, took such good care of me like I was a member of their family. I was too sick to get out of bed and they brought me drinks and crackers when I couldn't take care of myself. They constantly checked on me to make sure I had what I needed. I was just blown away by how great they took care of me. I felt like I was at home with my mom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Terri thank you for taking the time to write this review for us! While we feel horrible that you had to go through such an ordeal we are so pleased to hear that our Team was able to make you feel as comfortable as possible. They are truly one of a kind and we will make sure they are recognized for going above and beyond. We hope to see you back again to enjoy the sights and sounds of Atlanta next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed at alot of Hilton Properties and love Hilton Hotels. Not this one. Room Service was slow and food not good. The Staff seemed bothered any time you approached them. It seemed as if the entire staff was just not happy to be there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#43 of 171 in Atlanta
3,092 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#37 of 171 in Atlanta
3,885 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#46 of 171 in Atlanta
1,046 reviews
Ellis Hotel
#48 of 171 in Atlanta
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Property: Hilton Atlanta
Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#75 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing