We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hilton and not worth it”
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #85 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This was by far the worst hotel I have stayed in downtown Atlanta. We were on the executive floor as a Gold HHonors member and the experience was bad. The walls are very thin and was awakened early in the morning by the neighbors yelling at each other, screaming, etc. You could hear everything they said. The showers were not nice at all. Very disappointed too that as a Gold VIP member, they did not offer free wi-fi. We won't be staying there again

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler82546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,520 - 3,526 of 3,908 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

I have stayed at this hotel more than once. I booked thru Hotwire and got an $88 rate. The hotel was near capacity with 3 conventions. The rooms are spotless and the hotel has been thru an upgrade and is BEAUTIFUL! The interior designer that they hired did an excellent job with this hotel. The capital went into the rooms and restaurants! This is the first hotel that I have ever been in that the Housekeeping department works around there guests! I wasn't bothered once! I upgraded @ Check in the the Executive Floor that offers a continental breakfast, 3 newspapers, an evening 2 hour hor' duerve reception and an Honor bar from 5-11p (non acoholic with a cash bar). The rooms on this floor have 32 inch LED/s with about 55 cable channels. The bedding and linens are superb! New Furniture, Carpeting, Drapes, and granite desktops and bathroom. The market place is open 24 hours for scrumptios and well thought out snacks. Southern Elements is a a great place to meet and greet with a delicious menu. Trader Vics is on the lower level with outstanding drinks and food! I didn't get to try nicolias on the top floor but it sounded superb! Everyone was very friendly! Everyone! I will be back!!!! You should too!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottoneyedjoe314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The hotel was clean and staff members were friendly. There are decent restaurants located within the hotel complex. Other restaurants are walking distance. Streets appeared safe with ample police presence. Not far from Olympic Park, aquarium, CNN, and Coca Cola center.

The rooms aren't cheap, but decent. Exercise room and outdoor track a plus.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SABMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

This was undoubtedly the worst hotel experience I've (and my fellow co-workers) ever had. It took well over an hour for the 10 of us to check into 4 rooms. The bathrooms were crowded, and the shower broke in some way in 3 out of the 4 rooms. They could not fix the shower in the room I was staying in, which was understandable, so we had to move up two floors and on the opposite side of the hotel, which was a major inconvenience. To make up for this inconvenience, they did offer us free breakfasts. Unfortunately, we had to check out at 5:30 AM and were unable to redeem those. They screwed up the date that we were leaving. It clearly stated on the reservation that we were staying until Sunday, but lo and behold Saturday comes and we are all suddenly locked out of our rooms and one room security was called to in order to forcibly remove us. They denied the whole thing, and said that our keys must have been touching a credit card or something. This happened to 10 people?? That seems like pretty amazing odds to me, especially considering that none of our keys were near credit cards. For the exorbitant price, you would think that they would provide free internet, but I was mistaken. For $15 a day I could pay for it though, even though much cheaper hotels are able to offer it for free (or include it in their reasonable room prices). The people in front of us checking out also said that this was the worst hotel they had ever stayed at and that they had never had so many problems. They, like us, said they would never stay in another Hilton. Save your money and go to a cheaper hotel - chances are you will have a much better experience!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm92787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Slightly above average “mid-range conference hotel” located in downtown Atlanta, with nice views. Bars and restaurants are what you would expect if you travel on business a lot. Rooms are respectable with comfortable beds. Wireless and wired internet in the rooms. I wasn’t impressed with the size of the showers or how quickly they drained, but the water pressure was tremendous, which was appreciated. The service was hit and miss - outstanding one day, and lacking the next day.
Several downtown attractions, such as the Coke Museum and Aquarium, are within a walking distance of about 5 blocks. Otherwise you will need to take a lot of taxis, or get a rental car if you want to get out and about to area attractions and restaurants. You WILL pay handsomely for valet or self parking, but parking is UNDER the building, so at least you won’t be parking across the street and walking around at night.
Overall a pleasant experience and a hotel I would be happy to return to for business.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbcooksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Stayed recently for a conference. Excellent location, close to airport & downtown. Immaculate appearance. They could have used a few extra employees at check in considering 2 buses full of people showed up and there were only 2 employees to check us in. They were however kind and considerate, even asking my preference of a high or low room. The rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable bed, nice showers. My biggest flaw was the food. If you go for a large conference it will inevitably be buffet food. The choices were bad, gross looking Asian & Mexican food, and what you dared to eat tasted gross. One member of the group even got food poisoning. The staff in the dining room was terribly rude, which was surprising compared to the rest of the facility. The bar was overpriced (like any hotel bar) but the staff was friendly. Nice place, avoid the food if you can!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My weekend stay at the downtown Hilton was bad from start to finish. Check-in took about 30 minutes as the front desk thought I had already checked-in for some reason. I then learned that the Hilton's on-site parking for SUV's was "very limited"(both valet and self park) even though the hotel wasn't full and I had to park in a privately owned lot down the street. How can a large Hilton Hotel send customers down the street to park in the middle of the night? Walking from the parking deck to the hotel alone was not a good feeling at midnight in downtown Atlanta. The hotel interior appears old and furnishing look cheap. The only thing I saw to justify their "new beautifully remodeled" claim was new looking carpet and room furniture. There are too many hotels fighting for survival in Atlanta to pay for this level of quality.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#45 of 172 in Atlanta
3,143 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4,007 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#47 of 172 in Atlanta
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#75 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £80 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing