We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee, but a ton of kids”

Dr. Bombay's Underwater Tea Party
Ranked #40 of 50 Coffee & Tea in Atlanta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pleasanton, CA
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good coffee, but a ton of kids”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It was Thanksgiving weekend, so there were a ton of kids leafing through the used books. Coffee was good, food could have been better, and the bathroom was freezing cold with only cold water.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“greatest tea room ever”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have a delicious and affordable high tea. The tea selection was amazing. Our host/server was a real charmer! We also loved that they sell both tea and books and that the money goes to support education for girls in Asia. So if you're a local, take or send your books there. So worth a visit, not just the tearoom but the whole street is charming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank canadiancaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Charming Place to Sip Some Coffee or Tea and Read a Book”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is an informal, very cozy, tea room kind of place. They have many, many teas to choose from, as well as coffee. I visited on a Sunday morning to wait for my local friend who was down the street at her yoga class. They also have a small patio in the back if you'd like to sit outside. You order at the counter and then sit wherever you like.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy & Eclectic”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Although an important aspect of Dr. Bombay's is that their profits help support The Learning Tea, a project to cultivate education for young women in India, it's also a great place to go if you want a quiet visit with a friend or spend time with a book and a cuppa.
The interior is eclectic as the shop's name: two rooms (seems like more) with book-lined walls, an old piano, sofas, easy chairs, old wooden tables & chairs, booths, dozens of displayed teapots, painted oriental umbrellas, and paintings found in someone's attic. The front windows allow plenty of natural light - very cozy. Seating for various needs is plentiful. They frequently host little girl parties and showers.
The food is okay - not great, but not bad. The tea selection is good, but they use tea bags! Other drinks are offered: coffees, soy drinks, juices, etc. on the days I have visited. The Vegan food offerings are a nice touch. Their broad selection of sweets are general quite good. I luv the oatmeal raisin cookies.
The service is minimal, but friendly and efficient. Personally, if I were planning an English Tea, I would make a reservation at The Ritz Carlton because of the quality of their china, provisions and service. Although I usually order tea at Dr. Bombay's, it's more like how I would have it at my or a friend's home - cozy and a little eclectic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maestrad'arte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Post-Modern Tea House”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Dr. Bombay's gets everything right. Great high tea. Great tea in general. Great atmosphere. One of the true jems in the city.

We had high tea, so it was a bit pricier than a normal visit - but WORTH IT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank disneyfan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dr. Bombay's Underwater Tea Party also viewed

 

Been to Dr. Bombay's Underwater Tea Party? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing