We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool business trip downtown”
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #86 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Atlanta for two nights in March for a business conference that was occurring in the hotel. Very cool, large hotel. Enjoyed being able to connect to the Marriott Marquis and Hyatt via connecting bridges. Always fun being downtown. Only bummer was Nikolai's Roof was closed on Sunday and I wanted to go.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,314 - 2,320 of 3,915 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Let me start by saying there was nothing wrong about this place. Was here for business.

People from every angle were extremely friendly - they are 4-5 stars.

The hotel itself just feels dated. The lobby is fine, the bar is fine, i just kept saying ehhhhhh to everything. Nothing stands out.

The place is clean and the staff again are both helpful and you don't feel like you are bothering them when asking for something.

The room i was in was on the 26th floor. It was small but had a comfortable bed. The furniture was okay, nothing broken - there was some wallpaper peeling at the seam but easily fixed. The Executive Level is very nice to add if you can spring a few extra dollars on the room. The breakfast and reception in the evening are a nice way to start/unwind. One comment i would make is that the drink prices at the reception are the same as the bar. Might be nice to see a discount there. But plenty of free options too.

This may sound weird, but the water pressure in the shower was amazing. Probably the best i have had in a business hotel - hey in the morning after a long day before this does help rejuvenate.

The rooftop restaurant/bar is worth a visit if you can, the views are really nice.

The location is fine - ~15-20min from airport.

Overall it was fine - would i make it a point to stay here again - probably not but if convenience and need form you selecting this hotel, it is not a bad stop.

Room Tip: Executive Level is a nice plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are please to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you were able to enjoy your time in Nikolai's Roof. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance the experience of our guests and your comments will help us do just that. We hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and well mannered, rooms are very big, all extremely clean, TV hight definition and big. Beds very comfortable, some rooms have an incredible view! All is good here trust me! You will live it. Location is great!!! Gym is huge and complementary, Yeah!!! Pool is nice too.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank GeorgeVanderbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely and enthusiastic review, Lesmex! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are your “favorite hotel in Atlanta!” That is quite an honor! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I along with our daughters visited the Hilton Atlanta on this past weekend. We were in town for our son's college graduation.

First, I chose this 4 star hotel because of it's downtown location and the fact that I had just spent the previous weekend in Washington, DC at a beautiful 4 star hotel and thought I'd give it a shot this time too. Usually, I pick hotels like the Hilton Garden Inn or Holiday Inn and Suites (someplace nice and relatively inexpensive with a lot of complimentary add-ons, i.e. breakfast, parking, etc.). Well I went to a discount site that showed an awesome rate for the hilton so I jumped at it. Big mistake.

The hotel's entrance was nice but that was about the only good thing. Once you got up to the guest floors, you felt as if you just stepped into an old 1970's hotel. It wasn't so much as the decor but just the feel of it all. The room doors were the really heavy metal doors that slam shut like prison doors. And once we were in our room, it was small and there was a smokey, musty odor. We had non-smoking but it seemed as if maybe this floor was a smoking floor at one time. The end table in the room had many scuff marks and dings and needed to be refinished badly. There were multiple patch jobs of the plaster in the bathroom and the worst, the beds.

I have never and I do mean never, had a worse night's sleep than I did on those beds. They were like the old metal coil mattresses and they were so soft that you almost fell off of the bed. The beds were so bad that we all woke up about 3 am. in the morning because we couldn't sleep. We decided to watch a movie only to find out the movie option on the remote wasn't working. We called to the front desk for assistance and was told they would reset the tv and call back. We're still waiting on that call. The next morning we called again and a hotel engineer came up. He was very helpful and got the movie channel to working. Unfortunately, later that night when we returned to our rooms, it stopped working again.

The rooms were clean enough to the eye though I have a little doubt, seeing as my 3 year old wore her white socks in the room which were later very brown under the bottom

The other thing was that the employees just weren't all that frienly. Everyone one was kind of matter of fact, "tip me so I can go" types.

All in all, I would not recommend this location to anyone. As a matter of fact, between the $32 per night valet, $65 breakfast, $5 a pop tips, no microwave to reheat anything, our next stay will definitely be at our usual, 3 star hotel type.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faleecia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

There are few things not to like about this hotel but the most frustrating thing to me has been the appalling internet connectivity - as many other reviewers have pointed out. Both wifi and ethernet access are almost impossible to gain a connection on and when you do it constantly drops and the pain starts again. I know my experience is not unique as I was attending a conference in this hotel and found that everyone I spoke with had a similar experience. This is completely unsatisfactory for a downtown hilton hotel of this type and unbearable for business travel in this day and age.
Generally the hotel is run down and rooms in need of a refurb. Bathrooms are old and I found mould in areas around the bath.
I suggest gong to Marriott across the street which is modern and buzzing.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Peterpeterpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are so sorry for all of the inconveniences you encountered during your time with us. We've shared your comments with our management team and the necessary adjustments will be made. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I received a good rate in Downtown Atlanta. Service was quick and exceptional. View of Atlanta was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was beautifully furnished. Parking was $22, but this is becoming more common.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Barkot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Barkot, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! It is wonderful to hear that you found our hotel up to your standards and that our Team was able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Atlanta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Hilton prior to joining our tour group we had a large room 1121 very comfortable bed bath room was good decent shower and toiletries provided.
The ice machine was situated at end of the corridor ice bucket provided in room so we could have a drink in our room without having to go down to the bar The breakfast was included in our tour package and as we were leaving to commence our tour it was useful not having to search around a new City to find breakfast staff were helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our overnight stay.

Room Tip: we asked for a high floor room and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornishdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for writing this review! We are so glad to hear that our hotel was able to give you a great start to your tour! We hope the rest of your trip was equally as accommodating and that we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#45 of 172 in Atlanta
3,156 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4,022 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#46 of 172 in Atlanta
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#75 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £80 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing