We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful, elegant but comfortable treat in Atlanta.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonehurst Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stonehurst Place
Ranked #1 of 20 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful, elegant but comfortable treat in Atlanta.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

This home is restored to perfection. It was such a treat and surprise for our last minute trip. Location is so convenient to many places to eat and walk. The owner and inn keeper were so helpful and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TTGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
264
40
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

we don't typically stay at b&b's but made an exception when we found this place online, and we're so glad we did! great mid-town location, comfy rooms (bathroom was pretty tight, but we were in one of the smaller rooms), good breakfast, off street parking, and we didn't bring our dog, but this b&b is pet-friendly (there is a huge park around the block-fyi), so we couldn't ask for more! we have already recommended stonehurst place to several of our friends, and we definitely will make plans to come back next time we're in town!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s0uthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Found Stonehurst online while looking for a place to stay for our anniversary. Checked their website and found discounts for rooms that were not already reserved. Arrived late evening to the most beautifully restored house in Midtown Atlanta with a warm welcome from the host. After seeing our room, we got a brief tour and history of the house. We stayed in the Hinman Suite, which was beautifully restored, yet technologically contemporary. Our room had a coal burning fireplace (it was on when we arrived) and halogen lights and separate thermostat. The bed was a slice of heaven. The original Andy Warhol on the wall was beautiful. The bathroom floor was heated and there was a towel warmer. The shower was huge, with multiple shower heads. The common areas were likewise restored to period and equally beautiful.

The reason to visit Stonehurst, though, is the breakfast and the hostess, Caroline. We had broiled grapefruit (sounds odd, tastes divine) and Grand Marnier French Toast. Wonderful southern cooking with a contemporary twist. Caroline was a wonderful hostess, using her own stories to engage all the guests in conversation. The experience of showing up in a dining room knowing no one and leaving with eight new best friends was wonderful.

This is a place you want to go to again and again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wmtaylor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

The Stonehurst is an excellent find in a large city. After 8-10 hour days of seminars, returning to the Stonehurst Place was a comforting, welcoming retreat. The rooms, especially the beds, are very comfortable. Breakfasts by Caroline are fabulous. The location is great. There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance. There is ample
room to relax in one of the many common areas. It was the highlight of our trip and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suziewisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

The decor, serenity, comfort, and service of this bed and breakfast is incredible. Everything from the furniture, to the fabrics, and accessories is of impeccable taste. Refreshments were provided throughout. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. And breakfast was wonderful. We couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TigerGirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

As far as a bed and breakfast goes, this place is pretty good. The rooms are nice with comfy beds and a fireplace. Fireplace adds a nice touch to the ambiance in the room. The bathroom is very very small in some of the rooms and difficult to move around in. They have tried to maintain the original fixtures but it is very small with cracks in the tile flooring. As far as housekeeping goes, rooms need to be cleaned and dusted more often during your stay. Breakfast was good especially the grilled fruit. Overall, a good place to stay in a convenient location. Could do with some remodeling in the bathroom and more frequent housekeeping.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsandvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We were just married and had planned a stay at a local B&B for our wedding night, but when we arrived at our original lovenest, we found that another couple were in residence and that due to computer problems, the room was in fact overbooked. The owner of that B&B was mortified - a new bride in her wedding dress and her new husband in full dress military uniform!! The proprieter assured us that he would find us a plce to stay, and fortuned smiled at us when he gave us the address to Stonehurst, telling us he had reserved the Gables suite for us.

Stunning, that's all that I can say. What a beautiful suite to spend our first night together. After getting into comfortable clothes we relaxed and headed out to the intimate candlelit front porch and spent the night looking at the city going by and connecting to each other. With ample drinks and treats provided by our hosts, the night passed very quickly into the morning.

We awoke very well rested from the comfortable bed and slipped downstairs to a wonderful breakfast and got ready to start our first day together. From start to finish a great, if somewhat short stay. We will be back for our first anniversary, for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
#12 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehurst Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehurst Place

Property: Stonehurst Place
Address: 923 Piedmont Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30309-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonehurst Place 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2016 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award winner, this boutique inn is minutes to business and theatre districts and Atlanta's tourist attractions. Luxurious and eco-friendly, with 6 elegant rooms and suites mixing contemporary design in a historic setting. Gourmet breakfasts and superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Stonehurst Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehurst Place Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing