We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza and good service”

Max's Coal Oven Pizzeria
Ranked #23 of 3,959 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Since 2009, Max’s Coal Oven Pizzeria has offered authentic, New York style pizza, classic salads, pastas, Italian sandwiches, signature coal oven wings and freshly made desserts. One of our restaurant's signature features is that we have the only genuine coal-burning oven in Georgia, enabling us to serve perfectly crisp pizzas, and create a unique taste and texture that has been a hallmark of New York City pizzerias for more than a century.Here at Max's, we’re all about the pizza. We’ve created the perfect dough which we top with our secret recipe red sauce, mozzarella, classic meats and fresh vegetables. From sausage and pepperoni to peppers and onions, Max’s offers options to meet everyone's palette.Whether you’re ready to watch the big game with friends, celebrating a birthday or picnicking in Centennial Olympic Park on a summer afternoon, Max’s is the perfect place to eat-in or pickup simple and delicious Italian classics.
Cape May Beach
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Good Pizza and good service”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The pizza is good here. The servers are all very friendly. I would be happy to go back with friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonCapeMayBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    190
    51
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I ate here twice in two days.....Yup, its that good!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at the Embassy Suites which was like less than two blocks away. I was told by the valet to make sure I gave this pizza joint a try, and it was the second best piece of information I have ever been given. The pizza here is the bomb, and the salads and garlic knots are just as good. I could ramble on and on about the taste and how great it was, but you really need to try it. Highly, highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank officerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum! Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon Max's while traveling through ATL at the end of our two week vacation. First time in 30 yrs Lee B & I agreed on a whole pizza. And it was yummy! Thin crust baked in a brick oven. Fresh ingredients. Indoor & outdoor seating. Next up is dessert; can't wait!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEBoylston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I ate here 2 yrs ago when we was in Atlanta at our company convention. This time we took some associates. Same great pizza and service. When our company Primerica has its convention again in 2 yrs we will go again and take more people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Was within walking distance of our hotel in the Centennial Park area. The pizza was delicious. Very fast service and was a good value for the price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank REW135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Max's Coal Oven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Max's Coal Oven Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing