We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Stone Summit Climbing and Fitness Center
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We diverted our trip to Little River Canyon to Stone Summit when the weather turned unclimbable. Though it was packed (we expected this, since it was a Saturday), they made time to give us our lead climbing tests (though we had to be patient and climb some TR routes for a couple hours). We enjoyed every route we got on - really good route setting and fun angles. I only briefly bouldered, but their bouldering area is as extensive as their route climbing area.

The place absorbs crowds very well. The only downside is that after your lead climber gets above the first overhang, you have to either step far away from the wall to see them, or belay blind. Maybe some mirrors on the wall opposing the lead area would be a good idea, to resolve this issue.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AuroraCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too Crowded”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This is a great facility. However, as with many fitness centers, membership has grown to the point that it can be impossible to get a decent workout. It can take 20 minutes or more just to get on a climb. Then if you find a climb, you have to watch out for people climbing over and under you too close. The bouldering cave is even more crowded. Then there are the kids - dozens of them. The gym hosts not just one, but two teams so it is swimming with kids in little red t-shirts taking up routes. I don't dislike kids, it just seems that if you have that many members and things are that crowded that maybe you could cut down on all the teams practicing at the same time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingjoe30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stone Summit”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Although I had a great time at Stone Summit, I was a little disappointed with how we were treated. We had never been to this place and the website was somewhat misleading. We were under the impression it was a flat rate of $18 for everything, but apparently you have to pay an extra $15 to take a certification class to belay, but the classes were all booked up for the day. We were only allowed to do the bouldering and the auto-belay sections. I wouldn't have come if I had known this because although both these sections were enjoyable, they were very crowded. Also, we had to ask random people how to do things and what the protocol was; the staff who helped us in the beginning did nothing for us after we paid, even though we told them we were brand new climbers. If I go back I plan on calling ahead and getting some straight answers. Other than the confusion and the lack of direction, this was a really cool place to go if you're fairly fit and adventurous!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our First Climbing Gym”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We visited Stone Summit for the first time during a trip to Atlanta to visit Stone Mountain. We were looking for something to do for a few hours while waiting on relatives to join us for lunch. Once we arrived and engaged in the gym activities, our relatives ended up waiting on us for 3 hours while we had a blast. Our youngest had never climbed but before our gym time was over, got certified in belaying and climbed almost every wall and boulder in the place. He did not want to leave. My oldest son is an experienced climber from Texas and had heard about Stone Summit from his climbing buddies who live in the southeast. He was almost one of the staff before we left. My wife and I climbed for the first time also and had a great time.
This is a sport for all ages and Stone Summit does it right. There are challenges for all experince levels in a safe, attentive environment. Stone Summit is an amazing place and we highly recommend it to beginners through advanced climbers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RockHound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“If you only go to one climbing gym...”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is the place to go! Beautiful facility, great routes, friendly and helpful staff. They also have a little deli and an outdoor equipment shop inside. Amazing walls for roped climbing, huge bouldering area, and workout facilities. Largest gym in North American, I believe (so tall you'll double-check your harness). Very spacious with great natural light and well-circulated air (no chalk dust)! Fun climbing sculpture/slide upstairs for kiddos, too. Gotta see it to believe it.

Visited January 2012
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank summercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Summit Climbing and Fitness Center also viewed

 

Been to Stone Summit Climbing and Fitness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing